We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Shilo Inn & Suites - The Dalles

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Shilo Inn & Suites - The Dalles
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

273 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Shilo Inn & Suites - The Dalles
See the most recent reviews
Showing 270: English reviews
Yakima, Washington
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

This hotel is way overpriced. It took us a half hour just to get checked in. This hotel has not had any remodels or updates since the 70's (maybe that is when it was built) decor is discussting. The rooms are no smoking but smell like smoke and sweat. The beds are uncomfortable and the pillows are lumpy. They offer... More 

Helpful?
Thank Todd L
ShiloHotels, Manager at Shilo Inn & Suites - The Dalles, responded to this review

Dear Todd L, Thank you for your review. I sincerely apologize that your stay was not satisfactory. I do hope that you will give us another opportunity to regain your confidence. Sincerely, H. Baker- General Manager More 

Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
178 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

The Shilo scheme was actually pretty clever. Even though we disagreed with the CEO's politics his empire of hotels throughout the west were predictable and a pretty good value. Alas it collapsed a number of years ago and the remaining properties--like this one--show the cost of an expense cutting, penny pinching CFO. To start we were given a room that... More 

Helpful?
Thank JA R
ShiloHotels, Manager at Shilo Inn & Suites - The Dalles, responded to this review

Dear JAR, Thank you for your review. I sincerely apologize that your experience was less than satisfactory. We hope to have a future opportunity to earn your confidence. Thank you, H. Baker General Manager More 

Bradenton
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

The pool was perfect temperature. The room was clean, smell-free. Bed was comfortable. Check in experience went smoothly. Paula at the front desk was friendly and helpful with suggestions for area activities. Highly recommended.

Helpful?
1 Thank Paul D
ShiloHotels, Manager at Shilo Inn & Suites - The Dalles, responded to this review

Dear Paul D, Thank you for your review. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for being a valued Shilo guest and we look forward to welcoming you in the future. Thank you, H. Baker General Manager More 

Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

This is by far one of the worst hotels that I've stayed at by far! Called in advance to see how much the rooms were, was told $149 and since it was going to be so late that they would charge me $119. I asked about there room rates for military and they told me $92 plus tax thought ok... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kevin C

Travellers are raving about these The Dalles hotels

Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

Very disappointed ! My birthday weekend was suboptimal and the management did nothing but make excuses and push the blame on semantics ! Don't let the waterfront property mislead you. I booked through booking.com. and got a great view of the parking lot. Very out of character for Shilo :(

Helpful?
Thank LaReina S
ShiloHotels, Manager at Shilo Inn & Suites - The Dalles, responded to this review

Dear LaReina S, Thank you for your recent stay with us here and I do apologize that your birthday weekend didn’t go as planned. We do offer rooms with views of the outdoor pool area and Dam however we didn’t have those available for an upgrade when you arrived. Had those room types been available we would have gladly provided... More 

Boise, ID
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

This property is really down at the heels and in bad repair (and not just cosmetics/style). It is also grimy--in our room there was a blob of toothpaste on the faucet, holes in both the blanket and the bedspread, and something sticky on the rod you pull to open and close the curtains. The room was so grungy I literally... More 

Helpful?
Thank SamiMack
ShiloHotels, Manager at Shilo Inn & Suites - The Dalles, responded to this review

Dear SamiMack, Thank you for your review and for being a valued Shilo guest. I sincerely apologize that your stay did not meet your expectations. Your comments will be used to make improvements. I sincerely hope you will give us a future opportunity to earn your confidence. Thank you, Heather Baker General Manager More 

1 review
Reviewed 28 July 2014

My first complaint is that I had sent an email to the hotel when I made the reservation mentioning that my colleague has feather allergies and requested foam pillows, non-feather bedding, etc and that if this could not be accommodated to let us know. No one ever responded and upon check in the agent at the desk smiled when asking... More 

Helpful?
Thank JGPDX5535
ShiloHotels, Manager at Shilo Inn & Suites - The Dalles, responded to this review

Dear JGPDX5535, Thank you for your recent comment on your stay with us here at The Dalles Shilo Inn. I sincerely apologize that your stay did not meet your expectations. Your comments will be reviewed with the team and corrective action will be taken immediately. Thank you, Heather Baker General Manger More 

Fort Saskatchewan, Canada
Level Contributor
69 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Room was ok, clean but could use an update. There is a weird odor throughout the place I think it's a mixture of Cajun food and must. The location is nice as is the view but I can't say I would stay there again.

Helpful?
1 Thank Schrodes
ShiloHotels, Manager at Shilo Inn & Suites - The Dalles, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and for being a valued Shilo guest. Sincerely, H. Baker-General Manager More 

2 reviews
Reviewed 23 July 2014

This hotel was, in a word, STRANGE! Everything about it -- exterior and interior -- was extremely dated. The free breakfast was horrible, right down to the coffee. And though I'm from Seattle, I'm the farthest thing from a coffee snob. The service for breakfast was at least as bad as the food. The server was nice but, again, STRANGE!... More 

Helpful?
Thank Djhfishfinder
ShiloHotels, Manager at Shilo Inn & Suites - The Dalles, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and for being a valued Shilo guest. Please be assured that I will speak to the restaurant owners in regards to your comments and concerns of the restaurant staff. Thank you for being a valued Shilo guest and do hope to welcome in the future. Thank you, Heather Baker General Manager Shilo Inns More 

Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

clean rooms, nice view, pleasant staff the dining room needs improvement but there are many restaurants close by.The free breakfast is not very appealing and the coffee cup, silverware and the oval bowl the biscuits came in were dirty The pool is nice and clean and water is warm. Beautiful view of the river

Helpful?
Thank dragonlady529
ShiloHotels, Manager at Shilo Inn & Suites - The Dalles, responded to this review

Dear Dragonlady529, Thank you for your review. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and I will be sure to inform the restaurant owners about your restaurant comments. Thank you for being a valued Shilo guest. Thank you, Heather Baker-General Manager More 

34 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (24)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near The Dalles
0.4 km away
Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge
Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge
#5 of 9 in The Dalles
218 reviews
5.8 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites The Dalles
3.8 km away
The Dalles Inn
The Dalles Inn
#4 of 9 in The Dalles
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.6 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hood River Inn
31.4 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hood River
0.5 km away
Celilo Inn
Celilo Inn
#2 of 9 in The Dalles
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Business Centre with Internet Access

Additional Information about Shilo Inn & Suites - The Dalles

Address: 3223 Bret Clodfelter Way, The Dalles, OR 97058
Region: United States > Oregon > The Dalles
Price Range: $123 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Shilo Inn & Suites - The Dalles 2.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Shilo Inn & Suites - The Dalles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shilo Inn The Dalles Hotel The Dalles
The Dalles Shilo Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Shilo Inn & Suites - The Dalles staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room facing the river.”
 of 5 bubbles PatandDiSpokane, 28 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Go elsewhere for a good bed and good food.”
 of 5 bubbles PhyllisN295, 20 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Don't worry about the room...the cajun chicken is AWESOME”
 of 5 bubbles Tentup, 10 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Rooms with Carrier AC work better. Best microwave I have seen so far. TV is old type, not flat screen in Building B”
 of 5 bubbles V5053OSjohnd, 8 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Park away from the landscaping to avoid white water marks on your car from the sprinkler system.”
 of 5 bubbles 761shellys, 26 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay