We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Moolack Shores Inn

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (217)
Room & Suite (90)
Pool & Beach (22)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#5 of 12 motels in Newport
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
#Moolack Shores Motel is your unique ocean-front retreat on the central Oregon coast. Our themed rooms feature stunning ocean views and there is easy beach access. Most rooms have fireplaces and either a kitchenette or full kitchen. We offer clean, comfortable rooms and will go out of our way to make your stay a very special one! Our location on the north end of Newport is just a 5 minute drive to town and about 20 minutes from Lincoln City.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Beach
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Seating area
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint
Charming
323Reviews4Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 176
  • 73
  • 23
  • 22
  • 29
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Excursion09857246628 wrote a review Nov 2023
2 contributions
My daughter and I stayed for my birthday Jan 2023. Peggy was so wonderful! She had balloons and a happy birthday banner when I got there. It was great! I've only stayed in 2 rooms so far, but, there's more to go!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Peggy Parsons, Guest Services / Front Office at Moolack Shores Inn
Responded Nov 29, 2023
I am so glad you had a great birthday here with me. I look forward to Seeing You and your mom again hope you have a wonderful holiday season Be safe, Happy holidays, Peggy
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
lrickb wrote a review Nov 2023
North Las Vegas, Nevada56 contributions14 helpful votes
This is an older motel but is a very nice one to visit the Oregon Coast in the Newport area. Sits right above the beach with a staircase to make your access to it quite easy. We had a great night of weather and walked onto the beach after sunset and we were the only ones. The Racers room had everything you’d like to have for a quiet evening for two. Microwave, toaster oven, fridge, plates & silverware. Fireplace & deck. No, this isn’t a chain hotel but the owner seems to want to make your visit a good one. It should take you back to mom and pop offerings for a good night sleep.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Just enough parking for each room. Read the instructions offered to you and adhere to them. Check...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Peggy Parsons, Guest Services / Front Office at Moolack Shores Inn
Responded Nov 29, 2023
I’m so glad you had a great great stay with me. I look forward to seeing you in the future. Have a wonderful holiday season. Be safe Happy holidays, Peggy
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
mikelori wrote a review Oct 2023
Provo, Utah67 contributions36 helpful votes
We go to Oregon coast every year for past 10 years, seems like it’s not important to supply your customers with updated, clean comfortable lodging as long as you have a view!!! Pictures on internet did not show what we truly were going to get! We booked the king bed with two bunk beds in walls last minute. The stairs in our room leading to room on lowers level looked like they had NEVER been cleaned. The two lounge chairs were so filthy I had to put blanket over one just to sit in it. Paint job was comical, it truly looked like a 13 yr old painted and scuff marks everywhere. The bathroom was terrible, so small. cob webs on ceiling near light, light was not adequate for make up, tub was so small , no mat. Towel rack fell off wall, husband told front desk and they said last person in room had told them same thing. Then why not fix it if your charging $159 a night? The bed was comfortable…
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Peggy Parsons, Guest Services / Front Office at Moolack Shores Inn
Responded Nov 29, 2023
Hi Michael I’m so sorry that you had this experience. I wish you would’ve contacted me The after hours number that I give all my guests when I text them, or you could’ve came to the office I would’ve re-cleaned your room Be safe happy holidays, Peggy.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Quest39018255960 wrote a review Aug 2023
1 contribution
Peggy is the greatest! Even though we ended up not being able to stay, the reservation process was fun because of Peggy. She did her best to accommodate us, answered my long list of questions & had great suggestions for which room was best for us and why. The cancellation process was easy and we'll stay another time. Thanks, Peggy
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Moolack Shores Inn Reservations, General Manager at Moolack Shores Inn
Responded Sep 1, 2023
Hi Quest 39018255960 Thank you so much for your kind words for me Peggy it truly means so much to me . I look forward to seeing you in the future . You contact me anytime Be Safe Peggy
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Fawn P wrote a review Aug 2023
1 contribution1 helpful vote
+1
This place could be phenomenal. The views and beach access are second to none. The room however was dirty and smelled really bad. They do try to mask the odor with synthetic plug-in fragrance. There were missing screens on the dirty windows, the room door lock did not work properly and overall, the rooms need repair and maintenance. During checkout the host rushed me to vacate the room an hour before checkout and had 3 dogs running around barking and unleashed.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Moolack Shores Inn Reservations, General Manager at Moolack Shores Inn
Responded Aug 30, 2023
I'm pretty sure I know who you are .You were in the Racer Room the beginning of Aug with your Dog that you never let me now that you were bring through AIRBNB and stated it was a service dog . The door works properly If the room was this dirty you never came to the office to let me know I would of re cleaned it my self for you . My dog and your dog played Dogs bark when they play they were leashed We clean the windows every day I can not help the mist of the ocean coming on the windows . I never rush my guest out they usual stay at check out time or ask me if they can stay an extra half hour. You received a full refund through AIRBNB I'm asking nicely please stop harassing me and my hotel I'm sorry I was not even here on the 29th I had a DR'S appointment in Portland that I had to leave at 7;00am
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Belinda wrote a review Jul 2023
3 contributions
Home away from home! Peggy was our host and she is absolutely wonderful! We originally only intended to stay one night, but the room was so amazing the beach was so beautiful, that we went ahead and booked another night in a different room. The second room was even better, and the views from the rooms are breathtaking! I highly recommend this amazing hotel and the host that runs the office makes it just that much more of a wonderful experience.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Book ahead to make sure you get a room.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Moolack Shores Inn Reservations, General Manager at Moolack Shores Inn
Responded Jul 27, 2023
Hi Wander Thank you so much for the kind words for me Peggy it truly means so much to me . I'm so glad you had a great stay with me and you enjoyed both rooms I look forward to seeing you again Be Safe Peggy
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Rocky J wrote a review Jul 2023
1 contribution
Moolack Shores Inn used to be a wonderful place. The location is the only thing it has going for it. The view is fantastic and the beach is lovely. Unfortunately that is where it ends. The new owner has chosen to put Glade plug-ins in every room including the office. The kind with oil in them that has permeated every piece of fabric and furniture in the rooms. The towels are being washed with smelly perfumed soap. There is so much perfumed dryer fabric softener on the hand towels that you can feel it. All of this chemical potpourri mixed together made the room smell so strong that I had to sleep with the windows open all night and that wasn’t even enough to get rid of it. After leaving, I had a headache for three days. I don’t know what it is with people who think that chemical odors all mixed together like that is a good thing. People want to smell fresh ocean air when they go to the beach. If you are sensitive to chemicals like that I recommend staying elsewhere. The office looks like a pigsty. There is dog food all over the place and boxes all over the floor that make it look like a hoarders apartment. There was hair and dirt around the coffee service, the refrigerator and the dishes were not clean. Whoever cleans those rooms does such a cursory job they should be ashamed of themselves. Save your vacation! Save your money. Avoid this place or you will be very disappointed.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Moolack Shores Inn Reservations, General Manager at Moolack Shores Inn
Responded Jul 21, 2023
Rocky I'm sorry that I like to have a nice smells in my office and the rooms for my guest . I wash the sheets and towels that my guest know that when they arrive and that everything is cleaned not dirty.. My office is not a PIGSTY its cleaned when I receive my orders that come in everyday the truck drivers has to put them in the office.. If you had all these issues you never called the after hours number spoke with me at all about anything . I have a lot of guest that come here love everything that I have been doing it's an improvement than what it was. I Wish you would of said something when you were I would of been able to fix the issues here not behind your computer Take Care Be Safe
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Cat C wrote a review Jun 2023
1 contribution
+1
The room looks nothing like the photos. It is a dive. It smells so strongly of perfume to cover up the old smell that it triggered a migraine. I am including photos and am trying to get out of here as soon as I can find another room elsewhere. Absolutely awful.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: This place is a complete dive and I would never recommend to anyone.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Moolack Shores Inn Reservations, General Manager at Moolack Shores Inn
Responded Jun 21, 2023
Hi Catherine Our photo's have been updated You went through a 3rd party did not contact the office to ask about the room you made reservations for. Our rooms are not dives we do not cover up any smells we clean our rooms . When we spoke today 6-21-2023 you were very rude with me. When I have been so nice to you. When you returned to the motel at 7;30pm you never called me on the after hours number to let me know what was going on. You called that morning yelling in the phone witch I still have the voice message . Service you never reached out to me for any help or to speak with me in person. I'm truly sorry that you feel this way I do have repeating guest that love it here and when I get a guest that stays here for 1 night they come back or they make a second night stay with me. Be Safe Peggy
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
annonymous963 wrote a review May 2023
Sacramento, California8 contributions11 helpful votes
I wish I would have read the reviews before my stay. We had a rat in our room all night and it was going from under the bed to the bathroom. We seem the rat scooting under the door and you could tell it was not the first time. It was a BIG RAT and when I complained....Peggy ....who has awful excuses for all of the bad reviews she gets....ordered us off the property and her husband gave us 3 minutes to leave. Which we had already packed the car and were preparing to leave the minute the office opened. The worse customer service EVER. She charged us for a night we did not even stay after saying she would refund the money and we were willing to pay for the night we stayed however dreadful that night turned out to be. I went over her head and messaged the person who answers their messages via facebook for my refund. I would never recommend this place. Whole pieces of chocolate on the floor from previous guests. Rats ate the food off our counter in the kitchenette. Dust and dirt everywhere. The cleaning staff left trash outside our room for several hours in a wagon they used for cleaning the rooms. I was surprised to see cleaning supplies as they apparently do not use them in the room. Newport is full of beautiful hotels with ocean views but this is not one of them....ocean views are obscured by the filthy windows. Do yourself a favor...stay somewhere else.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Moolack Shores Inn Reservations, General Manager at Moolack Shores Inn
Responded May 26, 2023
Dear Anonymous There were no rats in the room . Never ordered you off the property . No one gave you 3 mins to leave. It's only me and the housekeeper here no Husband sorry to say . We do not have wagons used by our housekeeper we do use our cleaning supplies in every room.. If this was a problem you should of called me immediately but you never did you had my personal cell phone number after hours number everyway possible to contact me and you did not. If you want over my head to contact someone on Facebook to refund you for things that did not happen its on you . Not me I take care of my guest in every way possible. Be Safe Peggy
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Passenger46058736548 wrote a review Mar 2023
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Lower your expectations and you won't be disappointed. Lower them a lot. We stayed in the Hawaiian room. On their website, it was advertised as having a fireplace. It did. A crappy electric fireplace. If you want a real "fireplace", verify that it burns wood. This was very disappointing. This was a rare one night romantic get-away for us and we specifically want a fire. Unfortunately, they only have 4 rooms with real fireplaces and they were reserved. The place is run down and it looks like it was painted inside and out by a 10 yr old. The fan in the bathroom didn't work, so it fogged up the bathroom and made everything wet and slick. For the positives, the manager Peggy was very responsive. She texted my wife and confirmed the details within a few minutes after making the reservation, even though she was absolutely no help resolving the fireplace problem. The bed was comfortable and the linens were clean and fresh. The rest of the furniture was basic, but comfortable. The kitchenette was nice. We cooked a nice dinner and the kitchen had everything we needed. The view is amazing. Probably one of the best we've ever had in a room on the coast. The Hawaiian room is a corner room and has a deck and stunning unobstructed view West out to the ocean and North up the beach towards Beverly beach. Actually, its a pretty good deal for the money. Like the title says, lower your expectations and you won't be disappointed.......and if you want a fireplace, make sure it burns wood and not electricity.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Moolack Shores Inn Reservations, General Manager at Moolack Shores Inn
Responded May 26, 2023
Hi Passenger Your room does have a fireplace its an electric one We are remolding rooms When we spoke I did not have any rooms available with the real fireplaces and I did let you know that If I had one with a real fireplace I would of moved you. When booking on line please contact the office so I can let all my guest know which rooms I have available and I can help you have the right room for you .. Be Safe Peggy
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Newport area.
PRICE RANGE
C$179 - C$453 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
moolack shores hotel newport
LOCATION
United StatesOregonOregon CoastNewport
NUMBER OF ROOMS
14
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Moolack Shores Inn - UPDATED Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Moolack Shores Inn
Which popular attractions are close to Moolack Shores Inn?
Nearby attractions include Yaquina Head Outstanding Natural Area (3.0 km), Otter Crest Loop (5.1 km), and Yaquina Bay Bridge (5.6 km).
Which room amenities are available at Moolack Shores Inn?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
Is parking available at Moolack Shores Inn?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Moolack Shores Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include Georgie's, Pacific Kitchen at Nye Beach, and Clearwater Restaurant.
Does Moolack Shores Inn have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.