We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Econo Lodge

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (37)
Room & Suite (40)
View from Room (9)

View prices for your travel dates

Hotel direct offer!Book Direct For Lowest Price!
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#17 of 25 hotels in Newport
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
NOW UNDER NEW MANAGEMENT! Econo Lodge, a Newport hotel near Oregon Coast Aquarium Stay wwithin walking distance of the Oregon coast at the pet-friendly Econo Lodge(R) hotel in Newport, OR, located near the Yaquina Bay Lighthouse and Bayfront District shops. Situated near Highway 101, we offer quick, convenient access to a number of attractions, including: Mariner Square The Wax Works museum Oregon Undersea Gardens Ripley's Believe it or Not! Oregon Coast Aquarium The Chinook Winds Casino and Factory Outlet Mall are a 30-minute drive from the property. A diverse selection of eateries surrounds the premises, including Apple Peddler, Gee's Family, Pip Tide and Moby Dick's. Hotel features and amenities include: Free high-speed Internet access Free continental breakfast Free coffee Free local calls All guest rooms come equipped with a coffee maker, cable television, microwave, refrigerator, desk and wake-up service. Select rooms contain ocean views. Non-smoking rooms are offered. This Econo Lodge hotel cares about the environment and has taken active steps to support green hotel practices. Premier location, plentiful amenities and warm hospitality make the Econo Lodge hotel an ideal choice for travelers in the Newport, OR area.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Beach
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Parking
Wifi
Breakfast available
Vending machine
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
2.0 of 5 stars
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Offer:Book Direct For Lowest Price!
174Reviews1Q+A49Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 37
  • 44
  • 34
  • 23
  • 36
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Larry C wrote a review Aug 2022
St. Paul, Canada566 contributions87 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
We travel less than 100 miles today as we frquently stopped sight seeing the beauty of Oregon's Coast . We called ahead for our room and arrived before 6:00 pm and Jan went out to a local grocery store to grab some food to heat up in the microwave. The room was very clean and a comfortable bed. My back was relieved of pain and my asthsma was cleared. I had suffered with both for a number of days from my time on humid Vancouver Island. There was no breakfast set out at the motel so we had hot cereal and decaf coffee in our room before checking out.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: request a first floor room to avoid climbing stairs
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Relations Manager, General Manager at Econo Lodge
Responded Aug 18, 2022
Hi Larry C, Thank you so much for your kind words. I’m so pleased that you found us a clean and pleasant place to stay and that our amenities were to your liking. We take real pride in this hotel and in serving guests like you, and I’m extremely happy that you had such a pleasant stay. Our staff is highly trained to give you an exceptional experience, and we are very pleased to learn that we achieved this goal during your recent stay. We only wish to give nothing but the best service to our guests and to know that we have accomplished such a goal gives us great joy.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Terry P wrote a review Mar 2022
1 contribution
I booked a 2 queen room. On check in I told the clerk I had a medical alert service dog. After looking he found a 2 queen room on the third floor, but then said he would have to cancel my reservation. This was because the third floor was supposedly set aside for hypoallergenic people. There was no mention of this in the reservation. After a long discussion he said there was nothing he could do. This was at 7:00 in the evening. Never had this happen before. My service dog was trained by Early Alert Canines for 6 months to alert on low blood sugar, after he failed Guide Dogs for the Blind training. EAC trained me for two weeks on how to use and take care of him; he is a true service dog. He is faster and more accurate for low blood sugar alerts than my Dexcom glucose monitor. Very disappointed in this Econo lodge motel.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Relations Manager, General Manager at Econo Lodge
Responded Mar 26, 2022
Dear Terry P, Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to post a review. We are very sorry to hear that you did not have a completely satisfying visit to our property. The staff and I reviewed each of your comments and have taken appropriate actions to resolve each issue. Again, we are terribly sorry that your experience with our hotel was not a good one, but invite you to give us another try. We greatly appreciate your feedback, as it helps us to improve and provide a better experience.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
TonyaC123 wrote a review Jul 2021
Norwalk, Ca3 contributions1 helpful vote
Paid $200 for one night. The same amount for an ocean view room but my view was of the parking lot and many overstuffed trash cans. Walls were dirty everywhere. Not sure what the big hole behind the door was for. Couldnt engage the dead bolt. Location was terrible with a junky porn store across the street. I left a pair of earrings that meant alot to me by accident. I contacted the property a couple hours later and they said they did not find them. They grew legs and walked away I guess.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Repost
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Relations Manager, General Manager at Econo Lodge
Responded Jul 5, 2021
TonyaC123, Thank you for sharing your experience, and were very sorry for the inconveniences that you encountered during your stay. Your very detailed negative review of our facilities and cleanliness is rough to hear because our goal and our efforts are directed to bring the opposite results from what you describe. We will forward your review to management for their attention and action. We hope to see you again and that you'll finally be truly impressed with our improvements.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Mary VanCleave wrote a review Sep 2020
Beaverton, Oregon2 contributions1 helpful vote
We booked 2 nights...the shower drain was so clogged that within 3 minutes the tub was full of water and where the shower head connects to the pipe was loose and flooded the bathroom floor. In order for the coffee pot to work you had to lift and hold the pot in order for it to drain. I told Office staff about it!!! When we got back to our room all the towels we had to use to dry the floor were left on the floor, coffee pot was not fixed. I called the office and was told that housekeeping checked and I was lying!!!! I had them come to the room at 9:30pm and showed them, they tried to argue but I insisted they change the coffee pot because I got a steam burn the day before!!!! We then asked about the towels, they said they don’t clean up until we check out!!! We had to ask for more towels and coffee which upset them!!!! Just sayin the price isn’t worth the horrible service!!!! Oh and their idea of “Ocean View” is crap!!!!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote1 Repost
Helpful
Share
Response from Tina M, General Manager at Econo Lodge
Responded Sep 8, 2020
maryvancleave, Thank you for sharing your experience, and I am so sorry to hear about the difficulties that you experienced with the shower drain. Know that your voice is important to us and that we are addressing the issues that you indicated in an effort to improve upon the guest experience at our hotel. We will address the maintenance task right away for the benefit of our future guests, which hopefully will include yourself.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Eric wrote a review Jul 2020
Salem, Oregon3 contributions8 helpful votes
Have you ever woke up in the middle of the night in such pain, looked at the clock and swear to yourself because you still have HOURS before the sun comes up? Well my Fiance and I did. We went to bed at 11pm, woke up at 1am and both swore to ourselves when we realized we had hours to go before it was morning. By the morning we were both so stiff and sore that we had troubles walking up and down the stairs. We both knew that we could not take another night like that and then be ready for work on Monday. So soon as we could we went to the front desk and asked about checking out early and getting a refund (since it was before check out time and they could easily clean and rent it out again). They told us to call our booking agency who would then contact them. We did so and after them not answering the phone for about 20 minutes of calling (according to our booking agency rep) they finally said we could check out, but there would be no refunds. Also our room stunk of Marijuana all night long. I think it was seeping up from the room below us since we had a non-smoking room. So since we didn't want them to clean the room and then rent it out again while keeping our money, we didn't check out until dinner time, but there was no way we were going to spend a second night here. Also due to Covid they don't serve breakfast anymore which isn't updated on any of the booking agencies websites.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Tina M, General Manager at Econo Lodge
Responded Jul 21, 2020
Eric E, Your review and rating of our hotel mean a lot to us, and we thank you for taking the time to share this experience. I do apologize for the discomfort you experienced with our bed, and I am so sorry that you smelled smoke in your room. Unfortunately, despite our efforts to ensure that nobody smokes in non-smoking rooms, it does occasionally happen and I hope you’ll accept our sincerest apologies for the smell of smoke that you experienced. We are working to take care of all of the issues that you addressed and we thank you for taking the time to share your experience.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Dustin D wrote a review Aug 2019
2 contributions
hotel experience at the Econo Lodge hotel In Newport Oregon, Karen from Choice Hotels was really sweet on the phone and she attempted to help outMy name is Dustin Deutschman and I had the worst hotel experience at the Econo Lodge hotel In Newport Oregon, Karen from Choice Hotels was really sweet on the phone and she attempted to help out the issue concerning my reservation problem for the two nights that I paid for with my debt card at check in was approved but unfortunately they only charged me for one of my two nights I tried to stayed at the Econo Lodge in Newport Oregon on hwy 101, The Econo Lodge only charged me for just the one night and not the second night as it was a second reservation but I was told that both nights were covered and I signed for two! This mistake was on their behalf but it left them with no choice other than to kick me out of the hotel after my first day staying there. The mistake was made by the Econo Lodge Hotel but neither the Choice Hotel or the Econo Lodge Hotel were willing to work together or to come up with a solution or correct their mistake for a guest that had the funds to pay for and was told at check in that the two nights stay were charged on my debt card and approved and signed by me was all taken care of and to enjoy my stay. On my first morning the Econo Lodge hotel called my room telling me my card was declined for my second nights stay! This could not be because I gave them my card and signed for both nights Witch I had enough money on my card when paying for the room at arrival on the 08/24/2019 threw the 08/25/2019, I was told that both nights were all taken care of! But they only charged the first nights reservation and not the second night! Having to leave the room that I had reserved for two nights but only charged for one of nights on the first day when I paid for and signed for two nights on my first day of arrival. This entire situation could have been avoided and handled a lot better than telling me that my card was declined for the second day, when I was told at check in that the day before my two nights were paid for by my card on my first day of arrival. My card was declined and blocked for 24 hours for the attempt of use and decline card transactions leaving me with no where to stay and no way to access my money now! I am out ragged and so disappointed in both of these companies on how they would not come together or own up to their mishaps to take care of a paying guest that had the funds and was told both nights were taken care of and to enjoy his stay just to be told I had to leave the very next day! Both Choice Hotels and The Econo Lodge In Newport Oregon 97365 were completely the worst online and in person experience I've ever had happen to me not to mention the embarrassment of me trying to find out where they went wrong just for them to tell me that they could not do anything further to correct their mistake and that I had to leave! I asked for the general manager and a lady by the name Nancy came out to tell me that there was nothing further she could do for me and that I had to leave if I had no other way to pay for the second night witch I thought I already had the first night I arrived. I will never go through either of these companies again for how thing happened and how they were handled, I also will be letting everyone that I know of my experience, "to avoid and not go threw or stay at these Hotels"!! I've worked in the hospitality industry and I'm fully aware of what they could have done for me based on this mishap that was completely on there end! I'll be posting this on all my social media aswell as TripAdvisor and as many other review sites for this put me out and left me hanging with Choice other than to sleep in my car until the next day when my bank card would be unblocked! I did not want to have to do any of this just to try and stay somewhere. for what had happened to me while trying to reserve a reservation threw Choice Hotels and staying at the Econo Lodge in Newport Oregon on hwy 101 I would rather stay in my car than go threw that again! I'm sadly disappointed, embarrassed and frustrated beyond words! I do not recommend dealing with or staying with these two hotels for they would not do anything further to help me out of the situation they put me in,I was a paying guest that had the money for two nights on arrival but they messed up and I could not stay there because of it! the issue concerning my reservation problem for the two nights that I paid for with my debt card at check in was approved but unfortunately they only charged me for one of my two nights I tried to stayed at the Econo Lodge in Newport Oregon on hwy 101, The Econo Lodge only charged me for just the one night and not the second night as it was a second reservation but I was told that both nights were covered and I signed for two! This mistake was on their behalf but it left them with no choice other than to kick me out of the hotel after my first day staying there. The mistake was made by the Econo Lodge Hotel but neither the Choice Hotel or the Econo Lodge Hotel were willing to work together or to come up with a solution or correct their mistake for a guest that had the funds to pay for and was told at check in that the two nights stay were charged on my debt card and approved and signed by me was all taken care of and to enjoy my stay. On my first morning the Econo Lodge hotel called my room telling me my card was declined for my second nights stay! This could not be because I gave them my card and signed for both nights Witch I had enough money on my card when paying for the room at arrival on the 08/24/2019 threw the 08/25/2019, I was told that both nights were all taken care of! But they only charged the first nights reservation and not the second night! Having to leave the room that I had reserved for two nights but only charged for one of nights on the first day when I paid for and signed for two nights on my first day of arrival. This entire situation could have been avoided and handled a lot better than telling me that my card was declined for the second day, when I was told at check in that the day before my two nights were paid for by my card on my first day of arrival. My card was declined and blocked for 24 hours for the attempt of use and decline card transactions leaving me with no where to stay and no way to access my money now! I am out ragged and so disappointed in both of these companies on how they would not come together or own up to their mishaps to take care of a paying guest that had the funds and was told both nights were taken care of and to enjoy his stay just to be told I had to leave the very next day! Both Choice Hotels and The Econo Lodge In Newport Oregon 97365 were completely the worst online and in person experience I've ever had happen to me not to mention the embarrassment of me trying to find out where they went wrong just for them to tell me that they could not do anything further to correct their mistake and that I had to leave! I asked for the general manager and a lady by the name Nancy came out to tell me that there was nothing further she could do for me and that I had to leave if I had no other way to pay for the second night witch I thought I already had the first night I arrived. I will never go through either of these companies again for how thing happened and how they were handled, I also will be letting everyone that I know of my experience, "to avoid and not go threw or stay at these Hotels"!! I've worked in the hospitality industry and I'm fully aware of what they could have done for me based on this mishap that was completely on there end! I'll be posting this on all my social media aswell as TripAdvisor and as many other review sites for this put me out and left me hanging with Choice other than to sleep in my car until the next day when my bank card would be unblocked! I did not want to have to do any of this just to try and stay somewhere. for what had happened to me while trying to reserve a reservation threw Choice Hotels and staying at the Econo Lodge in Newport Oregon on hwy 101 I would rather stay in my car than go threw that again! I'm sadly disappointed, embarrassed and frustrated beyond words! I do not recommend dealing with or staying with these two hotels for they would not do anything further to help me out of the situation they put me in,I was a paying guest that had the money for two nights on arrival but they messed up and I could not stay there because of it!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Tina M, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge
Responded Sep 2, 2019
Dustin D, Thank you for sharing your experience, and I'm sorry to learn that you did not fully enjoy the service, accommodations and hospitality that we hold to such a high degree of importance in our hotel. We are saddened to know that you were not happy with the service you received from our front desk staff during your stay. It is our goal to impress you and exceed your expectations with every visit, and it is disheartening to learn that we did not fulfill this ambition during your recent visit. Thank you for calling our attention for this matter and we promise you a better service and a professional staff.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Brenda F wrote a review Jul 2019
Woodland, California47 contributions5 helpful votes
We were there for just one night. Thankfully, the place has been remodeled. It feels like luxury inside the room. I was surprised how much I paid, but understand that July 4 is a big deal in the coast.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Tina M, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge
Responded Jul 9, 2019
Hi Brenda F, Greetings from Econo Lodge . On behalf of my entire team, we would like to thank you for your wonderful review and for noticing our recent updates that we have made to our hotel. We seek to give each guest a very comfortable and accommodating experience and we are thrilled to hear of our success in this ambition. It means so much to us to be such an important part of your holiday traditions and we look forward to your next visit.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Janene Ferreira wrote a review Jun 2019
Olympia, Washington2 contributions
Clean place to sleep while traveling. My room was basic but clean, and the bed was pretty comfortable. For the low price that I paid, I was surprised that my room even had a peakaboo view of the ocean.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Tina M, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge
Responded Jul 2, 2019
JaneneB_11, Greetings from Econo Lodge . Thank you for your kind comments regarding our high standards of cleanliness and were able to provide you a comfortable experience. It means a lot to us that you've taken the time to share this positive experience at our hotel. We are looking forward to hosting you again and have a great day ahead!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Terry B wrote a review Jun 2019
1 contribution
This was one of the better places we stayed on our recent trip. It's a place I would definitely stay at again! All the staff, from the front desk to the cleaning staff were pleasant and a joy to speak with. The room was quiet, clean and the ocean view was fantastic!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2019
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Tina M, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge
Responded Jun 12, 2019
Terry B, Greetings from Econo Lodge . Thank you for your kind comments and 5 star rating! Hearing about how our efforts to give you a pleasant and accommodating experience have been successful is very rewarding for every member of our staff and management team.We are all looking forward to your next visit and hope it will be just as enjoyable.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Gary M wrote a review Jun 2019
Fairmont, West Virginia261 contributions78 helpful votes
Stop here on our way down the coastal highway. We met very friendly desk (managers ) during our stay. The rooms are currently being remodeled under new management. They have laminate floors, good bed, bathroom area is nice, but small sink area in our room, and better lighting on wall both sides of the bed. Good view of the beach down the hill. There are rows of one story homes before the beach. It’s about a 10 minutes walk down. Had a maintenance problem with sink, the desk quickly took care of it. Outside of motel is still being worked on. They had a guest laundry on site. No elevator. We would stay here again. Photos from our window.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Tina M, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge
Responded Jun 2, 2019
Hi Gary1500, On behalf of my entire team of Econo Lodge, we would like to thank you for your wonderful review and for noticing our recent updates that we have made to our hotel. It means a lot to hear from guests who are satisfied with all of our services and amenities. I am so glad that our staff was able to assist you with the sink and we all look forward to seeing you again.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Newport area.
PRICE RANGE
C$91 - C$231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
econo lodge newport, newport econo lodge
LOCATION
United StatesOregonOregon CoastNewport
NUMBER OF ROOMS
43
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Econo Lodge - UPDATED Prices, Reviews & Photos (Newport, Oregon) - Hotel - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Econo Lodge
Which popular attractions are close to Econo Lodge?
Nearby attractions include The Kite Company (0.3 km), Coast Park (0.5 km), and Burrows House Museum (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Econo Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at Econo Lodge?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Econo Lodge?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Econo Lodge?
Conveniently located restaurants include Georgie's, La Maison, and Pig'n'Pancake.
Is Econo Lodge located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.9 km away from the centre of Newport.
Are pets allowed at Econo Lodge?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Econo Lodge have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
Is Econo Lodge accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.