We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Gearhart by the Sea

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Gearhart by the Sea
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

96 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Gearhart by the Sea
See the most recent reviews
Showing 96: English reviews
Beaverton, Oregon
Reviewed 6 March 2014

This was our second stay in unit 691 at Gearhart by the Sea. All of the units here are individually owned. This unit is great. It is one bedroom (king bed) with an additional upstairs loft with two twins. The open living area is nice with a huge deck overlooking the Pacific down towards Seaside. The kitchen is adequate in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tom E
Victoria, Canada
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Two of our children and their families spent two days and one night (in two different units) at Gearhart by the Sea. Our Unit (#652) which allowed our dog, was well located, fairly modern, clean with possibly the best equipped kitchen we have encountered in all our travels. The two bedrooms with two bathrooms were much appreciated, albeit without a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank wanderers1001
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We'd driven down from Vancouver and arrived late on a busy holiday Friday. We were greeted by helpful staff across the road in the hotel where admin for this flat is located. The flat itself overlooked other holiday homes with the ocean beyond. The accommodation was very spacious, well equipped and ideal for a self-catering stay. Shirley in admin' was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LuzechSpur
westminster
Reviewed 18 September 2013

My husband and I arrived in Gearhart, after driving from Portland. We opened the door to find a beautiful condo, nicely furnished, with a welcoming deck. I wouldn't consider the view to be an ocean view, however you could see beyond the units directly in front and see the ocean beyond. We were treated to a different kind of view...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank p_vanallen
Washington
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I have stayed at this property many times and have had some wonderful memories but that WAS NOT the case this summer. We rented the UNIT #660 as a pet unit to take our sweet dog. We have always stayed in pet units and have NEVER had a problem like this unit. The overwheling odor of cat urine hits you...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank radgirl00
huguenot new york
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Stayed for two days in August. Beautiful unit with ocean view. Nice indoor pool. Unit was well equipped, it was very comfortable. My only complaint was that it was not cool enough to use the fireplace! On our last morning we saw a small herd of elk walking along the bluff above the beach! Wish we had spent more time...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sue h
San Jose, California
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Recently stayed there for a honeymoon, in room 607. Although the trip was amazing and we enjoyed ourselves, the room was not the least bit comfortable. For starters, the main bedroom bed was as hard as a rock and no mater how well we tried, it was not working for us. So we moved to the pull out bed from...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Alejandro Z
Portland, Oregon
Reviewed 17 July 2013

This unit is so much in need of upgrading. It has a limited view of ocean. Dishwasher is so poor, you can't utilize it to the max. Terrible waste of space. No disposal. Deck is ugh! Bathrooms need serious attention. Housekeeping staff is attentive, but simply does not cover for the deficiencies in this unit. They've jammed in as much...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank roger j
GBTSManager, Manager at Gearhart by the Sea, responded to this review

Thank you for letting me know about your stay. We do not have garbage disposals in the units because we are on a septic system as there is no city sewer. I will look at the dishwasher and have it repaired or replaced. I will send your response to the owner of this unit regarding your concerns. Thanks, Paul Tice...

Palm Springs, California
Reviewed 13 July 2013

We have stayed here the last 4 years. This year we were in 714 and it was very comfortable. When booking a condo at Gearhart you must review the pictures of the available condo's. We have found the best thing to do is while staying here ask to see other rentals then pick. Tami is a great help and we...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank USMC178
Houston, Texas
Reviewed 5 July 2013

My niece wanted to go to Seaside for her graduation present from me. So I booked the Gearhart by the Sea. When I called I asked for a room that had a full ocean view I explained that I was coming from Texas and wanted to see the beautiful pacific ocean. We checked in on a Friday and when I...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sshouston1

55 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (46)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gearhart
3.9 km away
BEST WESTERN Ocean View Resort
18.5 km away
Cannery Pier Hotel
Cannery Pier Hotel
#1 of 14 in Astoria
1,133 reviews
17.8 km away
Inn at Cannon Beach
Inn at Cannon Beach
#3 of 14 in Cannon Beach
1,431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.5 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Astoria
17.6 km away
The Ocean Lodge
The Ocean Lodge
#2 of 14 in Cannon Beach
1,399 reviews
0.9 km away
Gearhart Ocean Inn
Gearhart Ocean Inn
#1 of 3 in Gearhart
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Gearhart by the Sea

Address: 1157 N Marion Ave, Gearhart, OR 97138-4072
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Gearhart
Price Range: $136 - $267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gearhart by the Sea 3.5*
Number of rooms: 196
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Gearhart by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gearhart By The Sea Hotel Gearhart
By The Sea Gearhart
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Gearhart by the Sea staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
10 months ago
Poulsbo, Washington
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Gearhart by the Sea staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Check with the front desk to find and reserve a more updated unit.”
 of 5 bubbles bonnieh228, 6 Sep 2016 | Read review
“The top floor has rooms with lofts, but the views are good from any room. Be sure to look at the room pics online first!!”
 of 5 bubbles brandonb467, 24 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Top floor is quieter and has the most fantastic views.”
 of 5 bubbles beachbum0003, 17 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Try to get a unit on the top floor!”
 of 5 bubbles 155gregw, 23 May 2016 | Read review
“This is not a hotel it is a condo complex run like a hotel, try and get the top floor”
 of 5 bubbles johngraver, 25 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5