We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Bull Inn

Booking.comUS$107*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
The Bull Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

355 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Bull Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 351: English reviews
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 19 August 2016

We had an early morning flight from London Heathrow so decided to stop here for one night. We had booked a Standard room which was fine - but it was very small - as on the photos. You open the door and then you almost fall onto the bed. It was very compfortable clean and tidy. As an afterthought I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rubarb91
TheBullInnManagement, Manager at The Bull Inn, responded to this review

Thank-you for your comments and feedback. We are really pleased you enjoyed your visit and look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future. Kind regards,

Los Gatos
Reviewed 18 August 2016

Sonning is a favorite place and the Bull Inn is an integral part of a magical experience. The Bull is a incredible pub with great atmosphere along with terrific, friendly, caring staff. We had a beautiful dinner. Our room was nice as expected. Breakfasts were included and were over the top! This is a very special place and has been...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank walterj223
TheBullInnManagement, Manager at The Bull Inn, responded to this review

Hello, Thank-you for your great review, we are really pleased you enjoyed your visit and looking forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards,

Singapore River, Singapore
Reviewed 14 August 2016

Very quaint old English pub which is very popular. This makes the service "business-like" as opposed to "laid back and personal." Menu is fairly extensive with shared plates and even two sizes of each item, which is a good idea if you are not extremely hungry or you want to try a handful of dishes. Definitely worth a visit.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CLLSB
TheBullInnManagement, Manager at The Bull Inn, responded to this review

Hello, Thank-you for your review and feedback, we are really pleased you enjoyed your visit and look forward to your return. Kind regards,

Reviewed 13 August 2016 via mobile

Booked a table for five of us for my dad's birthday on Saturday lunchtime. Waited 20 minutes and didn't even get asked for order. The very patient people near us were asking whether they were ever going to get their order taken. Overheard others complain about food quality and asking for items to be removed from their bills. We were...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Phil G
TheBullInnManagement, Manager at The Bull Inn, responded to this review

Hello, Thank-you for your recent review, I am really sorry to hear of your lack of service on your visit, this is totally out of character for our team front of house, please accept my apologies. I will be sure to take all comments on board and raise this with the team. I do hope that you will come back...

London
Reviewed 13 August 2016 via mobile

Four of us had dinner in this lively picturesque old pub and were delighted by the whole experience. The menu choices were good, the staff were very friendly, the setting is lovely and the food, beer and wine were all great. The portion sizes are generous though, so be careful!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Newburyboy
TheBullInnManagement, Manager at The Bull Inn, responded to this review

Hello, Thank-you for your review, we are pleased you enjoyed your dinner and look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards,

England UK
Reviewed 10 August 2016

I will not make any comment about the previous reviewer (Trezdon) as I thik the management got it right!!!! I have eaten at The Bull before and found it very good but this time we just popped in for a beer after walking along the Thames towpath. It is, of course, the epitome of a traditional English pub as viewed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cavershamroyals
TheBullInnManagement, Manager at The Bull Inn, responded to this review

Hello, Thank-you for your recent review, it is lovely to hear that you enjoyed The Bull Inn and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards,

Washington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 August 2016

We had heard about this pub and walked to it for a drink and a meal. A very pretty outdoor area spoilt as the cars parked alongside the tables and chairs. We had not booked but a table was found and the food was excellent, hot and very good value. Friendly staff and very quaint dining room, well worth a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kath C
TheBullInnManagement, Manager at The Bull Inn, responded to this review

Hello, Thank-you for your review and feedback, we are pleased you enjoyed your visit and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards,

Reviewed 3 August 2016

My title pretty much says it all. I ordered the Hawaiian chicken burger and it was stone cols in the middle. You could tell it had been Microwaved (but not very well). I asked the waitress if it had been cooked in the microwave and she seemed to find that funny. The bar area had a horrible (very strong) smell...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Trezdon83
TheBullInnManagement, Manager at The Bull Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, although I cannot recall us serving that particular dish at The Bull Inn I will be sure to take all feedback on-board that you have given. Kind regards,

Reviewed 3 August 2016

A group of four of us ate and drank ale here today. Great food, ale and service. The low beams might be a problem for anyone who is taller than 5 foot ten ! You have been warned. We will be going back there soon.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
TheBullInnManagement, Manager at The Bull Inn, responded to this review

Hello, Thank-you for your great review and feedback, we are pleased you enjoyed your visit and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards,

Norwich
Reviewed 2 August 2016

A special gem in the Fullers collection. Afraid of it becoming so popular that wont be able to book next time! Whilst the quirkiness may not be to everyone's taste the age and quirkiness adds to the ambiance. We will be back soon.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank TrickydickyNorwich
TheBullInnManagement, Manager at The Bull Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely words, we hope to see you here again at The Bull sometime soon. Kind regards,

59 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (50)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sonning-on-Thames
0.2 km away
The Great House At Sonning
The Great House At Sonning
#1 of 2 in Sonning-on-Thames
344 reviews
0.5 km away
French Horn Hotel
French Horn Hotel
#2 of 2 in Sonning-on-Thames
184 reviews
1.5 km away
The Wee Waif
The Wee Waif
#1 of 1 in Charvil
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 km away
The Baskerville
The Baskerville
#1 of 1 in Shiplake
185 reviews
4.3 km away
The Forbury Roseate
The Forbury Roseate
#2 of 31 in Reading
493 reviews
7.3 km away
Hotel du Vin
Hotel du Vin
#1 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about The Bull Inn

Address: High Street, Sonning-on-Thames RG4 6UP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Sonning-on-Thames
Price Range: $134 - $201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bull Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your The Bull Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bull Hotel Sonning On Thames
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Bull Inn staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Leicester, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Bull Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I rather liked the room my son was in 'George' (that's the room's name - not my son) - sloping floor and all - it just added to the charm.”
KathP36, 25 Mar 2017 | Read review
“This is olde-worlde. Don't expect all modern conveniences.”
TopicalSerendipity, 26 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Pay what you get”
FaFaFab, 23 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Our room was over the bar you could here the conversation but it never went beyond 11.15 pm . I do't think the rooms vary much.”
MaureenB900, 3 Oct 2016 | Read review
“I went there only for lunch”
LucioF_11, 9 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$107* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUS$107
Hotels.comUS$107
Expedia.comUS$107
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates