We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Roundabout Inn

Show Prices
GreenLeadersSilver level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gloucester
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
The Roundabout Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

28 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 28: English reviews
Brisbane Region, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I've read some of the reviews complaining about the room size here and am amazed. The roundabout makes no bones about thier size saying they are what they are and priced accordingly but as a repeat visitor to this great pub I've always found them comfortable and clean. Yes the aircon wasn't working properly but a quick word to the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank peterbF1367SA
Ashford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 October 2016 via mobile

I am staying at the Roundabout Inn for 5 nights. Been there for two. Surprised with the comments about the rooms. The website clearly states that the rooms are compact. Surely people must see this when booking. Also, very good value for money compared to other accommodation in town. In some cases 50% cheaper than charged elsewhere. The staff are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John V
Reviewed 13 October 2016 via mobile

I do not recommend this place as the rooms are small to the point that you can not open the bath room door all the way because the door hits the toilet the fridge was turned off the bed was on a slant so my feet were a little higher then my head there was hair in the shower the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chels227
Adrian C, Owner at The Roundabout Inn, responded to this review

Dear Chels227 Our burgers are listed as $14.50. Sorry if there was a mix up. I'm not sure how this happened as they have been the same price for nearly a year. The rooms are small. We've never said anything less, but you paid $75. We need no chains on the doors as it is a safe little town, Gloucester....

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 18 September 2016

We always make this pub our first port of call when arriving in Gloucester. The pub is a well patronised country pub which we look forward to visiting and on previous occasions we have always had a good meal there. Sadly not what we experienced on our recent visit. The wonderful menu and good food has been replaced with plain...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Teresa M
Reviewed 15 July 2016 via mobile

Landmark going to ruins !! Run down, Old, Unbelieveable restaurant on sight, No room heater that worked, Disgusting walls, And alcohol available in the pub, Basic , Oh cheap but not for families. U wouldn't pay anymore, Towels were gray. I stayed only one Night and Never again !! The room had a bed up on pavers, mold & hair...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 68Frogs
Adrian C, Manager at The Roundabout Inn, responded to this review

Sorry to hear about your experience. Run down - No, not with our repairs and maintenance bill; Old - Yes. Built in the 60's; Unbelievable restaurant - Thanks; No room heater - Untrue. Reverse cycle air conditioners. Maybe the timer was not set correctly, but easily fixed if you brought it to our attention; Disgusting walls - Sorry, the room...

Newcastle, Australia
Reviewed 20 June 2016 via mobile

Had a great night with friends dancing away to The Brindle Pigs. Dinner from The Kitchen was faultless, we will be back especially for the pizza!! There was some confusion with communication on the cost of room. A couple of our group had booked online at $109 per room no breakfast. When I rang the pub a couple of weeks...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bex72tic
Adrian C, Owner at The Roundabout Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for the review. You are right, the booking online confusion is not great, however the over the phone policy for groups is the same as it has been for 12 years and the online booking has been with us for 12 weeks and this is the first such experience. Sorry for the hassle but the booking fees of some...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 9 June 2016 via mobile

We had an overnight stay. The room was basic but clean. The parking is limited but there is plenty of on road parking. The restaurant provided a good range of food, reasonably priced, and we enjoyed our selection. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tom D
Newcastle, Australia
Reviewed 25 April 2016 via mobile

Nice atmosphere but terrible food for the amount of money they charge. $19.00 for chicken parmigiana & all I get is 9 chips! That's right, I can count the amount of chips oh sorry 'steakhouse chips' on the plate

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Slider385
Adrian C, Owner at The Roundabout Inn, responded to this review

Sorry to hear we didn't give you enough chips! I hope the schnitzel was suitable. Next time try the 5 week wet aged scotch fillet for $25.00. It's delightful!

Kiama, Australia
Reviewed 20 April 2016

Heard this would a good cheap place to stay. Rooms $80 to $90. The pub food was fine, the staff were friendly, and room was basic but clean. So what was wrong? There was an internal locked door to the adjoining room. No sound proofing at all, the couple next door were having a domestic all night. The other side...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TimWilco
Adrian C, Owner at The Roundabout Inn, responded to this review

Greetings! No disrespect but why rag on us when really it was inconsiderate people near you. Did you ask the guys if they could sit and smoke elsewhere? Did you ask staff if they could do something like move you to another room? Did you ask the fighting couple nearby to be quiet? No...you just bagged us! Thanks for your...

Gold Coast, Australia
Reviewed 22 March 2016

Just popped in here with a few friends back in January. I was looking for simple, good food while on a one night stopover in Gloucester. Really impressed with the food but what really impressed me was the barman who turned out to be a walking encyclopedia of Australian wine (quite an unexpected bonus). He introduced us to a couple...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ilovefood842

17 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gloucester hotels
0.2 km away
Bucketts Way Motel
Bucketts Way Motel
#1 of 1 in Gloucester
51 reviews
2.4 km away
Gloucester Country Lodge Motel
0.3 km away
King Street Boutique Motel
King Street Boutique Motel
#3 of 9 in Gloucester
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
The Great Escape Lofts
The Great Escape Lofts
#2 of 7 in Gloucester
46 reviews
3.3 km away
Gloucester on Avon Bed and Breakfast
0.7 km away
A Room with a View Bed & Breakfast, Gloucester NSW
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nice country hotel/motel. Small clean neat and tidy rooms. All with en-suites and air conditioning. Conveniently located on main street with off street parking. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Roundabout Inn

Address: 28 Church St, Gloucester, New South Wales 2422, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Gloucester
Price Range: $69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Roundabout Inn staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Roundabout Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ear plugs and avoid if smoking bothers you”
 of 5 bubbles TimWilco, 20 Apr 2016 | Read review
“If you like motorbikes you'll see lots of them here! Rooms are in a rear courtyard and are quiet”
 of 5 bubbles paulwV1906RM, 4 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Ask for an annex room - at the back of property and quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles judeles500, 21 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Check it out before you book in”
 of 5 bubbles 538janetg, 5 Sep 2014 | Read review
“We only had Dinner. Cannot comment on rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles AlexP-WoyWoy, 20 Nov 2012 | Read review
5 of 5