We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Driftwood Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Driftwood Hotel
Driftwood Hotel
Panoramas (4)
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

455 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Driftwood Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 450: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 July 2015

Delightful hotel with breathtaking views and glorious grounds. Food was excellent. Although the hotel welcomes children it really caters for couples or those with older children. Children are not allowed in the restaurant unless they are eating the same delicious Michelin-starred fare as their parents. We had our 7 year old with us and she was really too young to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dorcs
Paul R, Owner at Driftwood Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you, I am delighted you enjoyed yourselves. I do take your point about children, we have lots to stay and they bare very welcome but there are certainly other more family focused hotels. I hope we will see you again and your child in the restaurant!

Woodford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 July 2015

The Driftwood's New England style, set overlooking the Bay is wonderful. We loved the style, location and lovely food. Having arrived after staying at two other venues for two nights, We were tired and looking forward to some afternoon tea. Disappointed that there were no facilities in our room, We went down to the restaurant. Tea and delicious cake but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jacqui077
Paul R, Owner at Driftwood Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the review and I am delighted you enjoyed yourselves. We do offer a complimentary tea tray in the room but do charge for tea and cake and cream teas. I'm sorry you think £7 for a pot of local Tregothnan tea and delicious home made cake is extortionate. I hope we will see you again.

Farmington, Connecticut
Reviewed 19 July 2015

Spectacular and special hotel with chairs outside to sink into or drink in. Sea views and greenery. The room was pretty and the bed was poufy and super comfy, white matelaise quilt and puffy pillows. Room: We stayed in room 4, pretty look out to lawn and it was at the end of the building so we had two windows...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bravo-cinzia
Paul R, Owner at Driftwood Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you, I'm so pleased you enjoyed yourselves. We obviously slipped up on check in as we do offer a tea tray in the room although we find most guests like the luxury of having someone make it for them! I hope we will see you again.

Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 July 2015

Earlier in the year in February we stayed in this lovely hotel and had such a marvellous time with an excellent room, superb food, beautiful location and attentive staff that before we left we booked to take very good friends of ours to dinner at Driftwood on July 3rd as staying with family elsewhere for the week. The food was...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Maggie S
Paul R, Owner at Driftwood Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Mrs S for taking the time to write a review. I'm sorry you were disappointed, particularly as you enjoyed your previous stay so much. I am, however, surprised and disappointed that you have made such personal comments about one of our staff on a public forum, rather than contacting either myself or Fiona. We are grown up enough...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 July 2015

I would have given this a straight 5 stars if we'd been staying in the room we were upgraded to (for free), but the initial room we were given was disappointing in a number of ways given it cost £200 for the night. Let's get that out of the way - make sure you avoid it even if you have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tonysony
Paul R, Owner at Driftwood Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you, I am pleased you enjoyed yourselves and you clearly appreciated the upgrade. Most of our rooms do have showers above the bath and that is always made clear on our room descriptions, funnily enough, we find most of our guests prefer baths over showers. Sorry, no mini minibars but our champagne is chilled!, We don't have large TV's...

norwich
Reviewed 8 July 2015

A wonderful all round experience for five whole nights. A fabulous room with stunning views followed by amazing food and good all round ambience. Fantastic staff who just get the right balance between being friendly and unstuffy but soundly professional.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jennifermsNorwich
Paul R, Owner at Driftwood Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you, I'm delighted that you are so pleased with your stay and think we have got the balance right. We look forward to seeing you again

poole
Reviewed 8 July 2015

This is a really excellent small hotel which we have now visited for a second time. For me it has two great attractions, above all else, including the usual freindly service. The first is its one star Michelin Restaurant which is still outstanding. The second is its position, overlooking the sea and coastline, perched high-up on the cliffs of South...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dinners
Paul R, Owner at Driftwood Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much, that is a lovely review and I hope we will shortly see you for a third time.

Salisbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 July 2015

Back to Driftwood again. After all these years, still managing that perfect balance between the friendly unpretentiousness of a family-run hotel, and the class and elegance of the Savoy. Surely, their second Michelin star can not be far away?

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Denis C
Paul R, Owner at Driftwood Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you, I'm pleased we surpassed you expectations and look forward to seeing you again.

St Mawes, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 July 2015

I was delighted to be given a birthday dinner voucher for 2 for Driftwood - a special birthday too! Personally as a local I had reservations that Driftwood might be a bit stuffy - but we were put at ease immediately on arrival - it is like walking into a large house! We were shown to the small bar and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank burrowsemma
Paul R, Owner at Driftwood Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for such a fantastic review, I'm so pleased that you enjoyed yourselves so much. You should be here now, beautiful weather, drinks outside and everything looking lovely. I do hope we will see you again soon.

Wales
Reviewed 28 June 2015

We stayed at The Driftwood one night on the way home from Cornwall, mainly for michelin star restaurant, which we found stuffy and too formal. Stunning situation and friendly welcome. Overall we were disappointed with the room and we thought it did not marry up with the cost which was on high side. The shower for example was the basic...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank travellerinfrancetwo
Paul R, Owner at Driftwood Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and I'm genuinely sorry you were disappointed. We don't, however, employ incompetent staff and yes most of them are female and I'm a little surprised that's an issue. As for opening the wine at the table, trust me, restaurants at our level don't refill the chosen wine bottles with another...

364 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (191)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (53)
Viewed
View from Room (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
Dining (42)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (44)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (166)
Viewed
Amenities (15)
Viewed
King Room (38)
Viewed
King Room with Deck (35)
Viewed
Queen Room (32)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
The Hotel (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rosevine
8.2 km away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 24 in Falmouth
149 reviews
4.9 km away
The Idle Rocks
The Idle Rocks
#1 of 6 in St Mawes
366 reviews
26.9 km away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
The Rosevine
The Rosevine
#2 of 2 in Rosevine
61 reviews
6.2 km away
The Lugger Hotel
The Lugger Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portloe
839 reviews
37.5 km away
Talland Bay Hotel
Talland Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Porthallow
800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Imagine your perfect holiday - a stylish, privately run Cornish Beach House Hotel, overlooking the stunning Gerrans Bay, near the pretty village of Portscatho, near St Mawes South Cornwall. Driftwood is like no other boutique hotel in Cornwall. Driftwood has the friendly informal service, a michelin star restaurant, and the efficiency you would expect. Where else can you walk down a wooded path, to your own beach and cove? Where else can you lie back on a steamer chair, with a glass of wine, and enjoy an unbroken sea view. Where else can you eat the best, locally sourced food, perhaps lobster caught that morning, or crab from the bay? Whoever you are or whatever your looking for, whether that be a family holiday, a boutique or romantic hotel in Cornwall, Driftwood is perfect for all your needs. At Driftwood, families can be as well looked after as romantic couples or small groups of grown-ups. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Driftwood Hotel

Address: Rosevine | Near Portscatho, Rosevine TR2 5EW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Rosevine
Price Range: $332 - $472 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Driftwood Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Driftwood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Driftwood Hotel Rosevine
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Driftwood Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Driftwood Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“11 great sea views, we were told 5 & 6 were also good rooms”
LarryF885, 13 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Our room had own access, which made it easily accessible and more private, it was not in main building.”
DawnH78, 5 Apr 2017 | Read review
“All rooms are delightful”
rich5749, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
“All but one room enjoys stunning sea views.”
RayB464, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Get a sea view”
Judders2014, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5