We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Porth Avallen Hotel

Save
Traveller (71)
Room & Suite (28)
Dining (14)
You may also like
See all
Nearby Hotels
Overview
  • Excellent35%
  • Very good30%
  • Average15%
  • Poor13%
  • Terrible7%
Travellers talk about
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast Buffet
Air Conditioning
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Room Service
3 Star Hotel
All hotel details
You may also like
See all
Nearby Hotels
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (303)
Filter reviews
290 results
Traveller rating
95
87
44
41
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
95
87
44
41
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsi highly recommend this hotelstunning views of the baybay windowcarlyon baysticky toffee puddingeden projectcoastal pathcharming hotelchoice at breakfastst austell baysmoked salmonlast minute bookingclotted creamfantastic locationsunday lunchfour poster bedvery pleasant stay
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 290 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

I visited with my wife and another couple. The location is beautiful. The hotel is nice but our rooms needed some attention. We booked 'deluxe' rooms but not sure if we got them. The room was plain, the chairs were dirty, wallpaper ripped, fan in...More

Thank billsimpson603
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Had a wonderful two night stay in the Avalen suite fantastic view such peace and quite, All the staff we met were friendly and very helpfull, Dined in the main restaurant one night the food was really wonderfull and the breakfasts were really good. Would...More

Thank Marion F
Reviewed 1 week ago

Super location within Sea Road which is made up of mainly large, splendid houses with amazing views across Carlyon Bay. The hotel itself is fine but could do with some upgrading although was clean, comfortable and dinner on the one evening that we stayed was...More

Thank MikeFSurrey
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed the Porth Avellen recently for three nights,was blown away with the view on arrival ( if you can ,book a sea view room) .The hotel is very clean , tidy and comfortable, bedroom was of the same,the staff were very helpful and friendly the...More

Thank Michael P
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights with work and took advantage of my free time to visit Charlestown and the beaches within walking distance. The hotel is great lots of parking and the location overlooks the sea. The staff where friendly and professional and the food...More

Thank Jonathan M
View more reviews
Most Booked Properties in St Austell
See allSee all
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Room Service
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Breakfast Available
Shuttle Bus Service
Room Service
Dry Cleaning
Meeting Rooms
Laundry Service
Banquet Room
Multilingual Staff
Conference Facilities
Room amenities
Air Conditioning
Refrigerator in room
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
US$127 - US$242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#8 Romantic Hotel in St Austell
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Suites, Family Rooms
Details
Price range
US$127 - US$242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#8 Romantic Hotel in St Austell
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Suites, Family Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (71)
Room & Suite (28)
Dining (14)
Pool & Beach (1)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (3)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Dave T
Interested in reading your reviews. We booked in for 3 night's stay in June to celebrate our 48th wedding anniversary. On the third night I was woken at midnight and again at 6am by very loud fan noise appearing to emanate from just outside our room. There was no one to whom we were able to complain but at 6:15 a couple of the hotel workers arrived and heard the noise. I tried to complain on checking out but the owner/manager was too busy to see me and told his staff to get me to email my complaint. Needless to say my email and follow up recorded delivery letter were totally ignored. I am sending a final letter today and expect to be starting proceedings in the Small Claims Court in 2 weeks time citing "accomodation not fit for purpose" and "Loss of enjoyment of life". Do you think this is the appropriate action for me to take?
November 28, 2015|
Answer
Response from Dave T |
I was not expecting a reply but to my final letter but George phoned me when he received it.He said my initial complaint was lost due to a computer problem in July and a manager leaving. He immediately settled my claim and... More
2
Votes
Room Tips
"Ask for a room with a sea view."
Read review
"Sea view only I suggest"
Read review
"Sea facing,and if possible the suite"
Read review
"We were in a rear wing extension, bit of a route march through narrow corridors ...prime rooms to the front"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing