We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge

Save
Share
Skinners Shoot Rd Arts Factory Village, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481 Australia
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$106
View deal
Hotels.com
Agoda.com
US$87
View deal
Expedia.comUS$106
TravelocityUS$106
Destinia.comUS$113
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (220)
360
Panoramas (34)
Room & Suite (146)

About

#20 of 105 Specialty lodging in Byron Bay
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Wifi
Pool
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Game room
Shuttle bus service
BBQ facilities
Parking
Paid wifi
Outdoor pool
Fence around pool
Restaurant
Table tennis
Board games / puzzles
Baggage storage
Picnic area
Shared bathroom
Shared kitchen
Shared lounge / TV area
Express check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Safe
Seating area
Kitchenette
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Languages Spoken
English, Dutch, German, Italian
838Reviews9Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 323
  • 211
  • 143
  • 87
  • 74
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Lukas wrote a review Jan. 2023
28 contributions
If you approach this place with an open mind you will have an exceptional experience. Yes, reviews will say this and that regarding cleanliness etc but pay it no mind. This is about experiencing the wealth of interesting characters you will no doubt meet in a setting that breathes creativity and promotes human connectivity. I have come back to this place many times. The longer you stay the better. I strongly recommend the camp area where most long termers reside.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Bring a tent. Mosquito spray, guitar, open mind.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Connor C wrote a review Nov. 2022
1 contribution
Great facilities, awesome tucked away spot and lovely atmosphere. They have lots on here which get you involved with all the other people staying. All the staff great, extra thank you to Andrea for making our stay enjoyable.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
BoabGlen wrote a review Nov. 2022
Wanaka, New Zealand12 contributions6 helpful votes
I just had a great stay here. Food on site was cheap as, welcoming vibe. There's a good talent show Monday, awesome bush with Paul. Andrea was extremely helpful and lovely to deal with. Will be back for sure 😃
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Simon Huntink wrote a review Nov. 2022
Soest, The Netherlands1 contribution
Perfect accommodation for a stay in Byron Bay. It is such a nice place with a cool swimming pool, nice outside dining area and a volleyball court. Friendly and helpful staff at the reception (thank you Andrea) and at the bar. Loved my stay and 10/10 would recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Arts Info, General Manager at The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge
Responded Nov. 20, 2022
Hey Legend, Thanks so much for your epic review, it means so much to us! We hope that you had a great time in Byron Bay and that you get to come back soon! Thanks again, Arts Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Cecily A wrote a review Oct. 2022
4 contributions
Most amazing hostel! Cockatoo Paul provided amazing entertainment! Perfect for like minded people and a happy environment! Definitely give it a visit! Trust me you won't want to leave! There's also a volley ball court which is soooo fun!!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Arts Info, General Manager at The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge
Responded Oct. 19, 2022
Hey Legend, Thanks so much for your amazing review! We hope that you enjoyed Byron and that you get to come back again soon! Thanks again, Arts Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Carla wrote a review Oct. 2022
11 contributions10 helpful votes
The staff are really helpful and friendly but the whole ‘vibe’ of the place is really forced. A lot of the residents are long-term and act like they’re good vibes but they hang in cliques, make inconsiderate noise at all hours of the night/morning and look down/giggle at newcomers. The place online seemed like a nice retreat for me to come to chill, make some art and vibe with people on the same wavelength but upon arrival it’s pretty apparent it’s full of young gap year students who think they’re really edgy and different but they have a really negative aura. If you can get over this though, it’s a pleasant stay, just wish it was more peaceful and relaxing
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Arts Info, General Manager at The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge
Responded Oct. 19, 2022
Hey, Thanks so much for your review, it means a lot to us! Sadly there are some long termers, however in our experience they are mostly very welcoming and friendly - though we do recognize that this isn't something we can necessarily control and would like to apologies for your experience. We hope that you were able to enjoy Byron all the same, and that you had a great trip. Thanks again, Arts Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lauren F wrote a review Oct. 2022
8 contributions
We stayed in an all female dorm and it was pretty clean. The staff is super friendly and the coffee and food are great! Also on our first night there was a free one-man music/comedy show Cool experience!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Watch out for turkeys and iguanas.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Arts Info, General Manager at The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge
Responded Oct. 19, 2022
