We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Playa Escameca, San Juan del Sur 48600 Nicaragua
E-mail hotel
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveller (342)
Pool & Beach (78)
Videos (1)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#1 of 32 hotels in San Juan del Sur
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Verdad Nicaragua is situated overlooking the beautiful sandy beach of Playa Escameca. Verdad has been designed to take advenatage of our ocean vistas and constant trade winds. We work to insure that every aspect of Verdad from the layout of our casitas, the design of our furniture and fixtures to our adventures/experiences and concierge services are at a high quality. We are on the Pacific side of Nicaragua, just north of Costa Rica and 20-25 minutes south of San Juan del Sur. Escameca is a secluded and peaceful natural setting ideal for either a relaxing beach holiday or to experience local activities including yoga, swimming, body-boarding , SUP, surfing, trail runs, nature walks, horseback riding, zip-lining , snorkeling and fishing. We can arrange any of these activities as well as transportation to and from the airport. Verdad encompasses five freestanding cabins with decks overlooking the ocean and two pool rooms linked by beautifully landscaped paths. Paths also lead you to the ocean where you will find our secluded beach and bar. We serve breakfast and dinner in our open air dining area, as well as poolside. Everything we serve is prepared on site daily using the fresh local bounty. We have a 1000 square foot yoga/workout area and pool that our guests are welcome to use anytime. If you are looking for luxury without pretense in a beach and nature environment ,Verdad is for you. Our Commitment: Your comfort and safety while you are staying with us at Verdad is our first priority. We are taking care to clean high touch surfaces regularly throughout the day, and your accommodation will be fully sanitized before your arrival. We've also set up additional dining areas so that you can socially distance during meals at Verdad if you wish. The Verdad Difference: All of our accommodations have private bathrooms, and private decks (with ocean views) and wide outdoor, walkways connecting them to the common areas, so you don't have to worry about passing people in hallways, or getting onto elevators at Verdad. Even when you are "inside" one of the common areas, everything is open-air, so you're never enclosed in any crowded spaces. As it stands now, the Nicaraguan government is requiring all visitors to have proof of a negative PCR Covid test before entry.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Boating
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Yoga classes
Yoga room
Fitness classes
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Complimentary welcome drink
Happy hour
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Poolside bar
Diving
Hiking
Horseback riding
Snorkelling
Water sport equipment rentals
Fishing
Walking tours
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Taxi service
Couples massage
Full body massage
Head massage
Massage
Neck massage
Baggage storage
Concierge
Outdoor furniture
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private beach
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Walk-in shower
Private bathrooms
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Hidden Gem
Boutique
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
233Reviews1Q+A54Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 226
  • 6
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Andrea Taylor wrote a review Nov. 2022
1 contribution
I hosted a small 7 day retreat at Verdad and had the most wonderful time. All my guests were happy and want to come back! Marc (owner) couldn’t have been more accommodating and informative as I made my decision about hosting an event at Verdad. He gave me plenty of resources, took personal calls and was responsive and helpful! Every detail was taken care of. Verdads staff felt like family…. Welcoming, attentive, knowledgeable and talented. We had a great time getting to know everyone! The rooms were very clean and safe. The attention to detail is implacable. The yoga studio was breathtaking. We felt like we’d discovered a hidden gem. Our excursions were authentic, fun and we loved spending time with the locals! No one in our group is fluent in Spanish and that was never an issue, which is as really nice! Thank you Verdad!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
William M wrote a review Dec. 2021
3 contributions
+1
Hotel's Favourite
Wow, this place was just amazing! Wesley and the whole staff was so accommodating, helpful, kind, informative, and just good people. I can’t wait to get back here. The place is immaculately clean, the views impeccable, and absolutely gorgeous. We went as a group for a yoga retreat, and their practice space is equipped nicely for yoga and fitness. I got some great workouts in, and yoga practices overlooking the ocean. This place is a piece of heaven. I highly recommend doing the waterfall hike, surfing, and do not sleep on the catamaran. That was by far the BEST!!! The fire on the beach is amazing too! We even got to see baby sea turtles released. It was something very special to witness. If your looking to get away in peace and quiet, or even go into town and cut it up, this is the spot. The beach has great food, drinks, hammocks, good company and beautiful views. If you surf or want to learn again, Wesley is your guy! This place also has a beautiful pool with a view if your looking to lounge or enjoy some non salty water :) Overall I can’t say enough Great Things about this place. It is so very special.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Work with Wesley and the staff, they have everything you need. They can give you the lay of the...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from , Owner at Verdad Nicaragua
Responded Dec. 7, 2021
Wow, you got a a full Verdad Nica experience, we feel your enthusiasm and look forward to seeing you again.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Calen B wrote a review Nov. 2022
I've been in and around Nicaragua for about a year now and have had the opportunity to stay in lots of great hotels, but this one really can't be beat. Having experienced other hotels and lodges in the same area this was over and above the best experience I've had. The rooms are beautiful, comfortable and clean. The views and property itself are gorgeous. The staff was attentive and friendly. The food was amazing. It has an incredible yoga Shala with kettle bells and workout equipment, a quiet and relaxing pool area and is a convenient walk to an empty and serene beach Playa Escameca. They have transportation to all the nearby hotspots and will coordinate a variety of tours and experiences in the area with real professional local guides. I've had friends in town that stayed with me in multiple hotels in the same neighborhood and agree this place is second to none. If you are in or around the San Juan del Sur area looking for relaxation, yoga, surf and a place to unwind at a fair cost, in my opinion its the place to be.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Marc Schultz, Owner at Verdad Nicaragua
Responded 3 weeks ago
Much appreciated, we are so happy to hear you had a great experience and enjoyed your time at Verdad. We try to distinguish ourselves by providing quality personalized service from the moment you contact us. See you back at Verdad Nicaragua
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Julia Brandl wrote a review Sep. 2022
1 contribution
If you want to learn how to surf or improve your skills come to the surf camp at Verdad, seriously. I had never surfed before in my life and stood up on the first day and continued to make noticeable progress throughout the week. Fernando was my instructor in the water and Wesley did the video review with me each day. They are the best – lots of technical knowledge and also so much fun! They are great surfers but even better teachers. They are able to notice small adjustments that make all the difference. Also, having the video to look back on and see exactly what they were explaining was a game changer. On to of that, the property at Verdad is amazing. The pictures seriously don’t do it justice and all the meals were delicious. The whole team there went above and beyond to make the experience unforgettable. Not to mention that you are surrounded by some of the most beautiful beaches in the world. I cannot recommend this place and the surf camp enough. Do yourself the favor and book it ☺.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from , Owner at Verdad Nicaragua
Responded Sep. 21, 2022
YES! we are psyched you enjoyed our surf school and are on your way to be able to surf independently, safely snd have fun! As in most things there is a difference and we appreciate your recognition of the quality of Verdad's surf school. Please come back and spend some more time with the Verdad family.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Donna A wrote a review Sep. 2022
Moscow, Idaho31 contributions3 helpful votes
+1
Whatever you want or need, Wesley and the crew at Verdad will take care of it. They arranged our private transportation across the CR/Nicaragua border and it was easier than expected. Our ocean view casita was kept spotless throughout our 5-night stay. Airflow was great (did not feel like we needed a/c) and the windows & door screening were so well done our casita was bug free (hard to do in a jungle/oceanfront setting). Meals were incredible. All ocean/farm to table, local, healthy, super fresh & delicious (and we felt the meals were underpriced, to be quite honest). As soon as Heydi or JJ saw me in the morning they would make a fresh pot of French press coffee. On-site couples massage was perfect (totally got the deep tissue therapy I needed). Escameca Beach is a short walk away. Lots of surfing opportunities. Beautiful yoga venue on-site and additional class offerings just down the road at another wellness retreat. Loved the secluded atmosphere away from town. Noises can carry but it was a non-issue since other guests were quiet and likeminded in terms of soaking up the tranquility and lack of industrialized noise. Waking up to the sounds of waves, monkeys, the breeze and rain was pure bliss for us. We’ll visit again - soon!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from , Owner at Verdad Nicaragua
Responded Sep. 11, 2022
Muchas gracias, your first line in your review is what the Verdad difference is all about , doing our best to deliver above and beyond to insure a great Nicaraguan experience. Glad you enjoyed our natural daily concert of monkeys, the ocean and birds singing. See you back at Verdad
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Cristina wrote a review Jul. 2022
1 contribution
+1
Verdad is like a pristine bubble of relaxation and comfort. My family was looking to take a vacation together and we had enough people to rent out the entire resort and all of us only have the most positive things to say. The staff were so friendly and accommodating. Everything was immaculately clean. Additional activities were easy to do and get to as they were completely handled by the staff. If you’re looking to relax and have a vacation where you literally don’t have to worry about a thing, this is the place for you. Also the food is AMAZING. Bonus - we had a 9 month old baby with us and the kitchen staff were so helpful and accommodating with the baby’s food needs. The views were amazing. The beach was wonderful. The rooms were so comfortable and clean. I have nothing but positive things to say and can’t recommend this place enough. Protip - flying into Liberia and crossing the border from Costa Rica into Nicaragua makes for a hard travel day. I would not recommend doing it unless you have guides and drivers organized in advance. Thankfully Verdad takes care of all that for you in advance if you ask them to at a very reasonable price. Definitely take them up on the offer if that’s the travel route you end up going!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from , Owner at Verdad Nicaragua
Responded Jul. 25, 2022
We appreciate that you chose Verdad for your family holiday and that we met your expectations and more. We really love when family and friends take over our entire hotel and we can help make your experience exactly as you want it. Come back soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Liz C wrote a review Jul. 2022
2 contributions
+1
Everything about Verdad exceeds expectations. The staff are exceptional people, so welcoming & gracious. They go above & beyond in every way, and even before arrival, they help with knowing entry requirements to Nicaragua. We enjoyed every activity we did: wonderful surfing lessons, horseback riding, going to town, massages, enjoying the pool and beach...and the happy hour with terrific music on the last night. Our group had dietary restrictions that were handled with ease. The food was all incredibly delicious and fresh, and they managed my daughter's celiac needs perfectly. They even made her a special pizza on our last night! Eating while on vacation can be difficult for her, but it was not at Verdad. The area around Verdad is purely gorgeous, and the hotel itself is beautiful and so comfortable. Verdad is a special place to get away and to make memories - whether you want to be active or just relax. Looking forward to returning for a 3rd time!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: The duplex casita is terrific for families
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from , Owner at Verdad Nicaragua
Responded Jul. 9, 2022
Thank you for making Verdad your getaway! The team at Verdad feels grateful to have guests like yourselves who help create our familiar vibe. We look forward to making your next Verdad adventure special.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Rachel wrote a review Jun. 2022
Charlottesville, Virginia1 contribution
If you're looking for a peaceful, cleanly, welcoming retreat look no further! Verdad is everything I could have hoped for when visiting Nicaragua. The rooms are beautiful and clean with great amenities. The staff is amazing and very helpful/accommodating. The beach is right down the road and very easy to get to, but if you just want to have some water to hang out by then the pool at the hotel is also great. And let's not forget to talk about the food! So fresh and made right off of the dining area. Great space to enjoy meals with other travelers staying at the retreat. The view from the retreat is amazing and you really feel immersed in the nature. One evening I even heard a group of monkeys moving through the trees nearby which was so cool. I would definitely recommend to fellow travelers and would return again in the future.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from , Owner at Verdad Nicaragua
Responded Jun. 24, 2022
Thank you very much! Combining quality, comfort in nature describes Verdad well. Please come back again & again. We always welcome back old friends with some new adventures
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
April B wrote a review Jun. 2022
1 contribution
We stayed for a week and no one wanted to leave at the end of it Staff: Everyone was so nice! JJ and Wesley were always there to help answer questions, schedule excursions, or make us pina coladas. Food: Elena was such a wonderful cook. I'm not usually the type of person to take photos of my food, but everything she made was both beautiful and delicious. They were accommodating with dietary restrictions as well! (I don't eat pork, so they made me chicken on the day everyone had ribs). We had a different juice every day, made from fresh fruit. Rooms: The way the casitas are built into the hill allows every room to have a view! The casitas are the perfect size and the staff does a great job of keeping rooms clean. I loved how the shower in my room even had a view! The water and shampoo made my hair so soft. Everything, even the small details, made me love this place. You can hear the water from your room! Yoga Studio: This deserves its own bullet. Omg this place is so relaxing. They have lots of workout equipment for you to use. It looks out over the water. Peak relaxation spot.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: The rooms have screen windows in some areas, so turn off lights when you are not in the room, to...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from , Owner at Verdad Nicaragua
Responded Jun. 15, 2022
Thank you so much for recognizing our team and attention to detail. There is a difference in saying what you do and doing what you say and we try our best to deliver. See you again at Verdad
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Willis C wrote a review May 2022
2 contributions1 helpful vote
Verdad is everything that you could ever want from a trip to Nicaragua and more. The views of the ocean and mountainside are breathtaking, the incredible staff provides delicious meals, snacks and beverages throughout the course of the day and you can pick from a list of amazing daytime adventures, like surfing, fishing, yoga and fitness classes. Everyone there goes above and beyond to make you feel comfortable and at home, and gives you a real taste of Nicaragua and all that this amazing country has to offer. Verdad is a hidden paradise that I can't wait to come back to.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from , Owner at Verdad Nicaragua
Responded May 24, 2022
We are glad you enjoyed your stay in Nicargua and Verdad. We do our best to have our guests get a taste of the real (Verdad) Nicaragua when they are with us, including the community and nature. There is more to experience , come back soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$104 - US$201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
NicaraguaRivas DepartmentSan Juan del Sur
NUMBER OF ROOMS
9
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Verdad Nicaragua - Reviews, Prices UPDATED 2022 - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Verdad Nicaragua
Which popular attractions are close to Verdad Nicaragua?
Nearby attractions include Playa Hermosa (4.5 km), La Flor Beach Natural Reserve (4.0 km), and Playa el Coco (2.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Verdad Nicaragua?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Verdad Nicaragua?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Verdad Nicaragua?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Verdad Nicaragua?
Conveniently located restaurants include El Pollito Pescador, Bar Corto Maltes, and Lainupo Bar.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Verdad Nicaragua?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and fitness classes during their stay.
Does Verdad Nicaragua have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Verdad Nicaragua offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Verdad Nicaragua have airport transportation?
Yes, Verdad Nicaragua offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Verdad Nicaragua?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Does Verdad Nicaragua have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.