We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Anchor Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Anchor Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

253 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 252: English reviews
Start your review of The Anchor Hotel
 Click to rate
Devon
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

From the moment we stepped into the reception area a warm welcome awaited us from Vasil. Our room was small but comfortable but as the building is probably 300/400 years old this is only to be expected. Preferable to clinical decor and more space. A small problem with the heating control (hard for us to adjust) was dealt with immediately...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DevonBobby
Garrett H, General Manager at The Anchor Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave such a fantastic review. I am glad that Vasil, Chris & the rest of the team looked after you so well. The Head chef was especially pleased with the feedback, he will be with us a year on the 27th March and we are very happy that he is part...

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The breakfast was cooked to order, so much to eat and fresh, the staff were very helpful and polite , I would definitely stay here again , the room was clean and fresh Some lovely walks nearby, seating area available outside was very relaxing and peaceful

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anna C
Garrett H, General Manager at The Anchor Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Anna, Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. I will be sure to share your review with the team and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel when next in the area. Thanks again, Garrett Hayes, General Manager.

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed for one night only, tiny room but bedding appeared clean. Bathroom was only a shower room, dirty and ill fitted with the door catching so it could not be closed properly. Loo roll holder was positioned about three feet away from the toilet and the toilet roll itself was some cheap nasty one sheet brand that should be banned...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Karen R
Garrett H, General Manager at The Anchor Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Karen, I would like to apologise for the sub-standard experience you had whilst staying with us. It would be great if you could contact me directly so I can discuss your stay in full with you, I can be contacted at Anchor@Desboroughhotels.com. Apologies again and I look forward to hearing from you, Garrett Hayes, General Manager.

Walton-On-Thames, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We had our family get together meal at this hotel, 30 people and they looked after us very well, the food was good, the service was good and we shall be going there again next year, says it all really, thank you.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hersham027
Garrett H, General Manager at The Anchor Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Robbins, Thank you for your lovely comments. I am glad to hear your dinner went so well and that you are already planning to return again in the future. I will be sure to share this review with the team. Thanks again, Garrett Hayes, General Manager.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I had a great time staying here. The food is great! The service is awesome! It's just a 5 minute drive to Shepperton Studios or a 40 minute walk. My room was small, but I had everything I needed: clean bathroom, soft bed, tasty English food, and plenty of beer! Love this hotel! I would recommend it to everyone!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Katie T
Garrett H, General Manager at The Anchor Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Katie, Thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review of your stay. I am glad you enjoyed your week with us and I have shared your comments with the entire team. We look forward to welcoming you back when next in the area. Kind regards, Garrett Hayes, General Manager.

alextrav
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed at the hotel the night before the Thorpe Park half marathon and arrived at about 10pm. Bad points: I tried to contact the hotel via phone to advise I would be arriving late and could not get a response. The car parks were full and so I had to park a distance away in a residential area. On...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alextrav
Garrett H, General Manager at The Anchor Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Wilson, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. I would like to apologise especially on behalf of the housekeeping team for the number of blunders you incurred during your stay. We have sat down, gone through all the points raised and I hope no one else will have the same poor experience as you moving...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Charming olde England public rooms. Food average. Bedroom compact and in need of a makeover, other than the small flat screen TV. Reminiscent of typical 60's Britain hotel - slightly seedy! Certainly not a first choice for a return visit. 2 star rating at best.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stuartpmp
Garrett H, General Manager at The Anchor Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I am sorry to see your stay with us was not as expected, apologies. We have never been described as seedy and I am wondering if an incident occured to lead you to this conclusion. If so please email directly anchor@desboroughhotels.com and I will investigate it. Apologies again. Regards, Garrett Hayes, General Manager.

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

We had my partners 70th birthday party at the Anchor, so decided to make a weekend of it with family/friends staying at both the Anchor and the Warren Friday-Monday. The Anchor itself has a very warm old charm about it and very comfortable. The staff extremely friendly and will do anything to help to make sure your stay is an...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Theresa M
Garrett H, General Manager at The Anchor Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Theresa, We really enjoyed hosting your special event last weekend. The whole team felt so at ease with all your guests and it was pleasure to look after you. The kitchen team & Tony our head chef had a very busy weekend but coped very well. Thank you for taking the time to review us and we look forward...

Truro, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I travel from Cornwall to visit my son in Shepperton regularly and I simply would not stay anywhere else. I am welcomed like an old family friend by the General Manager and all the staff are professional, friendly and charming. The hotel has a lovely decor and atmosphere, a well stocked bar and a terrace looking over the very pretty...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jopaulxx
Garrett H, General Manager at The Anchor Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Joanna, Thank you for such a lovely review. We are really delighted that you feel so comfortable when staying in Shepperton at the hotel - the positive feedback will be shared with the whole team. We look forward to welcoming you back when next visiting your son. Regards, Garrett Hayes, General Manager.

Amesbury, Massachusetts
Reviewed 14 February 2017

While my single room was small, service was impeccable. Lovely old Inn full of historic features. Marvellous Breakfast and again great service. The Thames is just across the Square. A delightful reprieve after a not so great experience the night before in Chertsey.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank monty551
Garrett H, General Manager at The Anchor Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Monty, Thank you for your five star review. Such lovely feedback is greatly appreciated by the whole team. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future. Regards, Garrett Hayes, General Manager.

49 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (48)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shepperton
0.1 km away
The Warren Lodge Hotel
The Warren Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Shepperton
551 reviews
1.6 km away
BEST WESTERN Ship Hotel Weybridge
2.1 km away
Holiday Inn London-Shepperton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
The Bridge Hotel
The Bridge Hotel
#3 of 4 in Chertsey
573 reviews
1.7 km away
Oatlands Park Hotel
Oatlands Park Hotel
#2 of 4 in Weybridge
880 reviews
4.1 km away
Brooklands Hotel
Brooklands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Weybridge
2,444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about The Anchor Hotel

Address: Church Square, Shepperton TW17 9JZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Shepperton
Price Range: $80 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The Anchor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Anchor Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Anchor Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“My room looked over the Square, which was very pleasant”
 of 5 bubbles monty551, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Get the largest you can afford. The staircases are narrow the higher you go.”
 of 5 bubbles philip_gearing, 27 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Take ear plugs.”
 of 5 bubbles mallyinswanage, 23 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Room 8 on first floor overlooks the Square”
 of 5 bubbles RGHD1951, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“nicer view at the front of the hotel”
 of 5 bubbles MarieFrance_67, 12 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5