Hey Legend, Thanks so much for your awesome review! We are over the moon that you enjoyed Cockatoo Paul's one man band and hope that you enjoyed Byron as well! We hope to see you again one day soon! Thanks again, Arts Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Claire S wrote a review Sep. 2022
4 contributions
Stayed here for a night to check out Byron bay! What a great experience Beautiful hostel with a sociable and friendly vibe! Quietened down by 11pm too which was great as we stayed in one of the tipis ! Tipi was a fun and authentic experience and if you don’t mind the odd little beetle passing through would highly recommend this ! 🤣 Loved it x
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Plenty of parking There is a laundrette
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Arts Info, General Manager at The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge
Responded Oct. 19, 2022
Hi Claire, Thanks so much for your amazing review, it means so much to us! We hope that you enjoyed Byron and that you get to come back again soon! Thanks again, Arts Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ME_l0ve wrote a review Sep. 2022
Gold Coast, Australia100 contributions44 helpful votes
We booked at the Arts Factory because I was intrigued by the style and the fact that was on a quiet area of Byron and away from the bars. We booked a private Island room on the lagoon; the room is made out of tent and has a wooden frame with sliding doors to get into the room and to go out of the balcony. to get in one of the private rooms need to walk through a green area on a wooden path which is really nice. the downside is that being made out of a tent material you can hear anything from outside and also it is not weatherproof, it can be very cold at night or very hot during the day. That night we came back around 10 pm and went straight to bed, there were still people around the resort chatting and having a good time. no dramas. around 1.30 am it got much louder, music and loud talking which we initially ignored. around 2.30 couldn't bare it anymore and called the reception. the night guy said that will look into that. we managed to fall asleep again. then a 5 am it was getting unbearable the noise, the music and loud talking, very disrespected bunch of people that didn't care about other guests staying. I called the reception again and spoke to the same guy, this time I heard the guy went and talk to the group. the group of people were very rude to the staff member and became argumentative. they argued for 20 minutes, and the staff member couldn't get them to stop. they just ignored him and kept going. It was a nightmare for us, we barely slept. Cleanliness, the bathrooms are shocking, I saw one morning one of the "cleaners" mopping both bathrooms (male and female) without changing the water in the bucket, he was walking barefoot which is unhygienic also dangerous on a wet floor. I think this is what you get when the company uses the backpackers that are staying there as a worker in exchange for free stay. Good bathroom amenities provided. We wanted to try the coffee shop but was closed at 1 pm when we arrived and also closed at 8 am on the next day when we were checking out. Not sure how many hours operates. Wouldn't come back.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Arts Info, General Manager at The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge
Responded Oct. 19, 2022
Hey Legend, Thanks so much for your informative review. I hope you understand that we can't always control what other people do - even though we can try. We have since had similar issues with the same group of people and some of them have been asked to leave due to this. We are so sorry that you had this negative experience. We have been trying very hard to make sure everything is clean - we sometimes miss a few spots, but we are so sorry that you found them all on this occasion. Being barefoot is not permitted by any staff and you are right - this has also been amended, as well as changing the water in the buckets. We don't use any work for accommodation staff - all of our staff are paid, and so should be better than what you have experienced. We have also passed on your feedback to the cafe - which is a different business from us. They are now open 7am-11pm. We are sorry that you had a bad time here and wish that it could have been better for you. Regardless, we thank you for the time it obviously took to write this review and hope that you had a good time in Byron despite this. Thanks again, Arts Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ashleighhhh wrote a review Aug. 2022
2 contributions
+1
Absolutely brilliant. Lovely staff. Lovely food. Good atmosphere. Even though I didn't do any of the activities they always seemed really fun. Amenities were good, always clean when I used them. Beautiful views. Would definitely recommend and I will be going back :)
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$55 - US$122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the arts factory backpackers hotel byron bay
LOCATION
AustraliaNew South WalesByron ShireByron Bay
NUMBER OF ROOMS
41
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge (C̶$̶1̶4̶6̶) C$131 - UPDATED 2023 Prices, Reviews & Photos (Byron Bay, Australia) - Hostel - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge
Which popular attractions are close to The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge?
Nearby attractions include Byron Bay (1.0 km), Byron Bay Farmers Market (0.6 km), and Craig Parry Photography (1.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge?
Conveniently located restaurants include Manna Haven, Love Byron Bay Creperie & Chocolate Boutique, and Chihuahua.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge have an airport shuttle?
Yes, The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.4 km away from the centre of Byron Bay.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, German, Italian, and Dutch.