We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

YHA Streatley on Thames

Orbitz.comUS$31*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
YHA Streatley on Thames
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

37 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 37: English reviews
Start your review of YHA Streatley on Thames
 Click to rate
PROPERTY’S FAVOURITE REVIEW
Reviewed 19 April 2017

A typical Youth Hostel in an old building in a great location. We knew what we were getting so chose a couple of rooms as there were 8 of us, 4 men and 4 women. Towels were available to rent so didn't have to carry either sleeping bags or towels on the trip, which was a bonus. Nick was a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andy C
About Property's Favourite Review
Lorient, France
Reviewed 14 March 2017

Quiet and peaceful Hostel, welcoming. Interesting to learn the history of the hostel from pictures and other details on the walls of the drawing room. There is also a really nice pub just round the corner. It was a cold February but there was a fan heater in the bedroom if I had needed it. Slept peacefully and left quite...

Review collected in partnership with YHA (England & Wales)
 Report
Helpful?
Thank janepX6022UA
Nick C, Manager at YHA Streatley on Thames, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review Jane. We are pleased that you had a relaxing stay and look forward to seeing you again. Nick, Emily and Seb

Reviewed 11 November 2016 via mobile

No refund not for kids too many insects flying about ! Dirty bedding Breakfast was ok but that's it no parking N it was far too hot! Promised a refund but no refund yet never ever again will be coming back here

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank pettybo123
Nick C, Manager at YHA Streatley on Thames, responded to this review

Dear Mr and Mrs Mahmood, I did NOT promise a refund when you asked. I specifically told you that if you decided to cancel your 3rd night then you would be eligible for that refund if, and only if, you contacted our reservations office at least 24 hours beforehand. You did not do this so they were not able to...

Reviewed 27 October 2016 via mobile

Used this YHA as a base for a two day trip to legoland in Windsor. Although not on the doorstep it offered excellent value and the drive to the park wasn't excessive. Staff were very friendly on arrival and throughout. Room was clean, bedding was clean and bunks didn't squeak every time someone moved!! Didn't have an evening meal but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David J
Nick C, Manager at YHA Streatley on Thames, responded to this review

Thank you for your review David. We try to keep our prices as affordable as possible for families who are visiting attractions such as LEGOLAND and I am pleased that we were able to play a part in your mini-break

Cardiff
Reviewed 20 October 2016

Three of us stayed here for 2 nights while walking the Goring to Ivinghoe stretch of the Ridgeway. We had 3 cars so shuttled ourselves to the next stage each day. We had a4 person room with bunk beds that was fine for our requirements, perfectly clean and warm with hot showers etc. Good breakfast at a time we wanted...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Philip47
Nick C, Manager at YHA Streatley on Thames, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Philip. It was a pleasure to meet you guys and I am pleased that the walk was a success

Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 September 2016

Very good evening meal and breakfast. The dorm was OK. Had my earplugs in, in case other sleepers snored. Very clean self service kitchen area and also the main cafeteria very well presented. Overall I'd definitely recommend it.

Review collected in partnership with YHA (England & Wales)
 Report
Helpful?
Thank swnic
Nick C, Manager at YHA Streatley on Thames, responded to this review

Hi! Thanks for taking the time out to write a review and thank you for the recommendation. Glad to hear that there were no snorers that night!! Nick

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 August 2016 via mobile

I stayed here as a stopover on route elsewhere due to the location which is great. I was not in a car and had heavy luggage the steps and drive were really steep with no disabled access so I was exhausted after lugging my case up the steep incline and steps. The man behind the bar who checked me in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank debraphillips2016
Nick C, Manager at YHA Streatley on Thames, responded to this review

Hi Debra thank you for your review and for name checking me for carrying your bags! It was no problem at all. You will be pleased to know that the youth hostel is scheduled for a mini makeover in autumn/winter so please come again to see how we have done. Thank you for the compliment about breakfast

London
Reviewed 2 August 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for one night and it was clean, basic and comfortable. The staff were really friendly and nothing was too much trouble. We had an ensuite shower and toilets were close by. The shower was adequate and we hired towels @£1 each. In the evening, after dinner, we watched tv in the lounge with a glass of wine....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LondonLippy
Nick C, Manager at YHA Streatley on Thames, responded to this review

Hi LondonLippy thank you for your kind review. We hope to see you again one day

London, UK
Reviewed 31 July 2016

Two of us walking the Thames Path stayed here for one night. Neither of us are YHA types so weren't sure what to expect. The staff were friendly and helpful. We had our own room with bunk beds and a shower. We were able to rent towels for £1 each. The shared toilets were next door. The place was warm,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gakeitse
Nick C, Manager at YHA Streatley on Thames, responded to this review

Hi Gakeitse thank you for your kind review. I hope that you enjoyed the rest of your Thames Path walk. We do have wi-fi at the youth hostel. I am sorry that it was not mentioned to you when you checked in. Nick

Radlett, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 June 2016

Driveway is very steep so parking can be tricky, especially if a van is taking up the bottom 3 spaces. Basically what you see is what you get. Bedrooms can get stuffy on humid nights, even with windows open. Showers were good with sufficient hanging space. Breakfast was modest but sufficient. Make sure you're in by 11pm!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LolyPolee
Nick C, Manager at YHA Streatley on Thames, responded to this review

Hi PurryGem, thank you for your review. It is only guests that book a bed in a shared dormitory room that we ask to be back in the building by 11.00pm so that they do not disturb each other in the night. Guests who book private or family rooms have 24 hour access

10 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Streatley-on-Thames
0.5 km away
The Swan at Streatley
The Swan at Streatley
#1 of 1 in Streatley-on-Thames
598 reviews
5.4 km away
Weir View House
Weir View House
#2 of 4 in Pangbourne
85 reviews
5.7 km away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#3 of 4 in Pangbourne
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 km away
The Elephant at Pangbourne
The Elephant at Pangbourne
#1 of 4 in Pangbourne
331 reviews
9.3 km away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Wallingford
241 reviews
27.4 km away
YHA Oxford
YHA Oxford
#3 of 21 in Oxford
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about YHA Streatley on Thames

Address: Reading Road, Streatley-on-Thames RG8 9JJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Streatley-on-Thames
Price Range: $30 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — YHA Streatley on Thames 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your YHA Streatley on Thames reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from YHA Streatley on Thames staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Shared rooms are cheapest and are fine, shared toilets and shower as well. Private rooms are about the same as a B&B.”
S3029DCtonyw, 8 Jun 2016 | Read review
“The top front room is lovely and sunny!”
H641PWjanea, 26 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Speak to the warden!”
stuartml2015, 6 Aug 2015 | Read review
3 of 3
Orbitz.com
US$31* /night
View Deal
PricelineUS$31
Hostelworld.com
Hotwire.comUS$31
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates