We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
35 Lawson St, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481 Australia
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
US$220
View deal
Free cancellation until 23-02-10
Booking.com
US$214
View deal
Free cancellation until 23-02-09
Agoda.com
US$169
View deal
Free cancellation until 23-02-09
Hotels.comUS$220
TravelocityUS$220
ZenHotels.comUS$223
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (51)
Room & Suite (36)
Pool & Beach (2)

About

#17 of 38 hotels in Byron Bay
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Waves Byron Bay is a 20 room Stylish Boutique Hotel located in the heart of Byron Bay on the Beach. Guests enjoy a high standard of amenities. All rooms include Air-Conditioning, King Size Bath and separate Shower,STD/ISD phones,Plasma TV's, Austar, DVD Player, Stereo System, Clock Radio, Wireless Internet, Electronic Room Safes, Ironing Board and Iron, Mini Bar and Tea and Coffee making facilities. Secure undercover basement parking. Room rates include a complimentary 'light start to the day' of locally sourced muffins along with coffee, tea, orange juice and fruit.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Hiking
Babysitting
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Express check-in / check-out
Car park
Wifi
Complimentary tea
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
Shops
Dry cleaning
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Coffee / tea maker
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Safe
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, French
416Reviews2Q+A71Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 168
  • 152
  • 56
  • 21
  • 19
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
delaura2014 wrote a review Jan. 2023
Brisbane, Australia13 contributions10 helpful votes
Reception requested we provide a credit card imprint just as a precautionary measure. They said only 1 AUD would be requested but not charged to account. DO NOT provide this hotel with your credit card details. We did not take anything from the mini bar but after we checked out, our credit card was charged!!! Our credit card company then charged us for a foreign exchange rate. This hotel also charged my daughter for use of a cot which had been placed in her room in event her 3 year old needed to use. Seems as though the.management at this establishment will charge for anything they consider they can gey away with. Perhaps they think small amounts charged will not be quibbles about. WRONG!@
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jo F, Guest Services / Front Office at Waves Byron Bay
Responded 2 weeks ago
Hi delaura2014, Thanks for giving us the public forum to discuss even though we have exchanged much communication regarding resolving this issue. We have not charged your credit card other than the authorisation $1., and have repeatedly requested a copy of your charge or statement so we can also follow up. It was only suggested it may have been a mini bar charge but we investigated and it was not a mini bar charge, as we did not charge you anything else according to all our records. Whether your bank and overseas transaction has incurred costs we can not confirm. Also the suggestion that our company would illegally take funds from guests is totally incorrect and unfounded. Once again thanks for contacting us again, and look forward to your copy of your charge and we can contact our bank and see if it can be tracked.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Carolyn N wrote a review Nov. 2022
Mermaid Beach, Australia132 contributions17 helpful votes
My Sister and I booked a deluxe suite as a couple of days chill out following my Son’s wedding in Toowoomba. The room was quite disappointing for the cost - it was dark, there was a DVD player which would have been more appropriate to have had a microwave, a lack of utensils and who uses bar soaps these days - liquid hand wash would have been more appropriate. The cleaning staff were not up standard - leaving our used bath mat wet and still on the floor, and the bar soap was not replaced or even cleaned from the scum underneath
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Diego Q wrote a review Aug. 2022
Sydney, Australia6 contributions
Wonderful hotel. I went with two friends for a weekend away from Sydney and had a very good service. The location is great, but what caught my attention is that they offered wines at night, what gave us a wonderful experience next ti their fireplace before going for dinner. The bath in our room was amazing. Will definitely come back.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Josephine M wrote a review Jul. 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
We took a last minute booking to stay in byron on our drive to Brisbane, and loved everything from check in to departure. Location is amazing for walking everywhere and staff were so friendly and professional with nothing too much trouble. Rooms had been recently refurnished I was advised which we loved. I will highly recommend this Hotel to all of my friends and hope to visit again.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
haddlem wrote a review Jul. 2022
Maiden Gully, Australia170 contributions87 helpful votes
I honestly don’t think iv ever had to write a review like this. But stay the hell away. I checked in for one night and asked to see the room before I booked it. Thought it wasn’t to bad, commented to the staff member about the bed not looking comfy , he said no he’s had many complaints it’s to soft. I realise now he was being an absolute flog and knew the bed was rock hard. I got no sleep, and iv got a sore back. All in all I wouldn’t waste my time. I booked down the road for the next three nights. It’s not worth $300 plus a night. The room itself is quite run down. It was a large room though. Water damage in the bathroom. The shower was the only thing amazing. Water pressure was pretty awesome. Location was why we originally booked it.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Waves Resorts, Guest Services / Front Office at Waves Byron Bay
Responded Jul. 13, 2022
Hi haddlem, I would like to thank you for your recent review. If you have the time we would appreciate a quick email advisiong us of your reservation name and room number so we can follow up immediately as we could not find you in our system. We replaced all mattresses in 2020 with AH Beard Executive Hotel quality so are somewhat surprised with your assessment. As one of our Reception team did point out , we occasionally get a 'too soft' comment but even this is very rare. Apologies you did not like the quality of our new mattress and disappointed you did not love your stay with us. Regards The Team@wavesbyronbay
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
JuicyFox wrote a review May 2022
Springfield, Australia63 contributions34 helpful votes
They only reply to get your business but won’t reply to refund you. I had to cancel due to flooding and made sure the booking policy would refund me. Terrible customer service, and after reading the reviews on here I’m not the only one waiting for a refund.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Waves Resorts, Guest Services / Front Office at Waves Byron Bay
Responded May 22, 2022
Hi Juicy Fox, thanks for your review, but would like to clarify that all guests are receiving their refunds as per their cancellation policy that is applicable to their booking. We are processing refunds in a timely manner, and if you like to send us an email I will certainly follow up your reservation.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
FreshFoodPeople wrote a review Apr. 2022
Cairns, Australia16 contributions13 helpful votes
For various reasons, we decided to get a whole house airbnb rather than just a hotel room, so canceled our booking well within the cancelation period. That was 20th January. Well today, end of April, I STILL haven't received my refund. I called up a few weeks ago and was told it would be processed in a day or so, but it wasn't. This time, calling up again and not pleased at having to do so, the receptionist again told me it was going to be done this week. When I pointed out I'd been told that last time, the receptionist told me I wouldn't have been told that! So, over three months to issue a refund that I still don't have, and called a liar to boot. Called again at the end of the week and guess what? STILL NO REFUND! I have just opened a "fraudulent transaction" case with my bank.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Jo F, Guest Services / Front Office at Waves Byron Bay
Responded May 3, 2022
Hi Julie, I appreciate you bringing this to our attention. Co-vid and the recent floods have been a challenging time across the Hotel industry in Byron Bay and as such, we apologise for the delay. I have looked into your reservation cancellation and can see the refund has been processed. Regards, The Team@WavesByronBay
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Viviane R wrote a review Jan. 2022
2 contributions3 helpful votes
Booked my January holiday expecting a beautiful stay. The fridge was so dirty I had to clean it myself, the teaspoons were so dirty I had to get new ones. Nobody had bothered to wash them. The glass door was dirty and had not been cleaned. When I got back to my room the beds weren’t made and I was informed they were short staffed, it would only take a few seconds to make my own bed. I asked if I should have been informed and I was told no, it’s not a big deal I should make it myself. But it was not a big deal for taking my money in full and yet the poor service was due to staff with covid and I am supposed to understand. Well I don’t understand why hygiene and cleanliness should be my issue and I should still have to wear the price tag of a premium holiday in Byron Bay.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Carolyn Burcham wrote a review Dec. 2021
Orange, Australia423 contributions162 helpful votes
I flew up arriving at Ballina airport & had a nice drive to Byron Bay. My room was large & not just having a bed but a lounge with chairs & as for the black marble bathroom, which not only included the shower but also a large bath with the magic clothesline … it was large! Every morning we where welcome to go to have a coffee, tea, fresh fruit & lovely fresh muffin or croissant to start the day. I enjoyed my short stay as the ladies on each day, checked on me & always made me feel welcome & would love to return as so much has changed.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: I was there at the busiest time & we all had to wear masks. It did not stop up us from seeing how...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Lanky_legs wrote a review Sep. 2021
Sydney, Australia12 contributions8 helpful votes
I am saddened that I have to take this to socials to get a response, but Waves have left me no choice. Waves charged my credit card, without authorisation nearly $2,500. A booking was made through booking.com for accommodation April 2022, with free cancellation. I cancelled booking within 2 hours of making it. Within that time frame my credit card was unlawfully charged. A one night only deposit (refundable) $230 was the only amount that could be charged. I have been chasing them through emails, Booking.com and my bank to have my money back, now VISA Fraud. You cannot talk directly to them, they do not answer emails or messages. This is dodgy. Be warned. DO NOT DARE USE COVID AS AN EXCUSE. Waves is in Byron Bay and has certainly not done it as tough as everyone else in Greater Sydney & Melbourne when it comes to covid! Your doors are open now, you are not in lockdown. Be honest and do the right thing.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Waves Resorts, Guest Services / Front Office at Waves Byron Bay
Responded Sep. 18, 2021
Hi Lanky-legs11, as per our phone answering service, we will be replying and refunding as per T &C's or offering credits to those who do not even have cancellation policies to be helpful and fair to all. Although you have mis-quoted above that charging is fraudulent, it was in the booking information for Christmas and all festival periods that 50% will be charged at booking, which is exactly what you were charged. Outside of these dates, one night deposit is taken. We are governed by the booking agency, in this case Booking.com and cannot make up different rules as we please. We are indeed a long standing honourable business who will meet all refunds where applicable, notwithstanding we are in a pandemic, not an excuse but a real economic reality. Yes Byron may be out of lockdown but of course no returning guests with most states in lockdown. Indeed you are entitled to Free Cancellation which we would always honour, and any inference otherwise is incorrect. Your refund was already processed yesterday prior to your posting and comments on various different Social Media platforms.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$188 - US$275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
waves byron bay hotel byron bay, waves hotel byron bay
LOCATION
AustraliaNew South WalesByron ShireByron Bay
NUMBER OF ROOMS
20
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Waves Byron Bay - UPDATED 2023 Prices, Reviews & Photos (Australia) - Motel - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Waves Byron Bay
Which popular attractions are close to Waves Byron Bay?
Nearby attractions include Byron Bay (0.3 km), Craig Parry Photography (0.1 km), and Byron Bay Cookie Company Gift Shop (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Waves Byron Bay?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and dry cleaning.
Which room amenities are available at Waves Byron Bay?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Waves Byron Bay?
Guests can enjoy complimentary tea and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Waves Byron Bay?
Yes, free parking and a parking garage are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Waves Byron Bay?
Conveniently located restaurants include Manna Haven, Love Byron Bay Creperie & Chocolate Boutique, and Chihuahua.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Waves Byron Bay?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and French.
Is Waves Byron Bay accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.