We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Downtown Value Inn

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Downtown Value Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

99 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 90: English reviews
Start your review of Downtown Value Inn
 Click to rate
mt. vernon.or
Reviewed 1 week ago

A 5 for the price and location. The Laughing Planet has good food and brew. Portlandia the statue from the movie is on 5th street. The Morrison Bridge I found out gets to the freeways. The Portland State University is across the street. Lots of Star Bucks , beer and pizza.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank vld
PdxValueInns, Guest Relations Manager at Downtown Value Inn, responded to this review

Dear vld, Thank you for taking the time to share about your experience at Downtown Value Inn. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay finding our prices affordable, our location convenient and our local restaurants and breweries excellent. We hope that your time in Portland and hope that your travels bring you this way again soon. Cheers, -Guest...

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 11 January 2017

My wife and I had to sleep in our long underwear with toques on our heads it was so cold in that hotel room. The 'heat' was from an old A/C unit in the window that didn't throw any heat. It did throw a lot noise though as it might as well have been diesel powered it was so loud...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank guyr0cks
PdxValueInns, Guest Relations Manager at Downtown Value Inn, responded to this review

Dear guyr0cks, Thank you for taking the time to share about the experience you had at Downtown Value Inn. We were disappointed to hear that you had issues with the Wi-Fi and heater during your stay and apologize for the inconvenience. We have altered our management to the issues that you have raised and make sure future guests don't share...

Barcelona, Spain
Reviewed 28 December 2016 via mobile

Good place to stay one night. The room was huge also the bathroom. When I got there it was very cold but the heating worked well. Nice tv, plugs to charge the phone close to the bed. And free parking. No wifi

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carla1100
PdxValueInns, Guest Relations Manager at Downtown Value Inn, responded to this review

Dear Carla1100, Thank you for taking the time to share about the experience you had at Downtown Value Inn. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel in downtown Portland. We were disappointed to hear that you had issues with the Wi-Fi as it is available for guests throughout the hotel and is free of charge....

Reviewed 17 December 2016 via mobile

I stayed here due to late arrival in Portland. Stay clear of this place. Overpriced, rude staff, it ruined my power converter, and being 30yo and 2 months is considered security risk to dorms. Staff were rude and parking not secure - when I was leaving the Police were there because a car was broken into.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sean D
PdxValueInns, Guest Relations Manager at Downtown Value Inn, responded to this review

Dear Sean D, Thank you for taking time to share about your experience at Downtown Value Inn. We were disappointed to hear that you were unhappy with your stay and we appreciate you altering us to the issues you raised. Our management has been notified and has addressed the above issues. Regarding the dorm rooms policy for the our dorm...

Cypress, Texas
Reviewed 27 November 2016

I'm very conflicted about this review, as we had two very different experiences despite booking the exact same room a couple days apart. The first night was not impressive. The bathroom was tiny and not the most clean. The shower head was too low for my 6'1" boyfriend to fit under. It was a small room. All in all though,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen D
PdxValueInns, Guest Relations Manager at Downtown Value Inn, responded to this review

Dear Kathleen D, Thank you for taking the time to share about your experience at Downtown Value Inn. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us finding our hotel conveniently located, our staff "friendly" and our prices affordable. We apologize that your first room wasn't to your liking but glad we were able to accommodate you on...

Bradford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 November 2016

Great location and cheaper than anything you will find in downtown Portland. Parking for the car(even though we were told we were lucky to get a spot) and not far from the main shopping strip and food carts. Didn't spend to much time in the room but it was clean and everything worked.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karl P
PdxValueInns, Guest Relations Manager at Downtown Value Inn, responded to this review

Dear Karl P, Thank you for taking the time to share about your experience at Downtown Value Inn. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us finding our hotel conveniently located and clean. We hope that you also enjoyed Portland and had time to see the sites. Looking forward to your return visit! Cheers, -Guest Relations

Belo Horizonte, MG
Reviewed 27 October 2016

I was in Portland to attend to a Conference, held in another hotel. The problem is that the conference hotel was quite expensive. So, I searched for a cost-effective price. This is the best definition for Downtown Value Inn. The only problem I faced is that I had my foot broken one week before, and the hotel has no elevator....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank igoramariz
PdxValueInns, Guest Relations Manager at Downtown Value Inn, responded to this review

Dear igoramariz, Thank you for sharing about your experience at Downtown Value Inn. We're glad to hear that you found us conveniently located, our prices affordable and our staff friendly. We hope that your foot heals up soon! We hope your travels bring you back this way again soon. Cheers, -Guest Relations

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 19 October 2016 via mobile

For the price this is an excellent choice. Great location, room, shower and bed. Also includes free parking which is a winner! Some reviews say service was bad, we didn't experience that. They were really nice. Ps Portland is amazing.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
PdxValueInns, Guest Relations Manager at Downtown Value Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share about the experience you had at Downtown Value Inn. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us finding our hotel to be in a "great location" for your trip. We're glad to hear that you found our city "amazing" and hope that your travels bring you back...

Llanrug, Wales, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 October 2016

Stayed here for three nights, and we found that the hotel was in a really good location, walkable and many street carts station all around to get around very cheap. There was a little bit of a noise happening outside late at night from the pub, but didn't bother us that much, but for those who are light sleepers may...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie G
PdxValueInns, Guest Relations Manager at Downtown Value Inn, responded to this review

Dear Stephanie G, Thank you for taking the time to share about your experience at Downtown Value Inn. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us finding our hotel conveniently located for your trip to Portland. Yes, being downtown at night there are various noises that tend to be happening for the city but we hope you...

Royal Oak, Michigan
Reviewed 2 October 2016 via mobile

We wanted to stay in downtown Portland but didn't want to spend a ton of money. The Downtown Value Inn was perfect. It was right near the University of Portland with easy access to public transportation and the main tourist areas. The front desk was helpful and pointed out all the places we'd be interested in seeing. The best part...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FionaBell
PdxValueInns, Guest Relations Manager at Downtown Value Inn, responded to this review

Dear FionaBell, Thank you for taking the time to share about your experience at Downtown Value Inn. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us finding our hotel the "perfect location", our staff helpful and our prices affordable. We hope that you enjoyed Portland and that your travels bring you back this way. Thank you for the...

39 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
University Place Hotel and Conference Center
Park Lane Suites & Inn
#48 of 138 in Portland
682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hyatt House Portland / Downtown
Downtown
Hotel Modera
Hotel Modera
#25 of 138 in Portland
1,831 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard Portland City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Downtown Value Inn

Address: 415 SW Montgomery Street, Portland, OR 97201
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Price Range: $99 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Downtown Value Inn 1.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Downtown Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Downtown Value Hotel Portland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Downtown Value Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“# 34 was our room and the owner had just painted and remodeled the bathroom.”
 of 5 bubbles vld, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Get a room not on the main road as the trams are go right pass the front and start at around 5.30AM”
 of 5 bubbles 817karlp, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Make sure you can park on-location,”
 of 5 bubbles 883luisj, 13 Sep 2016 | Read review
“if you have to stay here, be sure to ask for a room away from the street and trains/street cars”
 of 5 bubbles jessmxoxo, 8 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Conveniently close to Portland's downtown core.”
 of 5 bubbles jd307, 22 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5