We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Swan at Streatley

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
The Swan at Streatley
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"}}
Add Photo Write a Review

582 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 571: English reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at The Swan over Christmas and were lucky enough to stay in a River Suite, we managed to get this at a discounted price as they are currently undergoing a refurb. The room was so nice, very spacious and very luxurious. The bath and shower were amazing. The village itself is lovely too. We popped into Goring and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Helen R
Michal W, Deputy GM at The Swan at Streatley, responded to this review

Hi Helen, Great to read that you enjoyed your Christmas break at The Swan. We love that you appreciated the extra touches in our new River Suite. Thames side villages of Goring & Streatley are indeed wonderful and perfect to visit over the festive season. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and thanks for you...

Tamworth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed at this hotel as I'm a big George Michael fan and wanted to go and pay my respects in person. This is a beautiful hotel right on the river, and our very large room had it's own patio area overlooking the river. We enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend this hotel, we have even booked a return...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Sarah5503
Michal W, Deputy GM at The Swan at Streatley, responded to this review

Hi Sarah, Thanks for your review, glad to hear that, despite sad circumstances, you've enjoyed your time with us. Brilliant to know that you're coming back in the summer and we promise not to let the sun go down on you!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The rooms were dog friendly almost brand new and excellent size. Highly recommended for the cost. The bar lacked a little character but there are plenty of other places to drink and eat nearby. I would definitely go back if in the area.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jamie b
Michal W, Deputy GM at The Swan at Streatley, responded to this review

Hi Jamie, Great to hear you had a good time at The Swan and got yourself a good deal by booking direct. Brilliant that the location worked well for you. Hope to see you back soon!

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Booked 2 nights here over Christmas. The hotel is being extensivley refurbished. We were warned in October that there would be no restaurant or kitchens over the Christmas but this was not a problem to us. We were just visiting family and needed somewhere to sleep. The rooms are all new and furnished well although I prefer carpet to the...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank pops272
Michal W, Deputy GM at The Swan at Streatley, responded to this review

Great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us - that's what we like to hear! It sounds like you focus on the positives of our new space & bedrooms and friendly atmosphere rather than distract yourself with the signs of much needed refurbishment happening in the background. Thanks for that! We hope to see you back with us soon!

Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 November 2016

Room and bathroom was a good size and very clean. Get a room with river view if possible as waking up to the view is great. Currently undergoing refurbishment it was difficult to find the entrance when we arrived on foot at night so some signage would be good! Only gripe was there was no breakfast included in the £140...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Genevieve S
Michal W, Deputy GM at The Swan at Streatley, responded to this review

Hi Genevieve, Thank you for your constructive feedback. It's great to know you liked your room and enjoyed the spectacular views of the Thames. Thanks for bringing the signage issue to our attention. We're fitting additional external lighting and signs which should rectify this problem. As for the rates, they fluctuate but it's always worth booking direct to get a...

Reviewed 28 October 2016 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights in 3 rooms in the new part of the hotel. Rooms look nice but when you look closer you find lots of imperfections lots of cobwebs and dust, there's no carpet so you can see everything. I moved my bed and there was thick layer of dust but housekeeper was very helpful and he cleaned the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Denky81
Michal W, Deputy GM at The Swan at Streatley, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks for your review, we appreciate your feedback and you'll be pleased to hear that since your stay with us, we've put a lot of time and effort into staff training and getting the missing details spot on to ensure great guest experience. As for breakfast, the restaurant is closed for renovation now, but our beautiful Boat House Cafe...

UK
Reviewed 19 October 2016

We never got to stay in the hotel so I cannot comment on it but I can comment on the very poor customer service. I e mailed the hotel in mid-September to ask about booking two rooms for this coming weekend (Friday 21 to Sunday 23 October 2016). No reply. E mailed a chaser several days later. No reply. So...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank LFKUk
Michael W, General Manager at The Swan at Streatley, responded to this review

Hi, I am not too sure what happened with the email responses or emails in general that were sent, they were clearly not as quick in replying as we normally are and I'm sorry about that. We did send you an email confirmation which included the information about our restaurant closure, and unfortunately Booking.com is a 3rd party website which...

Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 October 2016

I've stayed at the hotel numerous times at least once per month and the refurbished rooms remain some of the best I have ever stayed in. The views of the river and associated wildlife are fantastic. The gym is well stocked with new equipment. My only issue this time around is that the restaurant is shut for refurbishment which I...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank colinj506
Michael W, General Manager at The Swan at Streatley, responded to this review

Hi Colin, Thanks for your constructive feedback, apologies you were not aware of the closure of our restaurant and events space, its much needed as I'm sure you would agree....! We now always sent out bookings confirmation emails with the information regarding this closure, our website is regularly updated plus we advise where is best to eat in the local...

Berlin, Germany
Reviewed 9 October 2016 via mobile

Not so busy at n the moment but a beautiful place to be. Nice in and outdoor sitting Yummy hot chocolate and delicious cake varieties. The town itself isn't that big and no big shopping area. Just come and enjoy the water

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tellthetruth6
Michael W, General Manager at The Swan at Streatley, responded to this review

Hi! Thanks for your review, short but straight to the point! Our Boat House (closest to the bridge side) is now open from 7am and apart from the amazing hot chocolate and cakes we now also offer breakfast and other lovely lunch dishes so worth another visit....! Thanks again. Best wishes, Michael Westenbrink

Reviewed 4 October 2016 via mobile

So pretty to sit on the river side. Picturesque views & warm friendly surroundings. Sadly the whole ensemble has gradually gone down hill. The food is not as good as ot has been & the general decor has deteriated considerably. The good news however is its about to close down for 9 months for a full well deserved revamp. Yipee....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marc P
Michael W, General Manager at The Swan at Streatley, responded to this review

Hi Marc, Thanks so much for your feedback, we are all so looking forward to getting the refurbishment completed, so needed as you rightly say! It's time for the green carpet with swans to make their way to the history books and memories.... Not sure how we can pull off your request for the sun, however the new terrace will...

226 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (202)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (41)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (40)
Viewed
View from Room (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (79)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Streatley-on-Thames
5.9 km away
The Elephant at Pangbourne
The Elephant at Pangbourne
#1 of 4 in Pangbourne
316 reviews
19.7 km away
The Vineyard At Stockcross
16.9 km away
The Great House At Sonning
The Great House At Sonning
#1 of 2 in Sonning-on-Thames
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
32.9 km away
The Oakley Court
The Oakley Court
#2 of 17 in Windsor
2,047 reviews
38.9 km away
Coworth Park - Dorchester Collection
5.9 km away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#3 of 4 in Pangbourne
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Concierge
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Swan at Streatley is set on the banks of the Thames in the picturesque Berkshire village of Streatley and enjoys wonderful views of the river. The Swan has over 20 newly renovated bedrooms, a cafe as well as a new bar and a fully equipped gym and spa. The restaurant is currently closed as The Swan undergoes a multi-million pound investment to redesign of the restaurant, meeting & events spaces. Accommodation is be available on a room only basis in the newly renovated rooms and guests can purchase breakfast, lunch and refreshments onsite at the Boat House Cafe and dine in the local restaurants a short walk from the hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Swan at Streatley

Address: High Street, Streatley-on-Thames RG8 9HR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Streatley-on-Thames
Price Range: $109 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Swan at Streatley 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your The Swan at Streatley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swan At Streatley Hotel Streatley On Thames
Swan At Streatley On Thames
Swan Streatley Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Swan at Streatley staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Swan at Streatley staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“River Suites have every you need, and the best view!”
 of 5 bubbles Q6227YPhelenr, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“A room overlooking the river would be gorgeous”
 of 5 bubbles pops272, 30 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room with a river view.”
 of 5 bubbles 864genevieves, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms at the rear of the hotel overlooking the river are glorious.”
 of 5 bubbles colinj506, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“best views”
 of 5 bubbles 123businessreview, 27 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay