We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Black Dolphin Resort Motel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Black Dolphin Resort Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

69 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 69: English reviews
Start your review of Black Dolphin Resort Motel
 Click to rate
Cranebrook, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Lovely comfortable and very clean room , nice water view even though it was raining great value for money. Has a resturant and the saff are very friendly. The bed was great very comfortable. Will stay again .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Barnie2015
Reviewed 8 January 2017

Great value for money, price was a really safer so I could spend on the holiday activities, I didn't want the luxury comforts and Black Dolphin was a perfect fit. great place, clean and cozzie, will definitely stay there for my next spear fishing trip to Merimbula.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sam C
Reviewed 4 January 2017

A nice location, basic room amenities, but very clean, and location was excellent, very satisfied. Would definitely stay here again as the price was very affordable and comfortable, however the planes landing are quite loud of a morning, but most of Merimbula would probably hear them.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sam C
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 3 January 2017 via mobile

Travelling over xmas New Years one expects to pay a premium. No surprises there. However the deluxe room did bring some expectations that we were getting something better. Not so. We got a room with a bathroom and features that most would describe as both modest and austere. Looks like the main difference between basic and deluxe is an air...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jeffnpies
Freiburg im Breisgau, Germany
Reviewed 20 December 2016

when i booked i assumed the price included internet as have the last 53 hotels in 6 countries i have stayed at, i am a business traveller and need good internet, only to find i had to pay an extra $10 for internet ,12% of the room value extra. and internet very poor and dropped out on average 15 times...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank st0pppa
Management response:

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I'm sorry to read you are advising people to stay because you had to pay $10 for WiFi. Internet in regional Australia is average at best. For that reason we engaged the services of a specialist third party provider Splash Internet to provide Wifi to our Motel guests. You will...

Pattaya, Thailand
Reviewed 12 July 2016

Stayed the night at the Black Dolphin on the way home after a road trip, good rooms and different levels of comfort and cost, friendly staff greeted us and filled us in on the local knowledge needed to eat and drink

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David F
Crewe, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 June 2016 via mobile

The 21st century and they want $10 a day for Wifi, get out of town. No microwaves either, everything else is fine but in this day and age there's no excuse for the highwayman approach to wifi Not happy.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JakeManning
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 14 March 2016 via mobile

Not too friendly, found them to be quite rude. The rooms are quite old and dirty. I would not recommend this motel, feel it's too expensive for the quality. Pool was dirty also . You can find better in Merimbula for the similar price .

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank fish040
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 3 March 2016 via mobile

I booked a deluxe room which while not outrageously expensive wasn't cheap either. I wouldn't describe the room as deluxe. Cleanish but not spotless. Room equipped with everything you need but decor was dated. Bed was very comfortable. Good location as easy to walk into Merimbula and to the beach. The front desk was very helpful and courteous but I...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank CD323
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 10 February 2016 via mobile

I stayed in a Deluxe room with lake views. Very nice daycore', I could see that it was newly renovated. Even though they advertise they have a Restaurant, it doesn't open outside of school holidays. They have a lovely swimming pool area. Unfortunately I found the bed very lumpy, and the room extremely stuffy. Also air conditioner so old, didn't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tracey B

6 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (6)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merimbula hotels
2.5 km away
Comfort Inn Merimbula
Comfort Inn Merimbula
#8 of 16 in Merimbula
122 reviews
2.5 km away
Summerhill Motor Inn
Summerhill Motor Inn
#1 of 16 in Merimbula
124 reviews
2.5 km away
South Seas Motel
South Seas Motel
#9 of 16 in Merimbula
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
Norfolk Pine Motel
Norfolk Pine Motel
#5 of 16 in Merimbula
90 reviews
0.9 km away
BEST WESTERN Fairway Motor Inn
2.5 km away
Pelican Motor Inn
Pelican Motor Inn
#3 of 16 in Merimbula
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Black Dolphin Resort Motel

Address: Arthur Kaine Road, Merimbula, New South Wales 2548, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Merimbula
Price Range: $89 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Black Dolphin Resort Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Black Dolphin Resort Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Black Dolphin Resort Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Go for Ground floor if possible, back from road if quiteness is needed”
 of 5 bubbles sambo8585, 8 Jan 2017 | Read review
“stay on the north side of the property for less street noise.”
 of 5 bubbles AussieAceCo, 26 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Check out the room before you decide to stay there”
 of 5 bubbles therameus, 22 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Drive a further 4 kms to the Pambula-Merimbula Golf club for a good and cheap lunch. Plus you can see the kangaroos running from hole to hole.”
 of 5 bubbles Hi_HoSilver2013, 9 Jan 2015 | Read review
“Further from the road to avoid traffic noise and away from any bird boxes to avoid bird noise!”
 of 5 bubbles jamesbT8213ZC, 26 Nov 2014 | Read review
5 of 5