We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Downtown Value Inn

Hostelworld.comUS$68*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$127*
US$68*
Great Deal
US$110*
US$127*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Downtown Value Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

103 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 93: English reviews
Start your review of Downtown Value Inn
 Click to rate
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Nothing fancy but really clean and decent sized rooms. Feels a bit like dorm accommodation. Is right at the bottom of the downtown area but Portland is so infinitely walkable so you'll easily be able to get to a lot of the city on foot, plus it's quiet at night. Nice and safe too with a lot of students in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Travels_Of_Nat
PdxValueInns, Guest Relations Manager at Downtown Value Inn, responded to this review

Dear Travels_Of_Nat, Thank you for taking the time to share about your experience at Downtown Value Inn. We were glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay finding our hotel conveniently located, our rooms "clean," and our staff "nice." We hope you enjoyed your time in Portland and that your travels bring you this way again soon! Cheers, -Guest Relations

Dallas, Texas
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I made a reservation for 3 guests for 3 nights. The room was ok. There were 2 beds in a very small room. There were only 2 towels and one bar of soap and shampoo. Anything we needed we had to go to the front desk to ask for it. I asked for a towel and the owner seemed reluctant,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christina N
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 22 March 2017

I booked this place online. However, when I arrived, they checked my ID and they refused me that because I was over 30 yo.... I have been travelling so many times, but it was the first experience to be denied just because of the age. They should have clearly said it before hand... otherwise, so many people will have problem...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank hirohosono
PdxValueInns, Guest Relations Manager at Downtown Value Inn, responded to this review

Dear hirohosono, Thank you for taking the time to share about your experience at Downtown Value Inn. We're disappointed to hear that you had issues with your reservation and that it wasn't clear enough that the dorm room has an age limit. It is marked online but regardless we apologize for any inconvenience. We hope you'll try us again the...

mt. vernon.or
Reviewed 15 February 2017

A 5 for the price and location. The Laughing Planet has good food and brew. Portlandia the statue from the movie is on 5th street. The Morrison Bridge I found out gets to the freeways. The Portland State University is across the street. Lots of Star Bucks , beer and pizza.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank vld
PdxValueInns, Guest Relations Manager at Downtown Value Inn, responded to this review

Dear vld, Thank you for taking the time to share about your experience at Downtown Value Inn. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay finding our prices affordable, our location convenient and our local restaurants and breweries excellent. We hope that your time in Portland and hope that your travels bring you this way again soon. Cheers, -Guest...

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 11 January 2017

My wife and I had to sleep in our long underwear with toques on our heads it was so cold in that hotel room. The 'heat' was from an old A/C unit in the window that didn't throw any heat. It did throw a lot noise though as it might as well have been diesel powered it was so loud...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank guyr0cks
PdxValueInns, Guest Relations Manager at Downtown Value Inn, responded to this review

Dear guyr0cks, Thank you for taking the time to share about the experience you had at Downtown Value Inn. We were disappointed to hear that you had issues with the Wi-Fi and heater during your stay and apologize for the inconvenience. We have altered our management to the issues that you have raised and make sure future guests don't share...

Barcelona, Spain
Reviewed 28 December 2016 via mobile

Good place to stay one night. The room was huge also the bathroom. When I got there it was very cold but the heating worked well. Nice tv, plugs to charge the phone close to the bed. And free parking. No wifi

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carla1100
PdxValueInns, Guest Relations Manager at Downtown Value Inn, responded to this review

Dear Carla1100, Thank you for taking the time to share about the experience you had at Downtown Value Inn. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel in downtown Portland. We were disappointed to hear that you had issues with the Wi-Fi as it is available for guests throughout the hotel and is free of charge....

Reviewed 17 December 2016 via mobile

I stayed here due to late arrival in Portland. Stay clear of this place. Overpriced, rude staff, it ruined my power converter, and being 30yo and 2 months is considered security risk to dorms. Staff were rude and parking not secure - when I was leaving the Police were there because a car was broken into.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sean D
PdxValueInns, Guest Relations Manager at Downtown Value Inn, responded to this review

Dear Sean D, Thank you for taking time to share about your experience at Downtown Value Inn. We were disappointed to hear that you were unhappy with your stay and we appreciate you altering us to the issues you raised. Our management has been notified and has addressed the above issues. Regarding the dorm rooms policy for the our dorm...

Cypress, Texas
Reviewed 27 November 2016

I'm very conflicted about this review, as we had two very different experiences despite booking the exact same room a couple days apart. The first night was not impressive. The bathroom was tiny and not the most clean. The shower head was too low for my 6'1" boyfriend to fit under. It was a small room. All in all though,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen D
PdxValueInns, Guest Relations Manager at Downtown Value Inn, responded to this review

Dear Kathleen D, Thank you for taking the time to share about your experience at Downtown Value Inn. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us finding our hotel conveniently located, our staff "friendly" and our prices affordable. We apologize that your first room wasn't to your liking but glad we were able to accommodate you on...

Bradford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 November 2016

Great location and cheaper than anything you will find in downtown Portland. Parking for the car(even though we were told we were lucky to get a spot) and not far from the main shopping strip and food carts. Didn't spend to much time in the room but it was clean and everything worked.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karl P
PdxValueInns, Guest Relations Manager at Downtown Value Inn, responded to this review

Dear Karl P, Thank you for taking the time to share about your experience at Downtown Value Inn. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us finding our hotel conveniently located and clean. We hope that you also enjoyed Portland and had time to see the sites. Looking forward to your return visit! Cheers, -Guest Relations

Belo Horizonte, MG
Reviewed 27 October 2016

I was in Portland to attend to a Conference, held in another hotel. The problem is that the conference hotel was quite expensive. So, I searched for a cost-effective price. This is the best definition for Downtown Value Inn. The only problem I faced is that I had my foot broken one week before, and the hotel has no elevator....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank igoramariz
PdxValueInns, Guest Relations Manager at Downtown Value Inn, responded to this review

Dear igoramariz, Thank you for sharing about your experience at Downtown Value Inn. We're glad to hear that you found us conveniently located, our prices affordable and our staff friendly. We hope that your foot heals up soon! We hope your travels bring you back this way again soon. Cheers, -Guest Relations

39 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
University Place Hotel and Conference Center
Park Lane Suites & Inn
#49 of 140 in Portland
699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hyatt House Portland / Downtown
Downtown
Courtyard Portland City Center
Downtown
Hotel Modera
Hotel Modera
#27 of 140 in Portland
1,900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Downtown Value Inn

Address: 415 SW Montgomery Street, Portland, OR 97201
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Price Range: $115 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Downtown Value Inn 1.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Downtown Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Downtown Value Hotel Portland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Downtown Value Inn staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Downtown Value Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The right side of the hotel may be better. 40's and up.”
ChristinaN384, 1 May 2017 | Read review
“Stay away from them and get somewhere else...it is the best way!”
hirohosono, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“# 34 was our room and the owner had just painted and remodeled the bathroom.”
vld, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Get a room not on the main road as the trams are go right pass the front and start at around 5.30AM”
817karlp, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Make sure you can park on-location,”
883luisj, 13 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Hostelworld.com
US$68* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUS$110
Booking.comUS$127
TravelocityUS$110
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates