We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Lansdowne Strand

Traveller (92)
Room & Suite (45)
Traveller (92)
Room & Suite (45)
Dining (11)
The Strand, Calne SN11 0EH England See on map
Free Wifi
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Hotel
Meeting Rooms
Free Parking
3 Star accommodation
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerAttributes":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"]}}
Centuries old coaching inn with character, charm, 2 rosette restaurant and cosy bars. Our ales are brewed by local family brewery Arkells in Swindon. Rooms comprise of singles, twins, doubles, double executives More and king superiors. Parking on site cannot be guaranteed but there is ample parking available around the Lansdowne Strand Less
Hotel class
Hotel Amenities
Breakfast included
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Meeting Rooms
Non-Smoking Hotel
Room Service
Free Parking
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Number of rooms
Price range
US$69 - US$125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Formerly known as
The Lansdowne Hotel
Also Known As
Best Western Calne
Calne Best Western
Lansdowne Strand Calne, UK - Wiltshire
United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Calne
Nearby HotelsSee all 2 nearby hotels
Bowood Hotel, Spa and Golf Resort
1,599 reviews
3.70 km away
Duke Hotel
86 reviews
4.85 km away
Bear Hotel
73 reviews
7.86 km away
Best Western Plus Angel Hotel
624 reviews
7.88 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 39 nearby restaurants
Fay's Bistro
274 reviews
.07 km away
Spice of Bengal
247 reviews
.24 km away
Antica Roma
117 reviews
.04 km away
Sampaguita Cafe
66 reviews
.15 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 18 nearby attractions
Cherhill White Horse and Monument
109 reviews
1.93 km away
Bowood House and Gardens
489 reviews
4.33 km away
11th Hour Escape Rooms Limited
184 reviews
5.34 km away
REME Museum
41 reviews
7.82 km away
Reviews & more
90Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 77
  • 88
  • 65
  • 52
  • 69
Time of year
Traveller type
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Show reviews that mention
Stayed here in the family room with two friends, the room was lovely it looked freshly decorated, nice bathroom. They had only made the room up for two but a quick word with the receptionist sorted it out. The continental breakfast was a bit boring.
Read more
Eating experience only. Wrong menus-a mix of right and wrong on table. Young waiting staff lacked leadership and service levels haphazard and muddled. Sad as food different and good with unusual choices for starters and mains. Didn’t try the desserts as restaurant started to get
Read more
Hotel location ok Car Park not great and large car park over road too far away.
Room was very small and outdated, very noisy at night with a bell from clock chiming every hour. The mattress was so old and worn out it just sunk to the bed frame below. Very uncomfortable and an awf
Read more
Response from LansdowneStrand, General Manager at Lansdowne Strand
Responded 1 week ago
Hello Neil A, Thank you for your feedback. I'm sorry to hear we failed to ensure you had a fantastic visit. As most of our residents are here for leisure and pleasure we do not find enough call for earlier breakfast times, sorry this did not suit your schedule. Anna
Read more
The hotel room was really lovely but the feeling we got was that the pub side of the business was where the service focus was. Check in was fine and done at the bar, which lacked what you might expect at a dedicated reception. Tried to get an early continental breakfast on the S
Read more
Response from LansdowneStrand, General Manager at Lansdowne Strand
Responded 1 week ago
Hi 56peterc56, Sorry to hear of the over zealousness in clearing your food. It sounds like the team were a little too efficient in keeping tables cleared, sorry. Unfortunately unless by prior arrangement we cannot serve breakfasts earlier than our usual service times as this is when the team are on duty. Thank you for your review, Anna
Read more
We booked a table last week to try out their new Vegan roast dinner... We were not disappointed! The dining room is beautiful, the staff were very friendly and the food was INCREDIBLE!
Sitting by a log fire and tucking into a delicious Nutroast on a cold Sunday - Who could ask fo
Read more
Response from LansdowneStrand, General Manager at Lansdowne Strand
Responded 1 week ago
Hello Francesca Susan... D, That all sounds wonderfully cosy! Thank you for making the effort to write your review. We're really pleased to hear the food was delicious and the staff welcoming. Anna
Read more
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining
Photo provided by managementLansdowne Strand
Photo provided by managementLansdowne Strand
Refurbished room 202
kitchen extractor cooking smells entering room because window would not close fully
good bed
view from room
"It’s not a hotel it’s a coach house"
"Stay downstairs, or no higher than the 2nd floor. Best to drive to another hotel."
"It still wasn't warm enough, but there is also a nice outside area to eat and drink."
"The Marden Room was blissfully quiet - church bells and Town Hall clock add Sunday atmosphere."
"Front facing room was very nice indeed"
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing