We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Black Horse Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Black Horse Inn
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

312 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 310: English reviews
Start your review of The Black Horse Inn
 Click to rate
Spalding, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Inn is well managed,Receptionist was very informative. The inn is decorated oldy worldy which is wonderful with some old original features maintained. The bar are is very nice with local ales and nice international Lagers and well priced.The only small let down was we booked two rooms one was in courtyard which was fine but the one upstairs smelled of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ambrish C
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We booked our wedding here and never looked back! What a fantastic place this is. The rooms are out of this world. The food is fabulous! Such a beautiful venue. We have been here several times and always had fantastic service and food! A huge thank you to all the staff that helped out on our wedding day. You all...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank RJD121
Halifax, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

No problems on Friday at the wedding meal very nice However problems started at breakfast Sat down at 8.55 ordered taken for porridge no menu at all Ordered team and coffee Waited and waited were brought a plate of toast no toast racks left At 9.35 breakfast came asked where porridge was was told I don't know Asked where tea...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Lindaelland
LydiaRussell, Owner at The Black Horse Inn, responded to this review

Dear Lindaelland, My first response to readers of this review is to refer you all to the review below from a lady who attended the same wedding. In response to Lindaelland; We welcome all reviews from guests especially those which highlight problems as this provides us with a great opportunity to improve our product and service. That said, we assume...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

When my sister told me she was getting married here I was rather sceptical, I had never heard of weddings there before, nor had I visited. But my word, I cannot think of a more perfect venue! The staff were lovely and friendly, the food was wonderful and the courtyard provided a perfect environment to mingle whilst knowing the children...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Louise P
LydiaRussell, Owner at The Black Horse Inn, responded to this review

Dear Louise P Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a positive review. We are really pleased you enjoyed your sisters wedding day so much, and thought the venue was perfect! We will share all your lovely comments with the staff about their service and the wonderful food. We have now rectified the issue with the...

Cleckheaton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

This was our second visit to the restaurant and the food really is excellent,even the bread and butter is special.You are made to feel welcome when you go in and the service is attentive and prompt without being pushy.The atmosphere is quiet and relaxed. I had the Lamb shepherds pie and my wife had the Chicken Ham and Leek,we both...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tony H
Janenorth, General Manager at The Black Horse Inn, responded to this review

Dear Tony H Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, we were delighted to hear you enjoyed your meal with us and we appreicate your kind comments which we have shared with the staff here. We look forward to your return visit. Kind regards from The Black Horse Inn

Strathaven, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 March 2017

Great location for me, office is about 10mins away, very quiet, very comfortable with great food. Great. Breakfast also really good freshly cooked with NO buffet. Will now use on a regular basis I would also recommend the Flat Iron Steak. Perfectly cooked with fries. Its not your usual cut, but I was very impressed.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mike F
Janenorth, General Manager at The Black Horse Inn, responded to this review

Dear Mike F Many thanks for your kind review and we are so pleased to hear that we will be seeing you on a regular basis! We very much appreciate your kind comments on our food and your recommendation of the Flat Iron Steak. Kind regards from The Black Horse Inn

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 March 2017

Stayed in the Black Horse Inn whilst on a business trip in February. I was made to feel so welcome by the staff before I even arrived to make sure I had everything I needed despite the late arrival, was shown my room and made to feel comfortable. Superb attention to detail in the rooms which contained everything I needed...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank es488
Janenorth, General Manager at The Black Horse Inn, responded to this review

Dear es488 Thank you for your lovely review. We are so pleased we are now your 'home away from home'. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit. Kind regards from the team at The Black Horse Inn.

Reviewed 25 February 2017 via mobile

I've never been one to stay at chain hotels so always look for character pubs with rooms where possible. This is an example of exactly why I do! The pub is outside of the main town of brighouse, has a bar and restaurant with bags of character. The rooms are all different, stayed in two rooms here recently and they...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ottershaw-Massive
Janenorth, General Manager at The Black Horse Inn, responded to this review

Dear Ottershaw-Massive Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive and comprehensive review. We very much appreciate your kind words which we will share with the staff here. We hope you have the chance to dine with us in the evening at some point in the future when you're next in the area. Kind regards from the...

Skipton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 February 2017 via mobile

We made our first visit to the Black Horse on Saturday evening and we weren't disappointed.The greeting was friendly and we were invited to get a drink at the bar and have a look at the menu. The food service and ambiance was all very good if a little pricey but if want a special night out this is the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CLIVE B
Janenorth, General Manager at The Black Horse Inn, responded to this review

Dear Clive B Many thanks for your review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your meal with us and we look forward to seeing you again. Kind regards from the team at The Black Horse Inn.

Cheadle, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 February 2017

Pleasant restaurant but, apart from the smoked haddock, the food today was distinctly average and rather expensive. The chips were tired and the battered haddock was not particularly tasty. Unfortunately a recipe for indigestion which was not helped by the fact that, on returning home and studying the bill more carefully, we found that we had been overcharged! A disappointing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David B
Janenorth, General Manager at The Black Horse Inn, responded to this review

Dear David B We were sorry to hear you did not enjoy your dining experience with us. We always value feedback and are very happy to resolve matters if they are brought to our attention at the time. If there is a mistake on your bill that is a genuine error on our part and we apologise. If you have...

49 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brighouse
1.7 km away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#3 of 3 in Brighouse
273 reviews
0.4 km away
Holiday Inn Leeds Brighouse
3.0 km away
Premier Inn Huddersfield North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 km away
Huddersfield Central Lodge Hotel
9.0 km away
The Old Golf House Hotel Huddersfield
9.5 km away
BEST WESTERN Pennine Manor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Olde worlde 17th-century inn located in the quiet village of Clifton, AA rosette restaurant, beautiful rooms converted from cottages. M62 just 1/2 a mile, away from it all yet close to everything. We are located in an ideal place for touring the scenic beauty spots of Yorkshire, the historic City of York and scores of Country Houses and Parks. Leeds, Bradford & Huddersfield are all less than twenty minutes drive away which makes us a convenient centre for traveler's on both business or for pleasure. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Black Horse Inn

Address: Westgate, Brighouse, Huddersfield HD6 4HJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Huddersfield > Brighouse
Price Range: $100 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Black Horse Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotel.de, HRS, Orbitz, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your The Black Horse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Black Horse Hotel Brighouse
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Black Horse Inn staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago
Leeds, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Sunderland, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from The Black Horse Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Single bed rooms perfect for the solo business traveller”
es488, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Have a lazy morning and let the traffic on the M62 clear, breakfast is worth taking slowly, it is good!”
jwlasseter, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Take earplugs and eye mask.”
C_GNorthYorks, 25 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Go for the larger rooms, some are quite small”
775kingarthur, 20 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room in the Champagne House away from the road.”
S1310EWdebbies, 21 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5