We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Rose - A Staypineapple Hotel

Show Prices
#29 of 138 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel Rose - A Staypineapple Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

729 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Rose - A Staypineapple Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 701: English reviews
Bakersfield, California
Reviewed 20 May 2014

My husband and I just returned from a 4 day stay in Portland. We chose Hotel Rose because we had an outstanding experience with another Pineapple Hospitality hotel in Seattle. Unfortunately, our stay at Hotel Rose wasn't as extraordinary. We loved the usual Pineapple amenities...free water bottles, Keurig machine, umbrella to use...but it didn't WOW us like we had hoped....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chelsea N
Terry H, General Manager at Hotel Rose - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review

Good evening Chelsea N, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We truly do appreciate your feedback. I'm pleased to hear that you enjoyed our Pineapple amenities such as our complimentary bikes, cupcakes and coffee, Keurig coffee maker, and fantastic location. We are very close to having our lobby, restaurant, and bar remodel complete. I believe that...

Honolulu
Reviewed 17 May 2014

After reading some of the recent TripAdvisor reviews for Hotel Rose, we considered cancelling our reservation. But we had such a positive experience at another "Pineapple Hospitality" hotel - The Maxwell Hotel (Seattle) - the week before, that we decided to stick with our reservations at Hotel Rose... and we're glad that we did. Actually, the TripAdvisor reviews helped prepare...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank aloha1390
Terry H, General Manager at Hotel Rose - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review

Good evening aloha1390, Thank you for your positive comments from your recent stay. We are also very pleased that you did not cancel. You are correct about the lobby almost being done. We are on schedule to have the lobby done by the 28th with the restaurant and bar opening on June 2nd. I was happy that you enjoyed our...

Richmond Hill, Canada
Reviewed 10 May 2014

The hotel is undergoing some major renovations, there is virtually no lobby. The rooms however are very nice and clean, the bed was extremely comfortable. The noises from the street and train were loud but tolerable. The construction on the restaurant began quite early in the morning but we were awake early anyways, so it didn't bother us. Free wifi...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sco202
Terry H, General Manager at Hotel Rose - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review

Good Morning Sco202, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. We appreciate your feedback. I was pleased to hear that you enjoyed our comfortable bed, complimentary wifi, bottled water, and spacious rooms. We appreciate your patience while we finish up our renovation. Only a few more weeks and we will have a spectacular new restaurant,...

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 7 May 2014

I had a very similar experience as the "Ughhh!" reviewer did when I stayed at Hotel Rose. Don't waste your money on this place. We were booked for three nights, and quickly - by the morning of our first night - changed it to one. We had extremely loud neighbor noise due to thin walls, had no AC or ventilation...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Claire B
Terry H, General Manager at Hotel Rose - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Claire B, Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay. I do apologize that your experience did not live up to your expectations. We will review your feedback with our team and look for opportunities to make adjustments. I have been unable to locate an e-mail from you but would be more than happy to discuss your stay...

Memphis, Tennessee
Reviewed 2 May 2014

The location and cleanness of the room was very good. The poor rating is because their was a party in the adjacent room that went on for more than 8 hours even after calling it into the hotel.The hotel knew what was going on. The question is why would you book a party next door to your guest who are...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Lynnette41
Terry H, General Manager at Hotel Rose - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review

Good afternoon Lynnette41, Thank you for your comments from your recent stay. I do apolgoize that you did not enjoy your time with us. It is our policy to react to any noise complainte immediately. Knowing that our guests comfort is very important, we do not tolorate parties or any such gatherings in our hotel rooms when they disturbe other...

Newport Beach, California
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Rented this hotel for three nights, ended up staying one and ONLY because we arrived so late that we did not want to move hotels in the middle of the night. Walls are paper thin, we had children adjacent to our room that were very loud. The noise from the traffic outside was terrible. No peace at all in this...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank 1ConcreteAngel
Terry H, General Manager at Hotel Rose - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review

Good afternoon ConcreteAngel1, Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay. I do apologize that the downtown noise was an issue for you. I do hope you will give us a try when our remodel is complete. It's going to be very nice. Thank you. Terry Hanley General Manager

Lewisburg, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 1 May 2014

I stayed at the Hotel Rose for 5 nights in mid-April, 2014. I stayed in a river view room with two double beds. The room size was comfortable, with nice amenities, including bathrobes and Tommy Bahama bath products. The bathroom was somewhat small with only a stall shower, but fully functional for two people. Housekeeping kept the room pristine and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ARG1125
Terry H, General Manager at Hotel Rose - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review

Hello ARG1125, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay at Hotel Rose. We truly do appreciate your feedback. I am happy you enjoyed one of our water front rooms, Tommy Bahama amenities, great location, and effecient hospitality team. We appreciate your patience while we put the finishing touches on our lobby and restaurant remodel....

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 30 April 2014

My husband and I just spent 4 days here on a vacation/business trip. We were able to get an amazing deal on this hotel by going to Portland's Group-On. When traveling we often go to the destination city's Group On page and end up getting some great deals. While there the lobby was undergoing some renovation BUT it was no...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lemonmerangue1
Terry H, General Manager at Hotel Rose - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review

Hello lemonmerangue1, Thank you for your very nice comments regarding your recent stay at Hotel Rose. We truly appreciate your feedback. I was so pleased to read that you had such a nice stay and enjoyed so many of our special amenities. Our location, beds, and outstanding associates are the best!! We also appreciate your patience while we finish up...

San Diego, California
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We are just leaving Hotel Rose after a 3-night stay. When we checked in, we were unpleasantly surprised to see that they were in the process of tearing up their front lobby for remodel. Thankfully we weren't affected by it during our stay, but I was bummed to miss their happy hour they speak of on their website (free coffee...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LO_SD
Terry H, General Manager at Hotel Rose - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review

Good afternoon LO SD, Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at Hotel Rose. Your feedback is important to us. I was happy to hear you enjoyed our great location and bike program. We also appreciate your patience while we put the finishing touches on our remodel. I'm happy that you will be staying with us again so...

Reviewed 25 April 2014

This is the worst hotel experience I have had since staying in hostels in Europe in college. I thought I was getting a deal though a TravelZoo offer, but we are going on our third night with limited sleep because of how noisy this poorly built hotel is. The train tracks are right outside, and run from 4 am until...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Reema M
Terry H, General Manager at Hotel Rose - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review

Good afternoon Reema M, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We truly appreciate your feedback. I am sorry that you found our location noisy. We will review our procedures to see where we can make improvements for furture visitors. I was pleased to see that you enjoyed our location and service. Thank you again Reema M,...

408 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (159)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (30)
Viewed
View from Room (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (29)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
2:29
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (49)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (194)
Viewed
Amenities (10)
Viewed
Balcony Double Double Room (45)
Viewed
City View King Room (33)
Viewed
Courtyard King Room (35)
Viewed
River View Double Double Room (41)
Viewed
The Hotel (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (55)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (29)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Hotel Modera
Hotel Modera
#26 of 138 in Portland
1,853 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#15 of 138 in Portland
1,275 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard Portland City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Heathman Hotel
The Heathman Hotel
#25 of 138 in Portland
1,893 reviews
Downtown
Paramount Hotel
Paramount Hotel
#8 of 138 in Portland
1,142 reviews
Downtown
Westin Portland
Westin Portland
#17 of 138 in Portland
866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
With its iconic food cart gatherings, anti-establishment murals and even a 24-Hour Church of Elvis, its no wonder the mantra of this town is "Keep Portland Weird." And right in the heart of it all you'll find Hotel Rose, a funky, fun and "oh-so-Portland" boutique hotel located directly across from Tom McCall Waterfront Park on the beautiful Willamette River. From shopping to dining to outdoor recreation, there's no better home base for exploring the odd, the exquisite and the just plain outrageous. Staypineapple at Hotel Rose. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Rose - A Staypineapple Hotel

Address: 50 SW Morrison St, Portland, OR 97204-3390 (Formerly Hotel Fifty)
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Price Range: $221 - $412 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Rose - A Staypineapple Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 139
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Rose - A Staypineapple Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fifty Hotel Portland
Hotel Fifty Portland
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#44 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#51 Business Hotel in Portland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Rose - A Staypineapple Hotel staff and other travellers.
17 questions
Ask a question
Boston
9 months ago
2 days ago
Mandeville, Louisiana
over a year ago
Vail, Arizona

See all questions (17)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Rose - A Staypineapple Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Riverfront rooms have some noise but truly fab views.”
 of 5 bubbles mveigl, 8 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Book directly to hotel for best price avoid priceline and the likes!”
 of 5 bubbles degen1, 2 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Since he hotel is located right downtown I'm not sure if there is a quiet room. It is next to the freeway and located on a busy street.”
 of 5 bubbles tbwg, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
“The room facing the parking lot was very quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles BRSBR, 7 Feb 2017 | Read review
“top floor, end of hall was a larger room and very quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles VickyLakeGirl, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5