We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Avalon Hotel and Conference Center

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Avalon Hotel and Conference Center
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

406 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Avalon Hotel and Conference Center
See the most recent reviews
Showing 406: English reviews
Reviewed 15 February 2015

Great location and average non-renovated room. Was there over Valentine's Day weekend, so hotel was at full capacity. Hotel was definitely at full capacity, but was understaffed. We were woken up at 2:15am to a very loud group of people in the hallway. They were yelling and laughing at first, but quickly escalated into a vulgar fighting match. I attempted...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Hope-this-helps-ya
Niagara Falls, Canada
Reviewed 13 February 2015

Hotel was nice given the cost. Rooms were generally clean with a small exception (one pillow and one blanket were not clean). Guest Services did replace these items. Front Desk gave extra items needed without hassle as room was only stocked for 2 people but we had 4. Noise from room down hall and loud group of people on main...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NiagaraHotelRater
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 9 February 2015

We stayed at the Avalon because of its proximity to the Erie Insurance Arena, which is just 2 blocks away. Unfortunately, it is the only hotel near the arena, so if we went back we would likely stay there because of the convenience. But I do not recommend the hotel for any other reason. Our room was right behind the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank PattiDunmire
Tionesta, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 8 February 2015

Our stay was fine. Very simple room, nothing fancy but we skied all day and really only needed a shower and bed. Only real complaint was the water was not hot at all, and the hallways, elevator, and breakfast area was freezing. Maybe it was cold to save money on the heating. The lobby area is modern and nicer then...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank democrew5
Erie, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 8 February 2015

The hotel itself is older but it's very nice inside, clean, and the staff is very nice. Parking is free and underneath the hotel, location is good. We were pleasantly surprised at the size of our room and the view. Very affordable hotel. We will be staying here again soon, the hotel is a gem. The only down side for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Candi T
Hamburg, New York
Reviewed 3 February 2015

Our initial impression of the hotel was great. Then we approached the woman behind the counter about reserving a room and she shooed us to the other young lady working on the other sider of the counter. The second young lady was reluctant to be helpful and had to be asked more than once to please call to see if...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jennifer B
Reviewed 31 January 2015 via mobile

We stay here all the time we are in Erie. The staff is excellent and the cost is very affordable. Not everything in life is perfect and the ignorance that some plastic people post about this hotel is false. We love the hotel location and staff. They are always fir the guest.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank hitthejackpott
Erica R, Director of Sales at The Avalon Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you so much for you kind words! It is heartwarming to see our repeat guests staying with us. Even though we are not a 5 star hotel we try to uphold a continued level of customer service. We appreciate your business an d look forward to serving you for many years to come!

Reviewed 31 January 2015

I have been around including Africa, South America, Australia. Two years in a row for a event & both times bad. Dirty & not well maintained. Bath room walls cracked, mold, etc. Another person on are floor, shower would not shut off then flooded the area. They Were told over a hour before maintenance guy can showe up. Oh no...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Abeast
Erica R, Director of Sales at The Avalon Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

We apologize for any inconvenience that you may have experienced. We would love to have you back to enjoy a stay in one of our renovated guest rooms. Our hotel has not completed all renovations but we anticipate to in the future. We offer a hot breakfast buffet on the weekends and I am sorry to hear that you did...

Moon, Pennsylvania, United States
Reviewed 28 January 2015 via mobile

Hideous, disgusting, filthy, old, nasty! I could go on & on! Over priced. I will never go there again. They told us that they don't even rent out rooms on the floor that we got because they need redone so bad and they overbooked so they put people in there anyways there was blood or something on the walls. beds...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mary M
Erica R, Director of Sales at The Avalon Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

We thank you for addressing your concerns and we apologize if we were unable to meet you standards. We hope that you will re-consider staying with us again so we can show you what we truly have to offer.

Minnesota, United States
Reviewed 14 January 2015

We stayed at the Avalon last minute after our couch surfing plans fell through. We had a mid-renovation Deluxe suite, and it was fine. The tub was a bit dirty, and certain choices, like having no available towel racks/hooks, but overall the experience was tolerable. It was located close to great food and directly across from the Erie Playhouse. Staying...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SaeraDanae
Erica R, Director of Sales at The Avalon Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for your offering your thoughts and we appreciate your feedback. Our hotel has not yet finished renovations but we hope to in the future. We are also looking into offering some additional amenities. When they are complete, we would love to have you back again!

132 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (93)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (39)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (17)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Erie hotels
1.8 km away
Cobblestone Hotel & Suites Erie
1.4 km away
Sheraton Erie Bayfront Hotel
5.7 km away
Clarion Hotel Bel-Aire Conf. Ctr.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Courtyard Erie Bayfront
6.3 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#25 of 38 in Erie
213 reviews
7.1 km away
Red Roof Inn Erie
Red Roof Inn Erie
#6 of 38 in Erie
811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast included
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Avalon Hotel is, without exception, a luxurious conference quality hotel. Located in the heart of downtown Erie, our exquisite ballrooms & smaller private rooms will accommodate 20 to 1000 for showers, concerts, receptions, conventions, meetings & much more! Whether you are looking for a modern traditional wedding, daily meetings with custom menus or overnight accommodations the Avalon is the place to be. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Avalon Hotel and Conference Center

Address: 16 West 10th Street, Erie, PA 16501 (Formerly Hotel Pure Avalon)
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Erie
Price Range: $96 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Avalon Hotel and Conference Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 187
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your The Avalon Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Avalon Hotel Erie
Avalon Hotel Erie
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Avalon Hotel and Conference Center staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Avalon Hotel and Conference Center staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Book somewhere else!”
 of 5 bubbles Cruisingrace, 3 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I call hotel directly.”
 of 5 bubbles KayD11662, 1 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Pay the additional small amount for the superior room”
  • Note the damaged wall on the right.
  • Some rough spots, but overall an okay bathroom
 of 5 bubbles coasterlink, 23 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Ok for a cheap place to sleep but not worth the $95 it cost; should be more like $75.”
 of 5 bubbles edied2013, 4 Sep 2016 | Read review
“AVOID this hotel”
 of 5 bubbles marb_11, 11 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5