We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Columbia Gorge Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Columbia Gorge Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

572 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 571: English reviews
Las Vegas, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Getting dark on a rainy night in the Columbia Gorge. Pulled off the interstate to search the Internet for a place to stay. Saw the fairytale lights of the gardens twinkling beyond the stone gates with the welcoming blaze of lighted windows of a grand hotel from an era almost forgotten. I half expected to see Duesenbergs and Packards drawn... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher G
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We loved it! Every single employee was the best! Service was fantastic! The room was comfy and it was like we were in a garden estate. It was our 40th Wedding Anniversary and very romantic We were impressed with how much there was to do in Hood River. Lots of great places to eat and shop.

Helpful?
1 Thank Ilynn W
CGHotel, Manager at Columbia Gorge Hotel, responded to this review

Well hello again, Just want to say thank you guys for leaving us such a great review. I'm so happy to read that we were able to make your 40th Anniversary an amazing one. Can't wait to do it again next year. Thanks again for stopping in. More 

Vancouver, Washington
1 review
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Just had one night to get away, but really enjoyed our room, after requesting a move to a bigger room..ended up with a corner one that was beautiful!! Your staff was exceptionally friendly and accommodating. Only complaint would be that the coffee was not hot either at Happy Hour or in the morning!! That's it!! Definitely would return!

Helpful?
Thank cherylrebman
CGHotel, Manager at Columbia Gorge Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Cheyrl, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am happy to read that you chose us to be the destination for your leisure time. We were happy to have you stay with us and have such a good time. We hope to be able able to do this for you year after year. Thanks again. More 

Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Staff was accommodating and food was awesome. Quiet setting and great museums in the area. Great maple bars at Betty's in Hood River. Easy trip from Salem and scenic trip. Stop in ztroutdale and enjoy the shops.

Helpful?
1 Thank RetiredSalem_Oregon
CGHotel, Manager at Columbia Gorge Hotel, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a great review. I am happy to read that our staff and service here at the Columbia Gorge Hotel made your stay. I am also happy that it didn't stop there. You took advantage of some of the great amenities the gorge has to offer. Which in turn lets... More 

Thomasville, Georgia
Level Contributor
262 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I am sure it costs a lot to keep this place in good shape and they do a good job of it. The grounds are nice, the rooms are fine although the rooms have lost their original details and charm. The restaurant did not look appealing but the other public areas were fun. You have to have the desk clerk... More 

Helpful?
Thank Magnolia13
CGHotel, Manager at Columbia Gorge Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Magnolia, Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. I am pleased to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us while visiting. We thank you for all the constructive criticism as it will help us to be more successful in the years to come. We hope that when you return you will definitely fall in... More 

Monroe, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 week ago

All of us enjoyed everything about our stay...great beer, excellent food (all of it!), good mattress. The whole hotel was clean and neat. I only have two suggestions: there were plenty of pillows on the bed (and I do love me lots of pillows!) but maybe there could be some soft pillows along with the firm ones; and more goodies... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank 711kathy
CGHotel, Manager at Columbia Gorge Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Kathy, I am very thankful that you have given us such a great review as we do our best here to make sure that all of our guest have an extraordinary experience. We also appreciate your suggestions as we strive to grow everyday in serving our guest. More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife and I stayed for our 10th anniversary. The hotel is nice, but with some tuned direction could be amazing (décor wise). We got the Thanksgiving buffet while there. The food was very good, but we had made reservations for it weeks in advance (10th anniversary) so we could get a windows seat with a view, but instead were... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Flavor C
CGHotel, Manager at Columbia Gorge Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Mr. Flavor, Thank you for taking the time to write this great review. The attention to detail really shows us how much you care about the success of our hotel. So for that we thank you. I believe with a few more adjustments along with the ones could spark something here. We try hard to make sure that our... More 

Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

The location was wonderful, side room with a view of the river from the dining table. Service could be improved upon and the waitress needs some training in table manners. Picking up a cup to fill with coffee while her finger is in the cup is less than ideal. The Thanksgiving day buffet was very good but limited in green... More 

Helpful?
Thank carlmsmith
CGHotel, Manager at Columbia Gorge Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Mr. Smith, Thank you for taking time out to write us a review of our hotel. I want to apologize to you definitely for all the issues you incurred while here. We have a standard here at the Columbia Gorge Hotel and I am truly sorry that we fell well short of that with you. I would like the... More 

Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My husband took me here for my birthday & it was simply a horrible experience. We stayed one night & they were nice enough to let us cancel our 2nd night & my spa appointments at no charge. I think they are used to people leaving once they see the condition of this place. (In fact a couple who checked... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank nanpdx
CGHotel, Manager at Columbia Gorge Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Nan, I am truly sorry that your experience here was not a great one. We try hard to ensure that everyone of our guest has a great experience. This is very unfortunate. As you said, we did cancel your second night, comp your stay, and offer to pay for your facial. I hope that in the future we will... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Thanksgiving buffet was tasty! Rick was great, appreciated his taking multiple family photos with multiple cameras. Beautiful views! Would highly recommend staying here. Breakfast was delicious as well. Enjoyed the brightly lit garden area in front.

Helpful?
1 Thank StefaniK2
CGHotel, Manager at Columbia Gorge Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Stefani, I would just like to say thank you for taking time out of your day to submit such a great review of our hotel. I am pleased and honored to read that we were able to meet your expectations. We can't wait to be able to host you again, and again in the years to come. Thank you. More 

241 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (193)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (70)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (76)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (48)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hood River
0.1 km away
Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel
4.3 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hood River Inn
3.4 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hood River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#7 of 9 in Hood River
183 reviews
27.3 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Columbia River Inn
29.0 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites The Dalles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Spa
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
With its historic charm and reputation for excellence the Columbia Gorge Hotel is a perfect location for your next leisure visit in the beautiful Columbia River Gorge. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Columbia Gorge Hotel

Address: 4000 Westcliff Drive, Hood River, OR 97031
Region: United States > Oregon > Hood River
Price Range: $167 - $382 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Columbia Gorge Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Columbia Gorge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Columbia Gorge Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Columbia Gorge Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Smile and say thank you.”
 of 5 bubbles christophergA9155LC, 2 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Some rooms are bigger than others and with more quaint furniture. We wanted the canopy bed etc.”
 of 5 bubbles cherylrebman, 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Riverview is best even if windows are small”
 of 5 bubbles RetiredSalem_Oregon, 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
“The third floor, riverside...with a fireplace. And probably in the summer, there would be a lovely breeze at that level.”
 of 5 bubbles 711kathy, 26 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We liked our River View room.”
 of 5 bubbles flavorc, 26 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay