We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Wellington Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
The Wellington Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

427 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Wellington Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 415: English reviews
Reviewed 25 May 2015

We arrived at the end of a long drive, early evening from The Cotswolds last Wednesday. First impressions, the building looked great, the lady on reception was very pleasant as was the the young man who took us to our room. The Thomas Hardy Room was clean, spacious and the flowers I'd ordered together with a card for my wife...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Paul W
Jonathan S, Owner at The Wellington Hotel, responded to this review

We are sorry about the wait time for your dinner in the Restaurant. The Head Chef and myself have spoken about what happened this particular evening to see if this can be avoided in the future. Unfortunately, it will happen occassionally when we are very busy as we cook all dishes to order from fresh ingredients. It would be great...

Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 May 2015

We called here during a stay in Boscastle, just for a drink initially but came back to eat the following day. Good choice on the menu in the bar, the food was very good and generous portions. Particularly friendly staff made us feel very welcome. If you want good food at a reasonable price you won't be disappointed.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Beansabout
Reviewed 20 May 2015 via mobile

A very charming English hotel which made me proud. It can be done, it is here. I've stayed in many hotels around the world many more expensive than this but this one ranks pound for pound up there. The restaurant deserves it's two A A rosettes too. So friendly and helpful . We went with friends who have been here...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Simon C
JSWellington, Owner at The Wellington Hotel, responded to this review

I guess that it is a natural tendency to pay more attention to less positive reviews so that we can rectify the issue and continue to improve. However, every now and then we read a positive review and it is lovely just to sit back and enjoy the moment. This is one such review. It may be a short simple...

Reviewed 17 May 2015

My wife and I decided to take a short break away in February and as we had not been to Boscastle before we thought of trying a established hotel. We booked one of the Turrett rooms that offer plenty of space. We were not disappointed, it was a very nice room just a few minor touches would have made it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
Reviewed 7 May 2015

we stopped here for lunch last week and had a nice good value lunch, not outstanding but certainly worth a visit. Menu did have some interesting modern dishes on although i went for the classic fish and chips my wife had a chicken and chorizo dish, she did complain that there wasn't much chicken though!.. all in all a pleasant...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jason G
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 May 2015

We spend one night at the Wellington Hotel in Boscastle, an attractive hotel in a charming village. Our room was lovely with a big comfy bed and good quality bedding. Tea-making facilities were good (plenty of choice with nice biscuits) and there were lots of toiletries in the bathroom. The bar-tender was very pleasant and the Guinness was good. My...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Teedee43
JSWellington, Owner at The Wellington Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review and great to hear that you enjoyed your stay. As for the smoking, what can I say.......! You can hopefully see from many previous reviews that our staff work really hard and take great pride in making our customers' stay as enjoyable as possible. When we discussed your review and the obvious poor impression created by...

Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 April 2015

We stayed in a Turret Room on our wedding night in this hotel. The bed was huge (I'm 6'2") and very comfy. The room was well stocked but it would've been nice to have real milk instead of UHT at this price and the shower was small, especially given the size of the rest of the room. The breakfast was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ollie E
Penzance, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 April 2015

We stayed for 2 nights in the Tower room, the room was perfect, clean, spacious with views over Boscastle. The staff are very friendly, polite and attentive I simply could not fault them on the service they provided. We ate both nights in the bar and would say that the food arrived quickly and was delicious! We would honestly have...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Andy B
Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 April 2015

Two night stay as part of a longer family holiday in Cornwall. Boscastle is beautiful and the hotel is right in the middle with great walks from the front door. We stayed in the family room, which had a separate bunk room for the children. Good food in the bar, too.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bumbleumpy
London
Reviewed 9 April 2015

Just returned home after a lovely four night stay at the Wellington. Staff were very friendly and looked after us very well. We had a great evening joining in the quiz night with the locals. I would just say would like to have seen more choice on the specials board, it didn't change for three of the evenings we were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LondonVivien

169 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (149)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (33)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (91)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boscastle
5.0 km away
Camelot Castle Hotel
Camelot Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Tintagel
1,091 reviews
15.9 km away
The Longcross Hotel & Gardens
4.2 km away
Bossiney House Hotel
Bossiney House Hotel
#3 of 6 in Tintagel
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.0 km away
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#4 of 8 in Padstow
1,297 reviews
20.9 km away
St. Moritz Hotel
St. Moritz Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wadebridge
875 reviews
14.1 km away
Port Gaverne Hotel
Port Gaverne Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port Gaverne
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Laundry Service
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Overlooking the harbour in the Cornish fishing village of Boscastle and surrounded by the beautiful North Cornwall coastline, the Wellington Hotel has benn providing a warm welcome to its guests for many years. A Listed 16th Century Coaching Inn, the Hotel has 14 bedrooms, a traditional pub serving Cornish real ales and home cooked food and a fantastic 2 AA rosette restaurant. There are 10 acres of private woodland walks and the Hotel is in an ideal location for walking the Coastal Path and for discovering Cornwall. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Wellington Hotel

Address: The Harbour, Boscastle PL35 0AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Boscastle
Price Range: $162 - $272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Wellington Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, HRS, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Wellington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wellington Hotel Boscastle
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Wellington Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
St. Petersburg, Florida

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Wellington Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Turret room is spacious &. Has great view”
 of 5 bubbles andrewfoxon540, 10 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Perfect for Halloween, especially room 10 - supposedly!”
 of 5 bubbles ppe1979, 10 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Apparently room 9 is the haunted room :)”
 of 5 bubbles L5690PEpauls, 4 Nov 2016 | Read review
“1 bedroom suites are amazing.”
 of 5 bubbles Abobdog, 15 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We went for lunch not to stay”
 of 5 bubbles MichaelB303, 11 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay