Cocoa Country Inn at Hershey

Cocoa Country Inn at Hershey

1518 E Chocolate Ave, Hershey, PA 17033-1167
Dirty, disgusting, filthy! The dirtiest place I have ever stayed!! Can't even believe they think
Traveller (45)
Cozy Interior One King One Double Sized Beds
Room & Suite (21)
Awesome pool outside for family and fun!
Pool & Beach (3)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

3.0
#5 of 6 motels in Hershey
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.5 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.7 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.6 of 5 bubbles
Value
We are a newly renovated Inn! We upgraded to new furniture in 2016 and large TVs in all rooms. Featuring all NON-SMOKING ROOMS! We offer an Outdoor Pool with a large deck. Diamond Award Winner. Just 1.2 miles from Hershey attractions!! Hershey Park visitors family favorite! Microwave and Refrigerators in all rooms, FREE Morning Coffee, FREE WiFi in all rooms, Coffee Makers, Irons, Ironing Boards, and Hair Dryers are some of the amenities we offer.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Vending machine
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Non-smoking hotel
Sun terrace
Express check-in / check-out
Parking
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Microwave
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
2.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
199Reviews3Q+A24Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 51
  • 52
  • 30
  • 24
  • 42
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
DBS wrote a review Aug 2020
Warsaw, Indiana3 contributions1 helpful vote
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Bed comfortable. AC fine. Great shower. Good fridge and microwave. But: strong odor in the hallway and in the room. Exhaust fan in bathroom broken. Mold in the grout in the tub surround. Spigot in the sink almost impossible to turn on. Large stains in the carpet. Coffee pot had not been cleaned out. Only decaf coffee available in room. Deadbolt broken.Wifi unreliable. Desk chair very dirty. I tried to be helpful to the proprietor and turned in a list at the front desk of the problems and said that if he wants to operate a successful business he needs to make some serious improvements. Unfortunately, I will not risk staying here again.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
PalmTreeHugger83 wrote a review Jun 2023
23 contributions4 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband and I stayed here while visiting the Tucker exhibit. The staff was very friendly and offered a free pop or bottle water. Gladly took them up on that. The room was relatively clean. Could use an update but no big deal. The bed was clean and comfortable. The only bad thing was the TV was kinda wonky. It runs on wifi so it didn't work that great. Would stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
PatGabM wrote a review Jul 2020
Somersworth, New Hampshire42 contributions26 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked this room as is was SUPER inexpensive. We stayed in the main building on the first floor. We didn’t feel that traffic was an issue and we, legitimately, just wanted a place to sleep although my girls used the pool which was very nice, and was clean. Check in was easy, the beds were comfortable and the room was clean. We were disappointed that there was no housekeeping, but whatever. The girls went to go get ice which was downstairs and were completely sketched out. I would probably stay here again if I’m ever in the area. The Filing Station down the road was a great place for breakfast!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
pretblueye wrote a review Oct 2021
Egg Harbor Township, New Jersey2,343 contributions160 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Liked · Like
that it was 2.2 miles from the main town of Hershey.
What I didn't like! The Host was rude and ignorant and doesn't speak vary good English. We got to the hotel a little after 1pm in the pouring rain. We discovered the office door locked and a message on the door to call a "732" number. This area code is for Freehold, NJ, not Hershey, PA. We called the number and waited 10 minutes under the "eave" in the pouring rain. We had gotten back in the car, and about 5 minutes later (by this time another couple as arrived to check in) someone calls us back from the "732" number asking if we were still waiting. Umm..Hello? Yes, we want to check in. Finally showing to unlock the door, he ask for ID and its obvious that he doesn't know how to work a computer because he writes everything down on paper. We get a room on the 2nd floor of the building. The only handicap space is in the back of the building, there is no elevator. We rush to get our bags from the car to inside the entrance of the building before it starts to rain again and then we have to carry them up a flight of stairs.

Disliked · The Host was rude and ignorant. TV was "snow" so that you couldn't see the picture. The mattress would not stay on the beds. There was dried piss stains on the toilet when you put the lid to the toilet seat down and the toilet would not stop running after the first use of it. Also, there was no cover on the sockets in the wall. The Host woke us up at 11pm to tells us that our card was declined. I don't know what kind of games he was trying to play, but I looked up my card it was perfectly fine. Now I ask, who is going to pay me for 3 1/2 of sleep I lost because this person woke me up at 11pm. I figured my time is worth about $10 an hour. He could have been considerate and slip a message under the door for me to find in the morning! In the morning when I went in to check out, I asked for a receipt. I watched him pull my receipt from the garbage can! And also the receipt where he charged a card where it had declined. I don't know whose number he tried to charge and say it was mine because as I said there was nothing wrong with my card. When I tried to tell him about the things mentioned above, he totaled ignored us, as he was too busy wanting to get back to making his breakfast!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: there are none-dont stay here
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rachael713 wrote a review Jul 2021
Chambersburg, Pennsylvania3,656 contributions81 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Booked a 3 night stay here with the intention of 2 days at Hershey Park. Photos and website description looked great. After reading reviews here and a few other websites we had major concerns and realized there may be a reason it’s so cheap. I called to cancel less than 30 minutes after booking. Whoever answered the phone should NOT be answering the phone. He could not understand anything I was saying nor could I understand anything he was saying. He asked me my name at least 6 times. I offered to give him my booking #. Because a booking number contains all the booking details right? He said no and kept asking me my name, how many days we were staying, when we were leaving (at least I think he was asking these things because I truly never did fully understand) I would say “can I cancel?” And he would ask my name again and what day and when I told him he said “ok you can come” and I said no I want to cancel. And he just kept asking me when we were leaving and how many days. This went on forever. He finally just said “ok” and hung up on me. I still don’t know if that meant ok I can cancel or not. No cancellation number was given. To be on the safe side I emailed the hotel that save night and sent a message on their website contact page stating that I wished to cancel. That was last Monday. It has been a week, my card was charged the deposit and no one has ever responded to my email. My next step will be discussing a charge back with my bank. I can’t imagine if you had any other issues at this hotel how it would be handled because a cancellation should be simple. Save yourself a headache and don’t book this hotel!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Avoid this hotel!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
annacorrea1012 wrote a review Aug 2021
1 contribution1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Oh the horror. This is the place horror movie directors come to get ideas for true fear. I have stayed at many hotel/motels ranging from 2-5 stars ( at least 3 a year for 15+ years) this is the worst one I have ever seen. Out of habit, I always check the room before entering with my things. I walked in, the lights did not work. When I finally found a lamp that worked , I noticed a brownish- red spot on the door frame of the bathroom , come to find more and more all over the bathroom sink , floor , door and even a splatter of them behind the door ... blood , it was dried blood. ( should have taken pictures but never take my phone when doing a room check) Management brushed it off like no big deal and wiped it down. The pillows themselves are brown , stained, look like they have survived several floods. The mattresses do no have mattress protectors, they too look like they have been dragged through the mud and who knows what else. The beds themselves are torturous to lay on. Thick grey dust that looks like the lint you pull from your dryer covered the lamps. The floor had black spots all over , which I assume is mold. The toilet had old and fresh urine stains all over it. This place needs to be shut down immediately. I can not believe our only option was to stay here for one night.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MARCO Y wrote a review Aug 2022
13 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
If I could give them a ZERO, I would. I am a LTC in the Army and I have stayed at better places in the 3rd world. The room reeked of INDIAN odors. We left the AC running for 6 hours and it was still cooler outside in the parking lot. My wife and kids could not sleep. We had to leave and drive home that night. Manager never called me back! Awful experience!
Marc 215-204-7482
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Don't Stay Here!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dave-NYC-2006 wrote a review Jul 2017
New York City, New York33 contributions25 helpful votes
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I took my family to Hershey, PA for a weekend getaway. I made a quick reservation on Hotels.com (Expedia), 3 weeks before. The day before my trip I went back to check my reservation and I read several bad critiques. I called Hotel.com to request a change and was told that a cancellation would cost a one night stay. I decided to keep my reservation. On arrival there was no one at the desk. There were several envelopes in the mailbox by the office, but none with my name. I called the innkeeper who said my reservation was cancelled, "but" that he would honor my reservation for one night since I did pay for the room, "gee thanks." I immediately called Hotels.com (Expedia), upon entering the extremely run down and gloomy room. The support team in the call center in the Philippines were completely unhelpful and wasted over 2 hours of my time with useless banter and no action. We stayed in room 117, which is probably the bottom of the barrel The room was very dark the table lamp bulb was out, the air conditioner's molding was broken and appeared to be moldy. Also, the A/C was not working correctly when we tried to set the temperature to a lower setting, it could not cool so we had to freeze all night. My kids woke up complaining saying that they wanted to "get out of here."

Here is a list of updates and repairs that should be made to reasonably offer a paying customer ($178 per night) for a functional and an accommodating facility.

*Fix the toilet seat, which fell off while I was seated on it.
*Replace the missing towels bars in the bathroom.
*We did not have enough towels for (4) people
*Provide a shelf for toiletries
*Shower-head had very poor water pressure because the spout was broken
*Clean the rugs which were filthy, my kids feet where blackened.
*Add a place for storage, no place for clothing to hang
*Add better lighting and more electrical outlets. (very dark & gloomy)

On a positive note, the room has a wall-mounted flat screen Vizio TV with Xfinity cable and good WIFI.

Overall, the sad thing was that the innkeeper was uncaring and mean and his place of business was listed on what I thought was a reputable travel website.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2017
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Don't have one
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Paul M wrote a review May 2015
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania16 contributions22 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Place was dirty. Stains on the walls, floor and the room was in a BASEMENT with no windows! Requested a queen bed, got a room with two twin beds. Overall this is the worst hotel I've ever seen. The positive reviews on here must be the staff,family and friends of those that work here.

The rooms look nothing, not even close, to what they are showing in these pictures. Please do yourself a favor and do not waste your time or money here.

And i should add I knew I wasn't staying at a 4 star hotel when I booked it. But even for a budget hotel this was a massive dump.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2015Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from CocoaCountryMgmnt, Guest Relations Manager at Cocoa Country Inn at Hershey
Responded Jun 4, 2015
Paul: I am sorry to hear that you had a negative experience at our hotel. I assure you that the positive reviews on our site are unbiased and from actual guests. I apologize that you were switched from a queen bed to two double beds. We are working to improve the property to provide a pleasant experience for all guests.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kathy K wrote a review Dec 2014
Roaring Spring, Pennsylvania9 contributions12 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I do believe it is a law that hotels are required to have smoke alarms in the rooms. We did not have a smoke alarm. The only heat we had was a space heater and I don't know if that is legal either. No where to put cloths. I don't know who wrote the good reviews for this place but now I don't feel like I can trust the reviews I read anywhere. Trust me believe the bad ones.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2014
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Pick another hotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from CocoaCountryMgmnt, Public Relations Manager at Cocoa Country Inn at Hershey
Responded Feb 12, 2015
It is our gratitude to receive feedback from our guests, be it positive or negative. We thank those that submit positive reviews and we want to try our best to fix those with negative reviews. Kathy K has been contacted several times by our management in the last couple months either via phone or email to find out how we can help revisit her inadequate experience at our property to which she replied, RE: Apologies From: Kathy K On Feb 10, 2015, at 06:49 PM Yes, i received the messages, I wish not to be bothered about this anymore. So let us now try to truly expose the truth to this review. Guest checked in at night, asked for a European Style room in the exterior section so they can step outside and go to their car. While all rooms have heating cooling units, a portable heater was asked as a backup as guest wanted one next to her bed. In the morning upon checkout and later as housekeeping went to clean guest's room, only to realize the fire alarm had been pulled off the wall. The room didn't smell like smoke we can't say that was the intention in all fairness. Let our guests now decide whether the review is accurate or wrongly biased.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
lizakq asked a question Feb 2018
Naguabo1,627 contribution253 helpful votes
Will late night check-in be a problem? Thanks in advance.
Nina H asked a question Mar 2017
What is the pet policy?
Answer from Harvest D
Hershey, PA1 contribution
Hello, please accept our apologies we didn't answer your inquiry sooner. We have several pet friendly rooms at the Inn, we permit dogs up to 50 pounds each. Our fee is $25 per pet, per night. Thank you so much!
MARCO Y wrote a tip Aug 2022
13 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don't Stay Here!"
Read full review
pretblueye wrote a tip Oct 2021
Egg Harbor Township, New Jersey2,343 contributions160 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"there are none-dont stay here"
Read full review
Rachael713 wrote a tip Jul 2021
Chambersburg, Pennsylvania3,656 contributions81 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Avoid this hotel!"
Read full review
LaViajera007 wrote a tip Aug 2019
Colorado Springs, CO197 contributions67 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Do NOT stay in the rooms facing the swimming pool for any reason!"
Read full review
Shelly8242 wrote a tip Oct 2018
Beit She'an, Israel100 contributions96 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"There are no good rooms. the place is awful."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Hershey area.
PRICE RANGE
C$117 - C$212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
cocoa country inn & suite at hershey hotel hershey, cocoa country inn and suite at hershey
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Motel 6 Hershey - Grantville
LOCATION
United StatesPennsylvaniaHershey
NUMBER OF ROOMS
31
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Cocoa Country Inn at Hershey - UPDATED Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Cocoa Country Inn at Hershey
Which popular attractions are close to Cocoa Country Inn at Hershey?
Nearby attractions include Escape Room Hershey (3.8 km), AACA Museum, Inc. (6.3 km), and Hershey Gardens (3.7 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Cocoa Country Inn at Hershey?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and free parking.
Is parking available at Cocoa Country Inn at Hershey?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Cocoa Country Inn at Hershey?
Conveniently located restaurants include Babe's Grill House, Piazza Sorrento, and Fenicci's of Hershey.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Cocoa Country Inn at Hershey?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are pets allowed at Cocoa Country Inn at Hershey?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Is Cocoa Country Inn at Hershey accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Hershey HotelsHershey Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in HersheyHotels near Cocoa Country Inn at Hershey
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars