We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Antrobus Hotel

Show Prices
GreenLeadersGold level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Antrobus Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

283 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 276: English reviews
Start your review of The Antrobus Hotel
 Click to rate
UK
Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked for Sunday lunch the restaurant has just been refurbished and is normally the Thai during the rest of the week. We all had a starter big mistake as we had not realised the size of the portions to come! The food arrived piping hot served with fresh roast potatoes, Yorkshire pudding and scrummy gravy, followed by fresh vegetables....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank simes
Amesbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Booked a table in the restaurant here for Sunday roast lunch for two (just reopened after a refurbishment). Subsequently added a third person. Arrived and offered a choice of tables. We received good attentive service from the waitresses throughout the meal. Between the three of us we had beef, lamb, and chicken respectively, preceded by a starter each of deep...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank koogeybear
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

I was asked to help out in running a first Every Ghost Hunting Event at the hotel for the Manager . I have organised many such things and the Management and staff, bent over backwards to provide a a first class service to the Guests, many who were staying the night. We had a 3 course sit down meal, which...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank sbp72015
antrobusarms, General Manager at The Antrobus Hotel, responded to this review

Hi, Many thanks for your review - the whole team thoroughly enjoyed working this unique event and it was a pleasure having you and your fellow team members here. So glad to hear that you enjoyed the food, will definitely let the Chef know. Thank you again for coming and we look forward to seeing you on the next event!...

Devizes, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We held an event here in January and absolutely nothing was too much trouble. There were quite a few logistics for the evening that needed organising and the staff were great at returning my messages and emails and always on the end of the phone. I even popped in a few times before the big night and they were more...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ParaWilts
antrobusarms, General Manager at The Antrobus Hotel, responded to this review

Dear ParaWilts, Many thanks for your review - so glad to hear that you enjoyed your function. I will be sure to pass on your feedback to the staff that worked that night. Thank you again and hopefully we will see you at the hotel again soon!

Luton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

have 2 kids with disabillities so was a bit nervous, they catered for all of there needs, polite and friendly staff, excellent and clean rooms, really enjoyed our stay would highly recommend,keep up the excellent work

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank jeanettelewis7
antrobusarms, General Manager at The Antrobus Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Jeanette, Many thanks for your review. I am pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay and were well looked after by our team. I will be sure to pass the feedback on. We look forward to seeing you again. Best regards, Damian

Amesbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

A supplier recently came to see us and we decided to have a Thai lunch in the Antrobus Hotels lovely refurbished restaurant. Our guest was overwhelmed :-) The staff were so welcoming and couldn't do enough for us all - even asking about our guest and very interested in their links with Milton Keynes. Our guest stayed over night after...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank susan_damsu
antrobusarms, General Manager at The Antrobus Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Susan, Many thanks for your review. As you say our restaurant has recently re-opened following a refurbishment, with a new menu and team. I am very pleased to hear that the food and service exceeded your expectations, equally I am glad to hear that your guest enjoyed their stay at the hotel. Regarding the restaurant part of the review...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Prior to staying at the hotel I had sent emails and called numerous times to enquire about facilities for my 6month old with no response - my auntie went in and they let her know they had a travel cot available We stayed on Saturday March 11th - arrived 1.30-2.00pm - on arrival we found it hard to find the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Keri L
antrobusarms, General Manager at The Antrobus Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Keri, Thank you for your balanced review, which is also related to the same function as the previous review. I have explained in my response to the previous review that the issues with breakfast were caused by 15 members of the party + children coming down and ordering cooked to order full english breakfasts, simultaneously, 10 minutes before the...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stay well away from this hotel! We stayed on the weekend overnight for a big family party. I have never stayed anywhere so unorganised! Firstly, upon checking into the hotel we were stood around at the reception desk whilst the manager was staring into the computer, no acknowledgement to us what so ever. After around 5 mins he grunted at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wendyjane86
antrobusarms, General Manager at The Antrobus Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Jane, Thank you for your review. Yet again, further to the Facebook feedback ,I am disappointed to see that not one of your party, including the 2 ladies who paid for the function, have not yet contacted the hotel to express any form of complaint or grievance - instead choosing to pursue a vendetta on our Facebook and Trip...

Pocklington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Recommended the hotel from a friend and were happy with booking it. Not very receptive on the emails when we asked a question as it took weeks to reply. The room was fine, clean and tidy. Bathroom was clean and had adequate towels and the little tubes of stuff. All was fine other than a complete lack of staff. Checking...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tom B
antrobusarms, General Manager at The Antrobus Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Tom, i am glad that you were happy with your room. Sincerest apologies for the delay in the morning, unfortunately we had staff sickness at the last minute so were understaffed, we try to resolve this asap when this happens but sometimes there is a delay whilst replacement staff head in. Thank you again for...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The food was great, the atmosphere was great. A great hotel to host a function. The staff helped set up and were really helpful when we needed a hand. I hope they will be happy to host us again next year!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Samantha H
antrobusarms, General Manager at The Antrobus Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Samantha, Many thanks for your kind review which I will pass onto the staff who worked that night. It was a pleasure having you and we look forward to seeing you next year! Kind regards, Damian

145 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (105)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (35)
Viewed
Bathroom (18)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (40)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amesbury
2.0 km away
Holiday Inn Salisbury Stonehenge
4.9 km away
The Stones Hotel
The Stones Hotel
#9 of 16 in Salisbury
240 reviews
10.8 km away
Milford Hall Hotel and Spa
Milford Hall Hotel and Spa
#4 of 16 in Salisbury
727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 km away
The Pembroke Arms Hotel
9.2 km away
Premier Inn Salisbury North Bishopdown Hotel
11.5 km away
The Cathedral Hotel
The Cathedral Hotel
#12 of 16 in Salisbury
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
GreenLeadersGold level
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Built on the site of The Chopping Knife Inn and formerly a vicarage, school for young gentleman and a temperance inn; The Antrobus Arms Hotel is an original listed 17th Century Coaching Inn set in the ancient town of Amesbury a stones throw away from Stonehenge and nearby Salisbury. We have 20 individually styled en-suite rooms, one of which is our Beatles Suite where the fab 4 (The Beatles) stayed while they were filming ‘Help’ on Salisbury Plain. The hotel has also been host to television programmes and films, including being a location for the filming of Agatha Christies ‘Miss Marple’. The hotel is perfectly placed to access a wide variety of attractions – both local and afar. With local bus and rail links running seven days a week, Amesbury is the perfect place to act as a base to explore southern England. Details of the attractions below and others can be obtained from reception. If you’re looking to visit both Salisbury and Stonehenge then we recommend The Stonehenge Tour, which offers a flexible approach to seeing the local area. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Antrobus Hotel

Address: 15 Church Street, Amesbury SP4 7EU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Amesbury
Price Range: $111 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Antrobus Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The Antrobus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Antrobus Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for the Beatles Room, which they stayed in while filming in the 60's”
 of 5 bubbles sbp72015, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
“our room was brilliant”
 of 5 bubbles jeanettelewis7, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
“we stayed in room #1.. fab king sized bed. The Beatles room is always a great room to stay but it's VERY popular!”
 of 5 bubbles iand577, 5 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Room 1, large with a bath and a comfy bed.”
 of 5 bubbles stevebU8364KL, 25 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Room 10 is great”
 of 5 bubbles chrisj0nes1985, 6 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5