We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Anthracite

Save
Share
25 S Main St, Carbondale, PA 18407-2328
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
US$134
View deal
Free cancellation until 21-09-29
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Booking.comUS$134
Priceline
eDreamsUS$134
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (21)
Room & Suite (15)
Dining (4)
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 20-09-29 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Hotel Anthracite
Updated 20-09-29 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Discover Hotel Anthracite conveniently located just off the Casey Highway in the heart of downtown Carbondale. Placed in the pristine northern end of the Lackawanna Valley in the Pocono Mountains, and the southern tip of the historic and beautiful Endless Mountains, this hotel in Carbondale is close to a variety of exciting activities, including being just minutes from Elk Mountain.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycles available
Golf course
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Centre with Internet Access
Car park
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast in the room
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Vending machine
Hiking
Skiing
Aerobics offsite
Canoeing offsite
Fishing
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Bottled water
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located

Location

Full view
52Somewhat walkable
Grade: 52 out of 100
25Restaurantswithin 1 km
1Attractionwithin 1 km
324Reviews5Q+A35Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 204
  • 81
  • 23
  • 7
  • 9
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
cyren wrote a review Feb. 2021
New York, United States86 contributions18 helpful votes
I'm not sure what happened to proper management. I tend to hear the phrase, "I'm sorry", way to much here. I'm not sure how this hotel is a resort -- far from it -- but you won't find anything nicer in the town. With Covid, there really is no breakfast, and the restaurant is only open a couple days of the week -- it's not excellent by any means. I've stayed here at least 5 times in the past few months. One time I'll get a good room and have a good experience. The next time, I'll have the stompers above me, noisy street or placed near a courtyard where smokers are. Mind you -- the windows don't open. One I was given a room that clearly smelled like smoke and a dinging chime. The next room smelled a like pot smoking near the desk. My current room is missing the microwave and has a broken desk chair. I just can't do this again -- stomping above and running kids in the halls. I can hear the neighbors talking in the bathroom. Shame. Nice sized rooms and comfy beds. Jaded experience.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from Sarah O'Fee, Marketing at Hotel Anthracite
Responded Feb. 23, 2021
Dear Cheryl, We’re sorry to hear you were unhappy with your recent stay at Hotel Anthracite. We appreciate the feedback and sincerely apologize for any inconveniences you experienced. We do strive to provide an exemplary stay to every guest, every time. We’re sorry we fell short. Your concerns are important to us and we will certainly share them with our staff so they may be rectified in the future. Hotel Anthracite is a modern boutique hotel in downtown Carbondale. While we do provide several upscale amenities, the hotel is not a resort. As you said, due to ongoing COVID-19 restrictions we are not allowed to offer our standard expanded complimentary continental breakfast. Although we do provide guests with an alternative. If you would like to discuss anything further, please feel free to reach out to our manager, Chad, directly at CCoble@settlershospitality.com
Read more
WAYNPEA wrote a review Sep. 2020
Spring Grove, Pennsylvania19 contributions2 helpful votes
When arrived in the evening there was no one at the front desk or lobby. Stood there for and walked around trying to find someone. The person for the front desk finally made their way to the lobby for the restaurant. The person did not represent a good start with their appearance. Got our room keys and the person never offered us any information about the place, or breakfast or anything. Went up to our rooms for we were all tired. When getting our showers, the drain the tub did not hardly work at all. The water us up to my ankles by the time I got done. Had to mess around with the drain to get the water out so my wife could get her shower. The water was not very hot either. The room was clean though and the bed was nice. Did like the garage parking also.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Sarah O'Fee, Marketing at Hotel Anthracite
Responded Sep. 21, 2020
Dear WAYNPEA, Thank you for choosing Hotel Anthracite for your family birthday getaway. We’re delighted you made us part of your celebrations. We appreciate your feedback about check-in and the maintenance issue. We’ll be sure to relay your concerns with our staff. Be assured your experiences are not the norm, and we apologize for any inconveniences. We hope to see you again in Carbondale.
Read more
Charles B wrote a review May 2020
West Pittston, Pennsylvania68 contributions17 helpful votes
Be very careful if you make a reservation or plan an event at any of the properties managed by this company (Settlers Hospitality Group). We canceled an event in April due to the COVID 19 pandemic that was s supposed to take place in September and were told our 1000$ deposit would be returned. 3 weeks later.... no refund, so we call and are told by the manager that we are not being refunded because the CEO changed his mind. I asked to be contacted by him and I get no response. I hope they feel good about keeping my money
Read more
Date of stay: May 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
5 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Sarah O'Fee, Marketing at Hotel Anthracite
Responded Jun. 30, 2020
Dear U5896UPcharlesb, We're disappointed to read this review of Hotel Anthracite. We understand cancellations during this time. We would like to know more about your experience, if you could please email the manager Chris at CSimpler@settlershospitality.com. We hope to win back your business in the future.
Read more
Journeyafar9 wrote a review Apr. 2020
1 contribution1 helpful vote
OMG! Total scam hotel! I was charged a smoking in the room fee and I DONT SMOKE. When confronted they called me a liar!! Then I was told I was in a room with 3 guys! Not true! Then I was told oh you didn't smoke..you threw up on the bed! NOT TRUE!!!! They were so rude and unprofessional the "manager" should be fired!! Now I am going to fight them to get the charges back. DO NOT STAY HERE THEY ARE OBVIOUSLY TRYING TO MAKE MONEY BY SCAMMING PEOPLE!!!!!!!!!!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Sarah O'Fee, Marketing at Hotel Anthracite
Responded Apr. 9, 2020
We are surprised to read your review. Please feel free to reach out to Chris the manager at csimpler@settlershospitality.com. We would be happy to revisit the situation with you.
Read more
SDB4 wrote a review Mar. 2020
New Jersey605 contributions9 helpful votes
My family stayed for 3 nights while enjoying ski time at Elk Mountain. The hotel is nicely decorated and updated, always clean, and appears well maintained. There is a pretty courtyard area that looks enjoyable in warm weather. We enjoyed the onsite restaurant and the inclusion of passes for the local YMCA (although we sadly did not get to use them). Breakfast was good and included several options, including waffles and egg dishes you can heat up in the microwave. On our last morning (a Monday at 9am), we were faced with a messy eating space and little food left. We noticed the woman who normally staffed the breakfast room on the weekend was not there. The woman running the front desk also had to maintain cleaning and stocking for breakfast. I think this was a little much for one person on a holiday weekend. She was very helpful and quickly rectified the situation. A minor complaint for what was an overall pleasant stay.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Sarah O'Fee, Marketing at Hotel Anthracite
Responded Mar. 23, 2020
Hi Sharon, we are pleased to hear you had a lovely stay at Hotel Anthracite. We appreciate your feedback on the breakfast and we have spoken to our staff. Thank you for sharing your experience at Hotel Anthracite and we hope we can welcome you back again soon
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$100 - US$152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
The Carbondale Grand Hotel & Conference Center
LOCATION
United StatesPennsylvaniaCarbondale
NUMBER OF ROOMS
61
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Anthracite
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Anthracite?
Nearby attractions include Manhattan Manor (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Anthracite?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Anthracite?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Anthracite?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and an outdoor dining area during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Anthracite?
Yes, free parking and a parking garage are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Anthracite?
Conveniently located restaurants include Barbour's Bakery, Pinky's Family Restaurant, and Mc Donnell's Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel Anthracite?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Is Hotel Anthracite located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.3 km away from the centre of Carbondale.
Are pets allowed at Hotel Anthracite?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Hotel Anthracite offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Is Hotel Anthracite accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.