We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Alma Lodge Hotel

Save
Share
149 Buxton Road, Stockport SK2 6EL England
Lowest prices for your stay
US$81
View deal
Expedia.com
Priceline
US$81
View deal
Free cancellation until 21-11-01
Reserve now, pay at stay
Booking.comUS$81
Hotels.comUS$81
eDreamsUS$81
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (102)
Room & Suite (30)
Dining (22)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#4 of 13 hotels in Stockport
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
The Alma Lodge Hotel and Restaurant is privately owned ensuring high standards are maintained throughout all departments. There is complimentary High Speed Internet access in all public areas, free onsite parking for 100 cars and BT Sports available in Luigi’s Bar. All 52 En-suite Guest Rooms offer Free, Unlimited WiFi, Free Breakfast and Flat Screen Location Alma Lodge is ideally situated in the town of Stockport. Close to rail, airport and motorway links, just a few minutes drive from J2 off the M60, 7 miles from the City of Manchester, 5 miles from Manchester Airport and the Trafford Centre. The famous Manchester City and Manchester United grounds are within easy reach if you are attending a match. The Spar Town of Buxton and the beautiful Peak District is only a 30-minute drive away, making the Alma Lodge a fabulous location for business or leisure, in the North West of England. Dining Ristorante Luigi specialises in Italian & Mediterranean cuisine at its best. The restaurant has a relaxed and informal atmosphere offering extensive Ala Carte or Table d Hote Menus. Families with children are very welcome, freshly prepared pizza and pasta menus available. A comprehensive Bar Snacks menu is also available in Luigi’s Bar. Banqueting and Special Events The Alma Lodge Hotel has a fabulous reputation for Banqueting and Special Events in the local area. Offering a choice of Events Suites the largest of which is The Regis Suite accommodating up to 250 delegates. It has a beautiful private courtyard entrance with ground floor access from the car park. In addition there are a further 4 Suites, the Congress, Bromley, Davenport and Luigi Suite, which all benefit from natural daylight. Conference Great business amenities with a comprehensive range of conference equipment to hire, daily and 24-hour delegate rates are available. Our experienced conference and events manager will also be available throughout the day to support your event ensuring it will be a success. The Friendly, and experienced staff at the Alma Lodge will always assure you of a warm welcome and look forward to your visit.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Parking
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary instant cofffee
Kids' meals
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Show more
Room features
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Telephone
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Languages Spoken
English, Italian
659Reviews6Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 311
  • 218
  • 82
  • 35
  • 13
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
fluteandvoice wrote a review Oct. 2020
Holywood, United Kingdom157 contributions65 helpful votes
I am mid an 8 day stay over 2 weeks, and have been made so welcome here. I hope to return for a good while in November and December. Fingers, toes, arms and legs crossed for the hospitality industry and lovely places like Alma Lodge at this difficult time. The staff are just lovely. Nothing is too much trouble. Rooms are bright, spacious and modern. Impeccably clean. Highly recommended. I hope things turn around for the hospitality industry. This is an example of an independent hotel where the staff are just wonderful. Thank you everyone x
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Faye Farrlley, Guest Services / Front Office at Alma Lodge Hotel
Responded Nov. 8, 2020
Thank you for your lovely review, it is so nice for the staff to read such positive comments! We are doing our very best to make customers and staff feel safe and welcome in these difficult times. I hope we can continue to welcome you here at the hotel in the coming months. Kind regards, Faye Farrlley Reception Manager
Read more
Elena S wrote a review Sep. 2020
6 contributions
Our family of 3, myself, my husband and our 7months old baby stayed here for 3 nights. The staff is amazing, we really liked the night receptionist that has 3 daughters always happy and willing to help. The price we paid was very good. The rooms where spacious and have enough space for all clothes and good amnesties. English breakfast can be served for 5£ per person, as much as I would have enjoyed having a buffet style breakfast, they had packed cereals, fruit of your choose, toasted bread, yoghurt, croissant and coffee and tea. I guess this is an adapted breakfast menu during the coronavirus crisis. The younger boys/girls that served tea and coffee were lovely. Free Parking- The Holiday Inn that had similar prices for the same period doesn't have free parking, therefore this place gives you a better value for your money. Close enough to the Peak District, we drove 30-50 minutes to the places we wanted to visit. Must say that the hairdryer itself wasn’t working, but we brought our own anyway. I am sure they could bring another one if we need a working one. The housekeeping staff were polite and helpful. If traveling with family you can request a cot for the baby. Nest time if in the area we shall book via their website not via booking.com as it charges them a minimum 15% commission for every booking/stay and they can give you the same price if you call the reception Support your local businesses in times like these.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Faye Farrlley, Owner at Alma Lodge Hotel
Responded Nov. 8, 2020
Thank you for such a detailed review, I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Breakfast is normally served buffet style but the current restrictions do not allow us to serve food buffet style. We would of course replaced the hairdryer if you had needed us to, I will try to work out which room you were in so we can replace it for future guests. I hope we can welcome you and your family back again soon. Kind regards, Faye, Reception Manager
Read more
GermanoF wrote a review Aug. 2020
London, United Kingdom286 contributions151 helpful votes
We need to consider the miserable moment we are living, with COVID forcing hotels and restaurants to apply emergency measures, restrict the ususal service and try to do their best. At Alma Lodge they are: the offer a very decent service and, even with reduced access to reastaurant and a reduced breakfast menu, this place remains good value for money in the area.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Faye Farrlley, Owner at Alma Lodge Hotel
Responded Nov. 8, 2020
Thank you for your lovely review and for recognising the struggle we are currently facing! All the staff are doing their very best to adapt to the situation so it is nice to hear you have still enjoyed your stay with us. I hope we can welcome you back in the future when 'normality' resumes! Kind regards, Faye, Reception Manager
Read more
Sue H wrote a review Aug. 2020
Sunderland, United Kingdom5 contributions5 helpful votes
Just returned from our 5th stay at Alma Lodge and we are never disappointed, the staff go out of their way to make sure your stay is a lovely experience.The rooms are spotless and very comfortable. On this occasion there was no cooked breakfast only continental but this is mentioned on their website when you book. All safety precautions were followed and lots of hand sanitizer around...Thankyou for looking after us once again and no doubt will be seeing you again soon.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: Rooms at back of Hotel are quieter as on a busy main road
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from jill tavini, Owner at Alma Lodge Hotel
Responded Aug. 9, 2020
Dear Guest, Your kind remarks about the cleanliness of the bedrooms and our staff make us very proud. It is through kind comments like yours that our team is constantly motivated to offer the best of care to each and every one of our guests. Its always a pleasure to welcome you and your family back to the Alma Lodge Hotel. Thank you very much for sharing your views. Kind regards Jill
Read more
Darren B wrote a review Jul. 2020
Manchester, United Kingdom136 contributions54 helpful votes
Stayed here for a couple of nights and it was a nice relaxing weekend,staff were very polite and helpful.The room was really clean,a little disappointed with breakfast (continental)but it is in most places now with this Covid.Would definitely book here again when I’m visiting family.Overall very happy with the price and service l received on my short stay.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Faye Farrlley, Owner at Alma Lodge Hotel
Responded Nov. 8, 2020
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us, I am pleased you enjoyed your visit and found the hotel clean and relaxing. With regards to breakfast, our offering is only limited because of the situation with Covid-19. Our offering normally includes a full English breakfast and we have always received lots of compliments for it. Perhaps when everything returns to normal we can welcome you back! Kind regards, Faye, Reception Manager
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$79 - US$106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
alma hotel stockport
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandGreater ManchesterStockport
NUMBER OF ROOMS
52
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Alma Lodge Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Alma Lodge Hotel?
Nearby attractions include The Blossoms (0.7 km), Brooklyn Pottery (1.1 km), and Cale Green Park (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Alma Lodge Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Alma Lodge Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Alma Lodge Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Alma Lodge Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Little Lanka, Puss in Boots, and 203 The Lane.
Does Alma Lodge Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Alma Lodge Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Italian.
Are there any historical sites close to Alma Lodge Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Staircase House (2.1 km), Stockport Air Raid Shelters (2.0 km), and Bramall Hall & Park (2.7 km).
Is Alma Lodge Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.