We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Top House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Top House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

198 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Top House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 189: English reviews
Altendorf, Switzerland
Reviewed 11 July 2016

We stayed at the pub for one night. The rooms where clean and beautiful decorated. I would recommend it. The bathroom was good too. Friendly accommodation. At the evening I ate a lovely fish pie. It was so nice.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jaydee93
Glosby, Owner at The Top House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and food. We appreciate any recommendations, so thanks! Regards Donna Glosby, Director

St Albans, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 July 2016

Wonderful weekend at the Top House. Friendly, helpful staff. Beautiful room, comfortable bed. Lovely bathroom, with shampoo, conditioner, shower gel provided. Food excellent. Small friendly village. Would definitely recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jane A
Glosby, Owner at The Top House, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review! We really appreciate your feedback and great to hear you had a great weekend and would recommend us - thank you! Come back and see us again! Best wishes Donna Glosby, Director

Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 July 2016

Stayed here for three nights on a recent mini-break. Pleasant inn with a nice bar and well-kept local beers. The rooms are comfortable and clean and the food served in the evening is to a good standard . I do have one criticism however: not everybody can tolerate diary produce and to be told "no" when enquiring if there is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank George M
Glosby, Owner at The Top House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us; your feedback is much appreciated. It is good to hear that you enjoyed your stay and enjoyed the food. I am sorry you were not able to enjoy a dairy free spread at breakfast. We do not hold a dairy free spread in stock but where we are advised in advance...

Helston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 July 2016 via mobile

Ordered 2 ploughmans lunches which is basically a rather poorly filled sandwich spread out. Although the menu stated these came with baguettes they are in fact a small baguette cut in half - and you only get the one half. As for the pickled onion cut in half - yes you've guessed it you only get one half - this...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 166M1966
Glosby, Owner at The Top House, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I am very surprised to read your review. We have always considered our Ploughmans to be a good size as it fills a large oval plate, however if if was not to your expectation or satisfaction all you needed to do was tell us! We are in the hospitality industry and here to please, if...

Bristol, England
Reviewed 6 July 2016 via mobile

We were in lizard for a family break and Had a roast here Sunday and it was delicious would definately recommend. Staff were all friendly food was quick coming out and presented nicely and reasonably priced. I don't usually leave reviews but the food was lovely.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank crystal1987
Reviewed 2 July 2016 via mobile

Hubby brought me down to the Lizard for a birthday surprise weekend. We arrived on Thursday afternoon and settled into our accommodation, where our hosts recommended the Top House. Thanks hosts it was perfect for a casual supper for two travel weary, real ale loving foodies. We both chose pan fried hake on a potato and fennel salad which was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lizz C
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 June 2016 via mobile

Great place, lovely atmosphere, welcoming staff, dogs welcome, friendly locals and great food.... I had the roasted pepper, tomato and basil arimcini was soooooo nice!! Would recommend if looking for somewhere nice to stop and have some lunch!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sarahwilmot
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 June 2016

Stayed here for four nights with friends, the place is very clean and rooms spacious, we ate every night here and the food was good and service excellent. If you love be walking as we do, then there are plenty of walks to do.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stephen P
Reviewed 27 June 2016 via mobile

What a nice way to end a day of walking .pub very nice can get very busy .we went for the beer batterd cod .which was very nice the meals all looked nice .staff very friendly. Puddings looked nice but was full after the fish .well done top house

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gel R
Innsbruck
Reviewed 22 June 2016 via mobile

Had lunch there at the end of a great walk on the South West Coast Path for the 4th time in 3 years. Always very good. Great atmosphere. Nice and friendly staff. Great variety of beverages and food. Free WiFi.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank UrsulaHans

52 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (39)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near The Lizard
0.7 km away
Housel Bay Hotel & Restaurant
6.6 km away
Mullion Cove Hotel
Mullion Cove Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mullion
480 reviews
7.0 km away
Polurrian Bay Hotel
Polurrian Bay Hotel
#2 of 2 in Mullion
734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.1 km away
Budock Vean Hotel
Budock Vean Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mawnan Smith
620 reviews
15.2 km away
Premier Inn Helston Hotel
10.0 km away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coverack
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Top House Inn is a 200 year old traditional Cornish Inn situated in the heart of The Lizard Village. 8 delightful ensuite rooms, some with sea views. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Top House

Address: The Lizard, The Lizard TR12 7NQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > The Lizard
Price Range: $129 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Top House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Top House The Lizard, UK - Cornwall
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Top House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Our room was Polpeor which looked out to sea.”
 of 5 bubbles Rexgom, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Sandwiches and baguettes - great choice.”
 of 5 bubbles 485terryb, 8 Jan 2017 | Read review
“There are a couple of rooms with sea views but we were not in the rooms very much so it didn't really matter.”
 of 5 bubbles LizzyD2, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
“The hotel,doesn't have a lift so if you are physically challenged then sadly this may not be the best Inn for you to stay in.”
 of 5 bubbles CollieDog58, 9 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We were at the back .. Very quiet and comfortable :)”
 of 5 bubbles Jodes9, 18 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5