We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Historic Fairfield Inn 1757

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Historic Fairfield Inn 1757
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

142 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Historic Fairfield Inn 1757
See the most recent reviews
Showing 141: English reviews
Gettysburg, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 15 February 2015

One cold blustery February morning around 11am we decided to stop in at the Inn for Brunch. [we live locally] What a disappointment! And way overpriced. As a restaurant consultant, I had high hopes, but they were soon dashed. Cold food, okay service, mediocre choices. The server was nice, but needed training. The "attention to detail" expected for an historical...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank ladyMorgainna
John G K, Owner at The Historic Fairfield Inn 1757, responded to this review

I'm very sorry you were disappointed with your meal. Keeping buffet line food hot can be frustrating. We have had people tell us that the food is hot, and we have had people say it isn't warm enough. And on the same day. As a restaurant consultant, perhaps you can help us find a solution to the fluctuations of temperature...

Colorado Springs, Colorado
Reviewed 28 December 2014 via mobile

Absolutely delicious (loved the roasted potatoes) and so many choices. I'm not a fan of biscuits and gravy but theirs changed my opinion! Friendly staff made the visit memorable. Definitely will return when in the area!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Es T
John G K, Owner at The Historic Fairfield Inn 1757, responded to this review

I appreciate your kind words. We endeavor to have the finest ingredients served to the finest people. I'm looking forward to your next visit.

Reviewed 10 December 2014

Had a wonderful evening in the Tavern 12/10! We were in the area visiting a friend for the evening from Fredericksburg, VA, and we were looking for a place to eat and enjoy the evening together. What a wonderful place! All of the staff were wonderful and made us feel right at home. The fire in the fireplace was a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Maureen M
John G K, Owner at The Historic Fairfield Inn 1757, responded to this review

You are very kind to say so. We have had people from the Eastern Shore of Maryland tell us our crab cakes are the best that they have had. Next time you're here, try the dinner theater. Professor Kerrigan puts on a marvelous nineteenth century magic show. AND, he's funny!

Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 2 December 2014

We have been going to the Fairfield Inn for Thanksgiving dinner for many years. The food was always great. Nice turkey and ham, sweet potatoes, mashed potatoes, stuffing, cranberry sauce, etc. However, last year there was new management and everything was not quite as good as in previous years. We decided to attribute that to the fact that the new...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mvvacation
John G K, Owner at The Historic Fairfield Inn 1757, responded to this review

I'm sorry you were disappointed with your experience. As far as the bill of fare, we publish that it advance on our web page and facebook page. It is a prix fixe meal with three meats, vegetables, stuffing, yams and dessert, all served at your seat by a wonderful staff. We give ample servings, so much that many people took...

Bryson City, North Carolina
Reviewed 1 December 2014 via mobile

We dinned at the Inn for Thanksgiving. I was not aware that they were serving a traditional meal when I made the reservation. It was a pleasant surprise! We got a lovely full meal that was excellent!! Our service was outstanding the Inn staff were all warm and friendly! We thoroughly enjoyed the meal and your of the Inn!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LPB1209
John G K, Owner at The Historic Fairfield Inn 1757, responded to this review

Thanks for the excellent review. We pride ourselves on good food and excellent service. Have you considered signing up for our Feasts of Christmas?

East Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 19 November 2014

A fave location of mine, which I highly recommend. Excellent accommodations from an outstanding staff. Although it's very poslished, you still feel comfortable like you're in your own home. Whether you want to or not, you may have a little visit from a traveler from the past--in spirit! Everyone should experience the rich history of not only this venue, but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sparkles_Gourmet
John G K, Owner at The Historic Fairfield Inn 1757, responded to this review

Robyne - thanks for the review. Did you get a chance to eat in the restaurant?

washington dc
Reviewed 9 November 2014

Chef Terry, Jeff, Ashley and of course Professor Kerrigan made my son's BD party his best ever! Terry's breakfasts are always a treat and they gave us individual attention even though it was a very busy weekend for them.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ray j
John G K, Owner at The Historic Fairfield Inn 1757, responded to this review

Thanks! I think that we make an excellent breakfast, and the staff here is wonderful! I appreciate your kind words.

Quincy, Massachusetts
Reviewed 8 November 2014

We planned a few days at Gettysburg and wanted to stay somewhere special - this place was great. Very close to the battlefield so easy to get to/from. We liked that it was full service - proper dining area, a pub and eclectic rooms. My one observation is that historic inns tend to be on a well-traveled road. It's why...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank charlesdaisy
John G K, Owner at The Historic Fairfield Inn 1757, responded to this review

The number one question we get here is "why are there so many coins on the walls?" I guess that everyone will have to book a room to find out why.

Lemoyne, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 8 November 2014

15 Rotary Past District Governors, some with spouses, met for their annual dinner - the meal was absolutely superb. Some of us were fortunate enough to spend the night is one of the historic rooms - ours was the Jeb stuart. All rooms had modern plumbing features, great WiFi, and very authenic furniture from the Civil war period. Bed very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank drjudson
John G K, Owner at The Historic Fairfield Inn 1757, responded to this review

Thanks for your kind words, John. I only regret that I wasn't here to greet you personally. But I hear that GM Jeff did a great job.

Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewed 12 October 2014

We were first time guests at the Fairfield and absolutely loved it. We have tried several other B&Bs in town which were lovely,but this stole our hearts. A short drive (<10min)from the square and worth the drive. It was quiet and relaxing. We had all of our meals there. The food was wonderful. We particularly enjoyed the Sunday brunch. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nancy K
John G K, Owner at The Historic Fairfield Inn 1757, responded to this review

Thanks! We look forward to having you return!

54 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (34)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fairfield
4.9 km away
The Lodges at Gettysburg
The Lodges at Gettysburg
#15 of 27 in Gettysburg
398 reviews
16.3 km away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#6 of 27 in Gettysburg
2,386 reviews
10.1 km away
Sleep Inn & Suites Emmitsburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Gettysburg
17.1 km away
Sleep Inn and Suites
Sleep Inn and Suites
#2 of 27 in Gettysburg
527 reviews
2.7 km away
Liberty Mountain Resort
Liberty Mountain Resort
#1 of 1 in Carroll Valley
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Historic Fairfield Inn offers an enticing, warm, unique and memorable experience. It has been in continuous operation since 1757, and is one of the five oldest continuously operating inns in the country. Our rooms and suites are sumptuously decorated, and our food delicious. The restaurant is noted for our Chicken and Biscuits, and our Ham and Bean Soup (which is the same recipe as was served to the retreating Confederate forces on July 4th, 1863). Visitors to the Historic Fairfield Inn include Patrick Henry, Thaddeus Stevens, Robert E. Lee, and Mamie Eisenhower. This is a "must stop" destination for visitors to Gettysburg. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Historic Fairfield Inn 1757

Address: 15 W Main St, P.O. Box 300, Fairfield, PA 17320-8320
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Fairfield
Price Range: $194 - $247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Historic Fairfield Inn 1757 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Historic Fairfield Inn 1757 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Historic Fairfield Inn 1757 Hotel Fairfield
Fairfield Inn Fairfield
Fairfield Fairfield Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Historic Fairfield Inn 1757 staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Carriage House 3 is close to the Main House, has wonderful views, and is a corner suite and very quite”
_jgfalcon, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The quirkey stuff we could handle and enjoy to a point, but the bed and blue light special ruined it for us.”
Westeire, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
“After receiving a tour from our host Josh any room at the Inn will satisfy and visitor.”
DavidTodd2014, 22 Aug 2016 | Read review
“J.E.B. Stuart room mattress is horrible.”
cachnflies, 19 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Front rooms are noisy at night as the main road through town sees overnight truck traffic.”
musicallady, 15 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5