We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Downtown Value Inn

Hostelworld.comUS$68*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Downtown Value Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

103 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Downtown Value Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 93: English reviews
Tasmania
Reviewed 25 August 2014

I stayed 4 nights here after being underwhelmed by Portland's Airbnb options and it ticked all the boxes for a motel of this quality. The place is clean. Good location - trams and buses often leave just near and it's not too far to walk into the pioneer square area. Comfy bed, quiet at night, air con, good quality wifi....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank musquit0
Eagle River, Alaska
Reviewed 11 July 2014

After booking a room for a four day weekend in Portland, I arrived and they had canceled my reservation. Trying to say that I canceled the reservation (which I definitely did not) they were extremely rude. Probably for the best as the lobby had a stench and was certainly not clean. Never ever.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank AKBurdy
PdxValueInns, Guest Relations Manager at Downtown Value Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion here on TripAdvisor. We were sorry to hear that you had a disappointing experience at our establishment. We would very much appreciate the chance to talk with you in more detail about your visit. We can be contacted at guestrelations@downtownvalueinn.com. We hope to hear from you soon.

Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewed 22 June 2014

The staff is rude here. They are just unhappy people. The Indian male in his 30's who is at the front desk most of the time better be glad his parents or grandparents own the place (I"m just assuming this) because he would have a hard time keeping a job at starbucks or anywhere there are customers. The location is...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Bill B
PdxValueInns, Guest Relations Manager at Downtown Value Inn, responded to this review

We appreciate hearing from you about your stay with us at the Downtown Value Inn. Feedback from our guests, both positive and negative, is an important tool for us to improve our hospitality in every way we can. We apologize that the service you received was unsatisfactory. Discourtesy is unprofessional and unacceptable. We were happy to hear that you were...

Seattle, Washington
Reviewed 26 May 2014

This is the second time I have stayed here and it is exactly what I expected- It allowed me somewhere to sleep and take breaks in between exploring Portland. The negative reviews are pretty absurd. It's an incredibly cheap hotel. If you go in expecting anything more than a solid bed and a base camp for your vacation, you're sorely...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank RLowry23
PdxValueInns, Guest Relations Manager at Downtown Value Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! We were very pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. If there are things that you think we could be doing different or doing better we would like to hear about it. We can be reached at guestrelations@downtownvaluinn.com. We hope that we will be your first choice in accommodations when you have...

Reviewed 18 February 2014

I just stayed here for a night because I was visiting a friend the next day, so I was looking for a place to get a few hours of sleep and a shower before she got in from the airport (I wasn't even there 8 hours). I have traveled a lot, and am usually not too picky about where I...

 Report
Helpful?
8Thank bm2772
PdxValueInns, Guest Relations Manager at Downtown Value Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for posting your review here on TripAdvisor. The opinions of our guests are very important to us. We were disappointed to hear about the troubles you encountered during your stay with us. We apologize that you had such a long wait to check in, and that the facilities did not meet your expectations. Especially things as fundamental as...

Victoria, British Columbia
Reviewed 30 December 2013

e wanted to stay for cheap in downtown Portland, and this place fit the price tag. I would recommend something else if you can afford it. The water in the shower had no pressure. We got a room that stunk of smoke on arrival (asked for non smoking), the heater in the room was so loud we could not sleep,...

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
 Report
Helpful?
5Thank M P
Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 22 December 2013

WORST motel I have ever stayed at!!!!! Please do not stay here! The staff is beyond RUDE and extremely UNPROFESSIONAL. They do not understand the concept of customer service. We were visiting Portland for the holidays and a good friend picked us up from the airport and brought us to the motel. The hotel desk clerk basically freaked out and...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank StaraShakti
Portland, Oregon
Reviewed 22 December 2013

I have travelled to over 20 countries and have had a variety of lodging options from couch surfing and hostels to very exclusive hotels. This motel is the worst place I've have ever stayed. To say the staff is rude is an understatement. When our friend dropped us off at the motel, he hung out in our room for 30-40...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Ashley O
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed 7 November 2013 via mobile

Those who book a place called "Value Inn" shouldn't expect luxury. I stayed here one night to save money (and then a nicer place afterward). It fit the need for a place to sleep, and I'm a pretty easygoing traveler. It's basically a motor inn/motel. It looks dated inside and out, but my bathroom was partly updated with a nice...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank WavesJ-PA
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 September 2013

When I booked this hostel about a month before my stay, it was under a different name, so it took us some time to actually locate it when I arrived in Portland. We were very unimpressed from the moment we walked in the door. The man at the desk was rude, impolite, and has absolutely no idea of customer service,...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank naomimarcus

39 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
University Place Hotel and Conference Center
Park Lane Suites & Inn
#49 of 140 in Portland
699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hyatt House Portland / Downtown
Downtown
Courtyard Portland City Center
Downtown
Hotel Modera
Hotel Modera
#27 of 140 in Portland
1,900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Downtown Value Inn

Address: 415 SW Montgomery Street, Portland, OR 97201
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Price Range: $115 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Downtown Value Inn 1.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Ctrip TA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Downtown Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Downtown Value Hotel Portland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Downtown Value Inn staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Downtown Value Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The right side of the hotel may be better. 40's and up.”
ChristinaN384, 1 May 2017 | Read review
“Stay away from them and get somewhere else...it is the best way!”
hirohosono, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“# 34 was our room and the owner had just painted and remodeled the bathroom.”
vld, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Get a room not on the main road as the trams are go right pass the front and start at around 5.30AM”
817karlp, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Make sure you can park on-location,”
883luisj, 13 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Hostelworld.com
US$68* /night
View Deal
PricelineUS$127
Expedia.comUS$110
Booking.comUS$127
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates