We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

George Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
George Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

371 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for George Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 371: English reviews
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 September 2016

I asked for a lower floor room which I did not get but did not complain as we were only there for two days and it was a late booking. Room small but very clean with all facilities apart from t.v being on top of the wardrobe which meant you had a crick in your neck trying to watch it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank margshell29
Paige S, Manager at George Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Thank you for taking the time to leave your review following your stay with us. I'm sorry we were unable to accommodate you with a lower floored room, we do try and assist with all requests but unfortunately this time we did not have anything available. I'm also sorry for any noise disturbances you had during the evening, although...

Brigg, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 September 2016

This was the first time I'd stopped in a wetherspoons hotel, it was a pleasant experience the room(208) though in the rafters of the building was comfortable, you did need the light on even during the daylight. There was a problem with the toilet flushing, but after reporting that to reception it was corrected for my return that evening. My...

Review collected in partnership with JD Wetherspoon
 Report
Helpful?
Thank nigel336
Paige S, Manager at George Hotel, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback following your stay with us. I'm glad your first visit to a Wetherspoon hotel was a pleasant one! Due to the age and quirkiness of the building, the rooms do vary a lot in size and shape, so if you are ever unhappy with a room, please do not...

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 September 2016

A An interesting historical hotel with easy access to the nearby Severn valley railway witch is great for railway buffs! Inside its a typical Wetherspoons with pictures of local interest and a nice selection of real ales at cheap prices ,perfect for railway &real ale buffs!!!

Review collected in partnership with JD Wetherspoon
 Report
Helpful?
Thank bobsmodelrailway
Paige S, Manager at George Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us. I'm pleased you liked the character of our historical hotel and that we had a good selection of ales on for you. Hope you enjoyed severn valley railway! See you again next time.

Reviewed 4 September 2016 via mobile

Popped in last Friday night for a light meal and a drink. We settled for Fish and Chips twice with peas, I had a pint of Real Ale and my dearest a glass of Chardonnay with our meals. So for less than £ 12 we were fed and watered, for a cheapy what more could you want!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vince G
Paige S, Manager at George Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback following your visit to our restaurant in Bewdley. I'm pleased you were happy with your meals and drinks. Look forward to seeing you both next time!

Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 September 2016

We were generally satisfied. Staff were particularly helpful. There is Free parking. One complaint; the washbasin was just impossible to use safely, with broad glass shelf above tiny basin. The Shower good though! Ventilation in the bedroom was not brilliant as the window would only open partially.

Review collected in partnership with JD Wetherspoon
 Report
Helpful?
Thank O1836FCjames
Paige S, Manager at George Hotel, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments following your stay with us in Bewdley. I'm pleased you were happy with your stay and that our staff helped as much as possible. I'm sorry you were disappointed with the washbasin in your room, we will look into this and ensure it is a safe as possible to...

Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 September 2016 via mobile

32 quid for a crappy room with no breakfast. Lots of noise from drunks outside. What a cheek 32 quid each. I had the misfortune of staying here due to unforeseen circumstances. Pathetic tiny sink and shower. Crap bed and Crap decor basically Crap. Uht milk in cartons taste guess what Crap. Makes me sick they charge what they do...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bargainsavvy
Paige S, Manager at George Hotel, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. I'm sorry to read you did not enjoy your stay with us. Due to the age of our building, the rooms and bathrooms do vary a lot in size and shape, so if you do have issues with the size of yours then please let us know and if...

Tamworth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 August 2016

Stayed on a Saturday night as part of a fishing week-end with my local club. The room I stayed in was a single and although a little small it was well furnished, clean and comfortable. The staff and service were excellent and no one had any complaints. The breakfast lived up to Wetherspoons reputation, it was excellent. We will stay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter H
Paige S, Manager at George Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. I'm so pleased you enjoyed your fishing weekend in Bewdley! Thank you for your kind comments regarding the staff and service as these are very important to us. Looking forward to seeing you next time!!

wales
Reviewed 28 August 2016

Staff were friendly., pub/ hotel was clean and had character and location central with free parking. food was good and really tasty and was reasonably priced along with the drinks. Plenty of seating inside and out with a conservatory at the side. The bed was probably the most uncomfortable we have ever experienced in any hotel and may have had...

Review collected in partnership with JD Wetherspoon
 Report
Helpful?
Thank pysgodyn
Paige S, Manager at George Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Thank you for your feedback following your stay with us. I'm sorry to read how uncomfortable you were, please let us know on reception if there are any problems and we will do our very best to resolve them so you can have an enjoyable stay. However we do appreciate your comments regarding the staff friendliness and cleanliness of...

Leominster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 August 2016 via mobile

Stayed here in August due to a local after wedding party , went after lunch , as check in time for 2 as there was approx 10 of us staying here, have to say , found this to quite quirky, charming , place , had a front road room , quite noisy from late night revellers out on street ,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank S15dem
Paige S, Manager at George Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback following your stay with us. It's nice to know we were the first Wetherspoon hotel you have ever stayed in and that you were pleasantly surprised, you should definitely visit some more of our lovely hotels! I'm glad you liked Bewdley itself and we hope you enjoyed the wedding....

Oswestry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 August 2016

Lovely room. Clean comfortable . Food great . Quality with affordable costs. Business use or if you're on a brake. This hotel has character charm . Customer service brilliant. Set in the heart of bewdley

Review collected in partnership with JD Wetherspoon
 Report
Helpful?
Thank lindajh637
Paige S, Manager at George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review. I'm so pleased you were happy with your stay. Look forward to seeing you next time.

30 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (15)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bewdley
1.7 km away
Mercure Kidderminster Hotel
3.4 km away
Gainsborough House Hotel
Gainsborough House Hotel
#4 of 5 in Kidderminster
434 reviews
4.5 km away
Premier Inn Kidderminster Hotel
Premier Inn Kidderminster Hotel
#2 of 5 in Kidderminster
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 km away
Hallmark Hotel Stourport Manor
Hallmark Hotel Stourport Manor
#1 of 1 in Stourport-on-Severn
749 reviews
21.3 km away
The Crown
The Crown
#1 of 12 in Worcester
355 reviews
7.5 km away
The Granary Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about George Hotel

Address: Load Street, Bewdley DY12 2AW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Bewdley
Price Range: $63 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from George Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Bolton, United Kingdom

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from George Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Didn stay just went for meaj”
 of 5 bubbles Y3776TKjuliel, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Take your chance but avoid 302 !!!!!!”
 of 5 bubbles naomim574, 24 Feb 2017 | Read review
“See the room before you hand over your card”
 of 5 bubbles 576davidjames, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a standard room with a shower.”
 of 5 bubbles Geoff122, 11 Dec 2016 | Read review
“If you need a accessible room ask! It was well appointed. The quirky routes for the wheel need explanation.”
 of 5 bubbles 8Linda8, 11 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5