Residence Inn Portland Downtown Riverplace

Residence Inn Portland Downtown Riverplace

Traveller (196)
Room & Suite (117)
Residence Inn Portland Downtown Riverplace
Videos (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#46 of 153 hotels in Portland
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Value
Get comfortable at Residence Inn Portland Downtown/RiverPlace. Our extended stay hotel in Downtown Portland offers everything you need to make yourself at home. Relax in our suites with fully equipped kitchens, cable TV with streaming capabilities, and plush Marriott bedding. Pet-friendly accommodations are also available. Start your day with tasty selections from our free grab-and-go breakfast and enjoy lunch and dinner at nearby restaurants like Bambuza, McCormick & Schmick's, and Southpark Seafood. Maintain your workout routine at our 24-hour fitness center or take a walk along the waterfront right outside our door. Our downtown hotel is located along the Max Light Rail service so enjoy easy access to Oregon Health & Science University, Oregon Convention Center, and more nearby attractions. Our convenient location also makes our venues a great choice for your upcoming meeting or special occasion.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Kids stay free
Children's television networks
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Centre with Internet Access
Car park
Wifi
Breakfast available
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Convenience store
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Seating area
Kitchenette
Flatscreen TV
Sofa bed
Bath / shower
Separate dining area
Separate living room
Sofa
Microwave
Refrigerator
Complimentary toiletries
Room types
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
River View
Great View
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Offer:Earn points toward free nights.

Location

2115 SW River Parkway, Portland, OR 97201
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 68 out of 100
68
Portland Intl Airport
10.8 km
See all flights
879Reviews17Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 436
  • 287
  • 98
  • 35
  • 23
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
debo-ro wrote a review Jul 2020
Morgan Hill, CA
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The building is grand. The room itself was fine. We were sheepishly asked by front desk if we were aware of a $39/day parking fee. We booked on bonvoy app which never mentioned parking fee. She knocked it down to $20/day so we wouldn’t leave.
Rooms were clean and newer than many res inns we’ve stayed at. However, the location is creepy. Right under industrial unDerpasses where you might imagine homeless encampments. There were questionable persons using all the luggage carts to haul what looked like supplies from a homeless camp up to rooms. We could not get any luggage cart to use.
Due to covid, breakfast was grab and go. For such a ritzy hotel it was the worst c19 breakfast of 4 hotels we stayed at. A paper bag with unripe orange, one chewy granola bar and a bottled water? Not even juice? The other res inns had apple and orange juice, individual cereals in many types, breakfast and granola bars, individually wrapped pastries and fruits and yogurts. There was bowl of ice at this one that I imagine contained something but no one could seem bothered to fill it.
There is nothing to walk to nearby. My family walked to McCormick and Schmick and said it was close but again, it seems deserted and creepy.
I wouldn’t stay here again. I would choose a better location to actually see Portland. One good thing, I can’t see any tent encampments from this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from LindseyFickenGM, General Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown Riverplace
Responded Jul 22, 2020
We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback, Debo. We're disappointed that your time with us was less than ideal. Your experience is not on par with the level of service we're accustomed to providing. We regret that our location didn't exceed your expectations. We hold ourselves to a higher standard so we'll address your concerns with the appropriate members of our team moving forward. We hope you give us another opportunity to share a more positive experience with you soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nikki B wrote a review Jun 2020
Walnut Creek, California
3.0 of 5 bubbles
very tired old hotel. reminds me of something I stayed in during the 90s.
there’s a parking fee of $39 which I thought was excessive for this area, it’s not in the downtown area they could easily have a parking lot that’s free. also just know staff does not wear masks so if that’s a concern to you I would not suggest staying here.
Google maps does not take you to this location it kind of takes you on a roundabout way to get there so you might want to use an alternative map direction, like Wayze.
walk ability into downtown is nice though, you can walk along the waterfront.
there is no information given to you when you check in about changes due to COVID-19 or how they clean the building or anything that would be helpful making you feel safe for your stay.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: It’s right next to the streetcar line so ask for a room on the other side facing the waterfront
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from LindseyFickenGM, General Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown Riverplace
Responded Jun 26, 2020
We appreciate your feedback, NikkiB815. We strive to offer our guests quality service and comfort. However, it's unfortunate that your stay with us was anything less than perfect. Our team has updated their standards and is currently wearing masks per the county guidelines. I am also disappointed that our staff did not hand you the letter we have created for our guests as well as point out the lobby poster that states all the changes we have made to make sure our property has the safety of our guests and associates as its first priority. We'd love to see you again in the future to share a more positive experience with you.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ParksPix wrote a review Oct 2020
Puyallup, Washington
+1
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Nice location/easily accessible to restaurants, the river walk, etc. We were worried about the fact that it’s basically under the freeway but you don’t hear any noise inside. It’s an older building so you don’t even hear anyone in the rooms above or next to you either the floors are solid. This is our new hone away from home and are here every week for a year. I post pics on my Instagram @parkspix the only suggestion I’ve made is to have more breakfast choices available and more food in the store for purchase. We have oven, microwave and fridge in the rooms. Other hotels during Covid time are offering pre made breakfast sandwiches and omelets and cream cheese packets and packaged bagels, even pre packed hard boiled eggs and the stores all have several lunch and dinner meals for purchase.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from LindseyFickenGM, General Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown Riverplace
Responded Oct 29, 2020
We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback. We strive to offer our guests quality service and comfort. However, it's unfortunate that your stay with us was anything less than perfect. We'll be addressing your concerns with the appropriate members of our team. We'd love to see you again in the future to share a more positive experience with you.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
jillg wrote a review Feb 2021
Portland, OR
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed here when we had an extended power outage at our home. Moved here after several days at the Hyatt House which is basically across the street for more space as we weren’t sure how much longer the power would be off. The Hyatt is much newer and cleaner, the only negatives in comparison are the room size is smaller at the Hyatt and the rooms are not as sound proof. This room was, frankly, dirty, which is not a plus during this time. If you look closely nothing had been dusted above eye height. The furniture was stained and scratched. The breakfast compared to the Hyatt was not as good. I would not really recommend staying here unless space is your priority.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from LindseyFickenGM, General Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown Riverplace
Responded Feb 23, 2021
We appreciate the feedback, Jill. It's unfortunate your stay in our hotel didn't exceed your expectations. We regret you weren't entirely satisfied with our furnishings and accommodations. We care deeply about the happiness and satisfaction of our guests so we'll address all of your concerns with our team moving forward. We do hope you give us another opportunity to share a more positive experience with you soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
812841 wrote a review Feb 2020
Denver, Colorado
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I booked a suite and was surprised that was just a standard room. When I have booked same level in other Residence Inn’s it has been a much larger room often times with a separate bedroom. The mattress felt at the end of its natural life, otherwise clean and as expected. Found the restaurant evening food to be delicious, appreciated the coffee and tea being available all day. Morning breakfast standard Marriott and everyone should be able to find something you like.

Now for the ugly - the neighborhood, while at the waters edge would seem ideal, however due to the severe homeless issue in the city you have stationary cars serving as homes, the one directly across from the front door of the hotel had a new window broken out each morning. Personal safety and car safety and with hotel not offering valet the parking garage can easily be accessed by anyone anytime if day. Encampments of multiple tents are all along the center medians in the streets. If a car swerves for any reason the people in the tents are going to be severely injured. Maybe that is the plan to successfully afford housing, sad either way.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from LindseyFickenGM, General Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown Riverplace
Responded Feb 26, 2020
Thanks for the feedback, 812841. While we're glad to hear that you appreciated the cleanliness of our property and the dining options we have to offer to our guests, it's unfortunate to hear that parts of your stay did not meet your standards. It's unfortunate to hear you were not satisfied by the size of your room, and not fully pleased with the condition of your mattress. We appreciate your concerns regarding the safety of our property, and we regret to hear that you did not feel completely safe during your time with us. We care about the satisfaction and safety of our guests so we'll be sure to share your feedback with the appropriate members of our team moving forward. We would love to see you again soon for a more positive experience.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Trail815802 wrote a review Nov 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We were very grateful that the Residence Inn was able to find our family a two-bedroom suite for a same-day arrival when wildfire smoke displaced us from our home. We wound up extending our stay for a total of six nights. The suite was spacious, and had a fully equipped kitchen that let us cook meals. Best of all, the air conditioning system worked well, and the air quality in the hotel was much better than in our home. The General Manager, Lindsey Ficken, is very dedicated to customer satisfaction.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from LindseyFickenGM, General Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown Riverplace
Responded Nov 13, 2020
Thanks for the wonderful review! We're happy your time at Residence Inn by Marriott Portland Downtown/RiverPlace was so excellent! It's amazing you appreciated our spacious and comfortable accommodations. We endeavor to ensure our guests have a memorable and relaxing experience. We can't wait to host you again soon for another splendid experience! Have a fantastic day!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
WestCoastRestless wrote a review Feb 2021
Central Oregon, Oregon
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I had a one bedroom suite for two nights, and I liked having the extra space. The unit was clean and the little kitchen was nice (no oven, but a cooktop, full size fridge and microwave). A few things, however, got under my skin. 1) parking is $40/night, so although the rates were good, take that into consideration 2) one of the elevators was out, and due to covid restrictions and allowable people in the elevator, it meant a line formed for the elevator at times, lasting up to 10 minutes or so 3) the grab and go breakfast only consisted of granola bars, bananas, apples and yogurt, with bottled water. no coffee or single-wrapped pastries or bagels. 4) a couple of the breakers were thrown in my room meaning i had to figure out to turn on the electricity for the coffee pot and microwave (trying to save power?). and 5) the remote in for the bedroom tv didn't work and it seemed like half the channels weren't working.

The building is right next to construction as well, so ask for a room not overlooking the construction. It's along the river, though, so you can walk down to the river path very easy (less than 2 min). Very centrally located to downtown Portland and the Pearl District is about about 1 mile down the street.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from LindseyFickenGM, General Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown Riverplace
Responded Feb 28, 2021
We appreciate your feedback. It's unfortunate you had such challenges during your time with us. We're disheartened that our amenities and services offered weren't up to par with your expectations. We hold ourselves to a higher standard so we'll discuss your concerns with the appropriate members of our team moving forward. We hope for the chance to host you again soon for a more positive experience.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
TiffanyB wrote a review Apr 2020
Tacoma, Washington
5.0 of 5 bubbles
❤️❤️ THANK YOU SO MUCH FRONTLINERs of Residence Inn by Marriott Portland Downtown Riverplace Thank you so much for you guys generosity, hospitality and providing an amazing service day and night. Ashley Hood thank you for your personal touches with me from the beginning, Jesse appreciate you keeping the hotel up at night and Ryan thank you for being a bright person that you are in the morning.
And for the room service staff who delivers the fresh sets of sheets and towels daily and takes the trash out. Thank you for you guys work. Keep safe and healthy. Till I see you guys again! ❤️❤️
Read more
Date of stay: April 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from LindseyFickenGM, General Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown Riverplace
Responded Jun 3, 2020
Thank you for the outstanding review, Tiffany! We're delighted your experience at Residence Inn by Marriott Portland Downtown/RiverPlace was so wonderful! We strive to make all of our guests feel welcome and relaxed during their time with us. It's fantastic our team could accommodate your needs and assist you in any way possible. We aim to please and your praise lets us know we're doing our job! We look forward to sharing another amazing experience with you soon! Have a lovely day!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Josh M wrote a review Aug 2021
San Jose, California
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Hotel is spacious and modern, but the $39 parking is s ripoff, esp when the only breakfast is granola bars and some fruit as others have said. But wait... HERE is the deal: on-street parking is FREE from 7pm to 8am !!! There is a lot of parking within 2 min walk! So if you are out all day, just park on the street. The next day, put $2 in the meter at 8am and that is good until 10am ( you should get out and sight-see before that, right? ). So, avoid the hotel fee until they bring it down to $15 which would be reasonable.

PS: Gym and pool were closed as of Aug 2, 2021.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from LindseyFickenGM, General Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown Riverplace
Responded Aug 8, 2021
We appreciate the feedback, JMado. We're happy you had a pleasant stay with us and enjoyed our modern accommodations and amenities. However, we're disappointed that your stay with us was less than ideal. We regret that our parking services and breakfast accommodations didn't meet your expectations. We'll address your concerns with our team moving forward. We look forward to hosting you again soon for a more positive experience.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Wyllace Y wrote a review Mar 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent 2 bedroom family suite!! Excellent room service for replacing towels and requesting additional blankets as needed!! Location to and from Oregon Conventional Center great..!! NOTE: On early morning of 02/29/2020 we required assistance for dead car battery. Staff Rep Mateo IMMEDIATELY called maintenance support for battery charging and ensured us if they could not get vehicle started, he would call for immediate transportation support!! The maintenance workers responded quickly and remained with us until the vehicle battery was charged. NO DELAYS attending a very important event at the Oregon Convention Ctr!! My family and I appreciate Rep Mateo, additional staff and maintenance workers for their expedient in meeting our needs..!!

Mahalo nui loa...!!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Main bathroom light fixture could use brighter bulb in shower area.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from LindseyFickenGM, General Manager at Residence Inn Portland Downtown Riverplace
Responded Mar 4, 2020
Thanks for the splendid review! It's fantastic you had such an excellent experience at Residence Inn by Marriott Portland Downtown/RiverPlace and that our team took such great care of you. We want you to feel right at home as soon as you walk through our doors! Our team will love to hear they made such a wonderful impression on you in your time of need. We look forward to hosting you again soon so we can share another amazing experience with you. Have a beautiful day!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from Josh H
Hello, Yes sir...we do use the large refillable amenity bottles. In fact, Marriott recently announced that all Marriott hotels will be going to the large bottles within a year or so...for environmental reasons.
Answer from Kim O
Portland, Oregon
Hello and thanks for reaching out! Yes the stoves are electric (not gas) and they are typical in size. We do not have 8 qt pots in stock but if there is something you need during your stay, just let us know in advance! Looking forward to your visit - Kim Ortiz, General Manager
Shilpa S asked a question Oct 2017
Renton, Washington1 contribution
Is there a parking fee?
Answer from Metsfan52
DeWitt, New York46 contributions29 helpful votes
Likely but I can't say for sure. We didn't have a car because our daughter lives in the city and we used hers.
Answer from Kim O
Portland, Oregon
Good afternoon - We do not offer The Mix at this location but we have a full service bar called PressPDX that is available 7 days a week from 4pm-11am daily.
Hung N wrote a tip Nov 2023
San Jose, California172 contributions92 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"If you are high member of Marriott, don't stay here."
Read full review
steely_greg wrote a tip Dec 2022
Forest Grove, Oregon61 contributions16 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Parking here is expensive. Public transit is close by."
Read full review
Taz001_11 wrote a tip Mar 2022
Seattle, Washington32 contributions21 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Even the rooms facing the river have the mass of freeway bisecting the view."
Read full review
Gunilla F wrote a tip Aug 2020
Seattle, Washington37 contributions25 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ask for a room as far away as possible from the I5 freeway...."
Read full review
Nikki B wrote a tip Jun 2020
Walnut Creek, California47 contributions56 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"It’s right next to the streetcar line so ask for a room on the other side facing the waterfront"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Portland area.
PRICE RANGE
C$203 - C$249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
residence inn portland downtown / riverplace hotel portland, portland residence inn
LOCATION
United StatesOregonPortlandDowntown
NUMBER OF ROOMS
258
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Residence Inn Portland Downtown Riverplace - UPDATED Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Residence Inn Portland Downtown Riverplace
Which popular attractions are close to Residence Inn Portland Downtown Riverplace?
Nearby attractions include PSU Farmers Market (1.1 km), Tilikum Crossing (0.09 km), and Oregon Museum of Science and Industry (0.6 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Residence Inn Portland Downtown Riverplace?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a fitness centre.
Which room amenities are available at Residence Inn Portland Downtown Riverplace?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Residence Inn Portland Downtown Riverplace?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Residence Inn Portland Downtown Riverplace?
Yes, a parking garage and paid private parking on-site are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Residence Inn Portland Downtown Riverplace?
Conveniently located restaurants include Q Restaurant & Bar, Higgins Restaurant and Bar, and Luc Lac Vietnamese Kitchen.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Residence Inn Portland Downtown Riverplace?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Residence Inn Portland Downtown Riverplace?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Residence Inn Portland Downtown Riverplace?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Residence Inn Portland Downtown Riverplace offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
All Portland HotelsPortland Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in PortlandHotels near Residence Inn Portland Downtown Riverplace
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars