We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Waves Byron Bay

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Waves Byron Bay
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

286 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Waves Byron Bay
See the most recent reviews
Showing 282: English reviews
Gold Coast
Reviewed 21 October 2015

We have stayed before. Always comfortable and quiet close to everything. Staff more friendly and polite this time than before. Extra $49.00 for extended checkouts is ridiculous. I advised them it was me and my daughter staying so needed 2 beds, but only got the sofa bed which was uncomfortable.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Poppyirvine
Waves R, Guest Relations Manager at Waves Byron Bay, responded to this review

Hi Poppyirvine, Thank you for your review, which helps us to improve our service. I am sorry you did not get a roll-away if this was what you were wanting. Our deluxe suites do have an extra single, but perhaps you did not request or was sold out, as we only have 5 of these rooms. I will review the...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 14 October 2015

the location is perfect, close to the beach, close to town centre and all restaurants/shops. The rooms are nice, and ours had a nice patio outside area with an outside shower. They serve free coffee as well as some fruit and muffins at the reception in the mornings.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank anneg934
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 4 October 2015

'Waves' is close to beach, shops, restaurants & has secure, under cover parking. Spacious room with wonderful mattresses (queen & single) so 2 good night's sleep. Lovely complimentary juice, muffins & 'capsule' coffee every morning & complimentary wine Friday and Saturday night in their foyer beside reception. Despite road works near by, it didn't affect us as we were out...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Knightley2013
Sydney
Reviewed 4 October 2015

Firstly - the POSITIVES: Very warm and friendly staff throughout, top notch housekeeping, great location, comfortable bed and relatively quiet. I slept well. Mini bar snacks and wine were fairly priced and didn't seek to over price. The NEGATIVES - I stayed for 2 nights in the Penthouse Suite, which touts itself as "luxury" Well - this is NOT luxury...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
4Thank SaucySource
Waves R, Guest Relations Manager at Waves Byron Bay, responded to this review

Hi Recent Penthouse Guest, Thank you for your review, which we take very seriously. Indeed, our penthouses will be under-going a total refurbishment in the New Year, in line with a programme that we are undertaking for the whole of the resort. Given the popularity of Waves and Byron Bay, choosing the perfect time is difficult. When the re-furb is...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 27 September 2015

This place is fine to stay at, but take note that the location is incredibly noisy on the road. The rubbish trucks and traffic starts around 7 am, and they tare currently undergoing significant roadworks right outside our balcony so the noise is constant from 8 till 3.30. We weren't told about this or offered a discount. Not a restful...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank jentostevin
Waves R, Guest Relations Manager at Waves Byron Bay, responded to this review

Hi Recent Guest Thank you for your recent review, which we value and take very seriously. We are disappointed that you had a few issues concerning your stay. Our location is amongst one of the most desired aspects of staying at Waves Byron Bay. Unfortunately, the Council had chosen to up-grade the car-park on the opposite side of the road....

Reviewed 23 September 2015

Great location. Walk everywhere. Very clean and comfortable rooms. Book this for a terrific weekend away. Reception area very relaxing. Free coffee, fruit and muffins each morning. No tips for making this a better experience.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Freddo1967
Waves R, Guest Relations Manager at Waves Byron Bay, responded to this review

Hi Freddo1967 Thank you for your fabulous review. We are delighted that enjoyed our property, and hope that you might visit us again when next in Byron Bay. Be sure to book direct, so we can offer you our Best Available Rate for returning guest. Regards The Team @ WavesByronBay

Cork
Reviewed 23 September 2015

Really loved this hotel. The location is excellent, so east to stroll to the beach or uptown to the shops and restaurants. There is secure underground parking. The rooms are spacious and clean. The staff were really friendly and helpful. Wifi was free once you enquired at the main desk. There is no reception in the rooms, you have to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ariii
Waves R, Guest Relations Manager at Waves Byron Bay, responded to this review

Hi Arlil Thank you for your fabulous review of our property and Byron Bay. Indeed our Coffee and Muffins are appreciated by all!! Regards the Team @WavesByronBay

Reviewed 22 September 2015

We booked the boutique suite and it was spacious and very comfortable. The location is fantastic and the service was good. They offer some complementary fruit and muffins in the morning that works for a basic breaky

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Yellowperil13
Waves R, Guest Relations Manager at Waves Byron Bay, responded to this review

Hi Recent Guest Thank you for sending us your review. Indeed our location is one of our many strengths, along with the great team that work at the property. We hope that you will stay with us again, and make sure to book direct so we can offer our returning guests, the Best Available Rate. Regards The Team @WavesByronBay

Coolangatta, Australia
Reviewed 16 September 2015

2 ft wide balcony looking at a hedge , this property is overrated, TV not working , had to contact reception x2 , no views unless in penthouse Much better property's available in Byron it was expensive & very overrated , apart from an amazing staff member Bree , we were not impressed by this property

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank W846CWdonnac
Waves R, Guest Relations Manager at Waves Byron Bay, responded to this review

Hi Recent Guest Thank you for your review, as we like to learn and improve the experience for all guests. We were disappointed that you had a few issues. Unfortunately as you made the booking quite late with Booking.com with no special requests, we allocated a room. Upon check-in, I note that you did request a view, which we are...

Muswellbrook, Australia
Reviewed 8 September 2015

The Beaches Suites are fantastic. We've been coming to Byron for years now but this is the first time we've stayed here. Close to everything, beautifully appointed, just perfect. The service and attitude of staff is incredible. Friendly, helpful - NOTHING is too much trouble. We love it- we will be coming back, and bringing some more friends.. 👍👍👍

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fiona h
Waves R, Guest Relations Manager at Waves Byron Bay, responded to this review

Hi Recent Guest Thank you for sending us your review. Indeed our location is one of our many strengths, along with the great team that work at the property. We hope that you will stay with us again, and make sure to book direct so we can offer our returning guests, the Best Available Rate. Regards The Team @WavesByronBay

25 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
0.1 km away
Beach Suites
Beach Suites
#4 of 32 in Byron Bay
170 reviews
0.2 km away
Byron Central Apartments
Byron Central Apartments
#9 of 32 in Byron Bay
230 reviews
3.3 km away
Elements of Byron
Elements of Byron
#3 of 32 in Byron Bay
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
The Oasis Resort & Treetop Houses
0.2 km away
Byron Quarter Holiday Apartments
0.4 km away
Beach Hotel
Beach Hotel
#27 of 32 in Byron Bay
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Waves Byron Bay is a 20 room Stylish Boutique Hotel located in the heart of Byron Bay on the Beach. Guests enjoy a high standard of amenities. All rooms include Air-Conditioning, King Size Bath and separate Shower,STD/ISD phones,Plasma TV's, Austar, DVD Player, Stereo System, Clock Radio, Wireless Internet, Electronic Room Safes, Ironing Board and Iron, Mini Bar and Tea and Coffee making facilities. Secure undercover basement parking. Room rates include a complimentary 'light start to the day' of locally sourced muffins along with coffee, tea, orange juice and fruit. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Waves Byron Bay

Address: 35 Lawson Street, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Bay
Price Range: $191 - $354 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Waves Byron Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Waves Byron Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waves Byron Bay Hotel Byron Bay
Waves Hotel Byron Bay
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Byron Bay
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Byron Bay
#7 Luxury Hotel in Byron Bay
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Waves Byron Bay staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Maybe go for a room on the second or third floor. We booked late, so got what was left, and maybe the others could be better.”
 of 5 bubbles MattC498, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“My guess is all rooms are great”
 of 5 bubbles 143tiar, 1 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Make sure there are towels and soap in the bathroom”
 of 5 bubbles sarahwC4556FR, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“If you want a view of the ocean, ask for rooms 11, 12 or 13”
 of 5 bubbles elmagw, 8 Aug 2016 | Read review
“All the rooms seem well situated”
 of 5 bubbles walker_krisi, 16 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay