We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Brandywine River Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Brandywine River Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

349 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Brandywine River Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 348: English reviews
Madison, Georgia
Reviewed 25 September 2016

A dingy and depressing dump. The 1950's decor of the rooms--outdated furniture, granny wallpaper, bad bathroom fixtures, etc.--needs a complete overhaul, and the quality of the pillows and sheets was horrible. The continental breakfast is mediocre and there is no "wine and cheese" hour due to the lack of a liquor license. But worst is the attitude of the (almost...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nancy B
daysspringfield, Manager at Brandywine River Hotel, responded to this review

I'm surprised you felt the hotel was old and the wallpaper depressing, we just had all that renovated including the rugs. The guests like the colonial feel since it is an historical era. We never advertised a wine and cheese hour, we have tea and cookies from 4:30-6:30 which everyone seems to enjoy. As for the check in agent, she...

Rockville, Maryland
Reviewed 23 September 2016

Our booking was messed up: I booked, long in advance and directly with the hotel, two rooms and called on the eve of arrival to confirm that we had two rooms reserved, but at arrival it turned out that only one room was booked. Fortunately, the receptionist found another room. While choosing this hotel, I relayed on "certificate of excellence"...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Olga K
daysspringfield, Manager at Brandywine River Hotel, responded to this review

I am truly sorry if you felt I was confrontational, you were visibly upset that the internet was not working, we had Comcast in the first day and they told us the problem was solved, again that evening it went down and Comcast came back the next day and put in a new router (which had a problem). As long...

Reviewed 21 September 2016

This location was convenient for a business trip, closest hotel to the conference location. It was quaint and cute from the outside. Restaurants within walking distance and a cute little spa in front. The hotel is quite older, smells a little musty (but I sort of expected that from the other surroundings). The decor and fixtures and everything were older,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susan M
daysspringfield, Manager at Brandywine River Hotel, responded to this review

I'm very glad you enjoyed your stay and I can only apologize for the front desk agent who didn't call out on Sunday. She did call out Mon & Tues. Had I been aware (my day off) I would not have allowed her to work the desk, so for that I'm truly sorry. Thank you for the honest review and...

Wilmington, Delaware
Reviewed 21 September 2016

Peaceful, quiet and affordable. A little tucked away but conveniently located near shopping, restaurants, the Brandywine River musuem, the beautiful Longwood Gardens, Winterthur and local municipalities. All rooms have replacement windows that you can open to let in fresh air. A true gem.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lewisn112016
daysspringfield, Manager at Brandywine River Hotel, responded to this review

Thank You for your review and happy that you enjoyed your stay. Longwood at Christmas is magnificent so come back and see us again. Lisa/Office Manager

Bloomsbury, New Jersey
Reviewed 18 September 2016

A small, very quiet hotel. There is an elevator. The bathroom was smaller than most, but adequate and clean. The air-conditioning was quiet and effective. A mini fridge can be rented and coffee makers are available upon request. All rooms are non-smoking. Cookies and tea are available in the afternoon in the breakfast room, which has cloth tablecloths and napkins....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chateaurouxgirl
daysspringfield, Manager at Brandywine River Hotel, responded to this review

We thank you for your review and hope to see you back again soon. Lisa/Office Manager

Houston, Texas
Reviewed 7 September 2016

This hotel was in a convenient location for our visit, had a large bathroom (but very small shower) and good-sized bedroom. It was clean but decorated in a homey manner. The free breakfast was laid out very well and the breakfast room was nice and welcoming. The staff seemed to keep to themselves and not very open to conversation.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank T K
daysspringfield, Manager at Brandywine River Hotel, responded to this review

I'm sorry you felt the staff was not very open to conversation. A few of my new agents are new so I think they are just feeling their way around the guests, hopefully when you return they will be ready for that conversation. Lisa/Office Manager

Dawsonville, Georgia
Reviewed 3 September 2016 via mobile

I had read of problems on Trip Advisor with the check-in process where the front desk staff hassled patrons for using Expedia to book the hotel. So, I went out of my way to avoid booking it that way. Apparently, I failed in that endeavor because I was ridiculed by the witch at the front desk when I checked-in. This...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David M
daysspringfield, Manager at Brandywine River Hotel, responded to this review

I'm sorry you felt like your check in experience was very unpleasant. I remember your checking in and don't remember being a witch. You were upset that Expedia got you again and you seem to take it out on the front desk. Any questions that were asked were answered although I don't remember you asking for any recommendations or to...

home
Reviewed 1 September 2016

The hotel is older but recently upgraded to a comfortable facility. The rooms are large and clean although the TV is still several years old (pre flat screen) if that matters to you. Staff are very friendly and the breakfast is a diverse continental style with several kinds of muffins/breads, cereals, yogurt, waffles, and even hard boiled eggs. This is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jotenn
daysspringfield, Manager at Brandywine River Hotel, responded to this review

Thank You very much for the nice review we truly strive to make your stay a happy one. Please come visit us again Christmas at Longwood is spectacular. Lisa/Manager

Blue Ash, Ohio
Reviewed 27 August 2016

Yes, older, but home-like, pleasant, easy to get to, convenient to local tourist destinations, not at all crowded, and quiet. Counter person was efficient and friendly. Only stayed one night. All was clean and working. Plenty of outlets. Jacuzzi was fine. Perfect for our Longwood Nightscape visit.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dave C
Ramsey, New Jersey
Reviewed 25 August 2016

A lovely little gem. The room was clean and quiet. We only stayed one night - the rate included a continental breakfast which is nice to not have to leave the hotel looking for a place to eat. We chose this location due to its proximity to Longwood Gardens which was the reason for our trip.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl M

44 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (40)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chadds Ford
4.8 km away
Inn at Mendenhall, an Ascend Collection Hotel
8.4 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Kennett Square
Hilton Garden Inn Kennett Square
#1 of 2 in Kennett Square
553 reviews
3.9 km away
Wyndham Garden Glen Mills Wilmington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Kennett Square Brandywine Valley
5.8 km away
BEST WESTERN Plus Concordville Hotel
4.3 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chadds Ford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nestled on a hillside in the heart of the Brandywine Valley, the Brandywine River Hotel offers distinctive European style lodging for both leisure and business travelers, capturing the unique charm and tranquility of the Brandywine in a stylish, colonial setting. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Brandywine River Hotel

Address: 1609 Baltimore Pike, Building 300, Chadds Ford, PA 19317-7395
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Chadds Ford
Price Range: $146 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Brandywine River Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Brandywine River Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Brandywine River Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
East Meadow, New York
10 months ago
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Brandywine River Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I have no guidance here having stayed in many different rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles kmwander, 30 Jan 2017 | Read review
“There appears to be one handicapped room so if you are needing it book early”
 of 5 bubbles 539SusanB539, 14 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Although we were on the front side in room 216 sleep was not disturbed by traffic noise.”
 of 5 bubbles grazia2626, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Nice mountain view. Continental breakfast.”
 of 5 bubbles susanmV4657VG, 21 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Go for the Jacuzzi suite. A true pleasure.”
 of 5 bubbles lewisn112016, 21 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5