We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Mantra Aqua

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Mantra Aqua
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

515 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Mantra Aqua
See the most recent reviews
Showing 514: English reviews
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 18 February 2017 via mobile

The location is spot on. A short walk to turn and quick drive anywhere else. The rooms are a good size but no money has been spent since we last visited. Carpets were stained and grip at your feet. There is not enough utensils. Having a laundry facilities is great. Team are quite helpful. Please spend a bit on your...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JamesHird
Work E, Manager at Mantra Aqua, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay... we are delighted to hear that you returned after a stay 3 years ago! Your feedback with regards to the apartment is greatly valued. Apartment reviews are underway this month. We will hope to have you back sooner rather than later. Best wishes, Leanne

Umina Beach
Reviewed 12 February 2017

We booked 2 x 3 bedroom apartments on the bottom floor & was very happy with layout of the room.Great kitchen & lounge area.Our's balcony was huge & had privacy with the garden bed in front of it. Though the rooms them selves don't have air conditioning, just ceiling fans, we found them still quite comfortable. We stayed in apartment...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank suehV8855VX
Work E, Manager at Mantra Aqua, responded to this review

Thanks for choosing Mantra Aqua Resort for your family getaway, and for your lovely review! Nothing pleases us more than happy, relaxed guests and it sounds like you all had a great break. We will hope to welcome you back at another time soon. Kind regards, Leanne

Greater Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 11 February 2017

We stayed two nights and loved the place. Our room, number 7, was at the back of the building and was cool as it didn't have the bad heat hitting it. We were staying here on the incredible hot weekend NSW and the air con and ceiling fans were great. Loved the pool and we rarely swim but it was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Debra G
Work E, Manager at Mantra Aqua, responded to this review

Thank you for your glowing review Debra! It is fantastic to read that you had a great time, even in the midst of the heatwave. You most certainly made Karlie's day with your kind comments too. We will hope to welcome you again! Best wishes, Leanne

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 8 February 2017 via mobile

This is a great hotel. Lift is quick and not that busy. Room was large and tidy. Room 80 in Building B was a good one. High up with good view. Behind car park was a cage to store things with a free padlock available from reception. Pool was smaller than looked in photos but still nice. Being heated it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ikdw
Work E, Manager at Mantra Aqua, responded to this review

'I'll be back' would have to be one of our favourite things to hear. Sincere thanks for your lovely review. We will look forward to your return! Best wishes, Leanne

Reviewed 5 February 2017 via mobile

We had stayed here before in a 2 bedroom apartment, however, when I booked (6 months prior) I booked what I thought to be the same type of room. Advice - make sure you select the 2 bed, 2 bathroom as these are very comfortable in size and appointment and the kitchen is lovely. The 2 bed, 1 bathroom is...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank KFonz
Work E, Manager at Mantra Aqua, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, and for choosing to return to stay with us. Our varying room types do suit different people for different reasons. It sounds like the 2 bedroom 2 bathroom apartments would be better for you for next time. Great that you enjoyed the pool and splash area, and our beautiful town... thank you again and best...

Five Dock, Australia
Reviewed 3 February 2017 via mobile

While stay in the lovely port Stephens and choosing Mantra for our resort stay we were happy to have a nice fellow help up locate everything and even carry our bags :) he came to fix some things as soon as we complained and was very fast at the job. However when crossing past him again I over heard another...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank glendallas
Work E, Manager at Mantra Aqua, responded to this review

Sincerest thanks for your review. Whilst I am so very sorry to hear of what you have witnessed at the Resort, I am most thankful for your feedback. This will most certainly be addressed with the appropriate parties. It is great to hear that you had an amazing stay otherwise- we will hope to welcome you back for a completely...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 21 January 2017

We travelled from Brisbane to Nelson Bay for a family Birthday Celebration to catch up with relatives of all ages and found Mantra Aqua to be a very comfortable & enjoyable destination. The two bedroom apartment was spacious, clean & comfortable. The resort was very busy with families & it's big enough for everyone. We did not experience anything negative...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Boyd1504
Work E, Manager at Mantra Aqua, responded to this review

Heartfelt thanks for your lovely review! Our staff, management and apartment owners will all take delight in reading your kind words. Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Mantra Aqua Resort! Kind regards Leanne

perth wa
Reviewed 16 January 2017

First of all-we loved Port Stephens. Our favourite spot when driving from Sydney to Brisbane. Our stay was in early December before the school holiday rush for 3 nights. We stayed in a two bedroom, two bathroom spacious, bright, comfortable and well equipped apartment. We were top floor on the edge overlooking bowling club, town and bay-fantastic views. Furniture was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank joluvstravel-13
Work E, Manager at Mantra Aqua, responded to this review

A pre-Christmas break is never a bad idea! Thrilled that you chose to make it with us, and that you enjoyed your stay in our beautiful town. Will hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back at another time soon. Kind regards, Leanne

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 16 January 2017

Our stay at Mantra Aqua was an enjoyable one on the whole. The staff were really pleasant at checkin and checkout. Our 2 bedroom apartment was very suitable to our needs, relatively spacious (except for the 2nd bedroom which was much smaller than the master bedroom) and clean. Some of the fixtures (loose kitchen faucet) and equipment (lack of large...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eugene H
Work E, Manager at Mantra Aqua, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us at Mantra Aqua Resort, and for your review! We are very proud of our wonderful staff, and are thrilled to read that you were taken care of. We will hope to welcome you back again soon- maybe for a winter retreat to see the whales! Best wishes, Leanne

Borehamwood, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 January 2017

Checked into the hotel on the Saturday, The staff were very helpful. we got the king spa Suite, big room, nice bath room, but the whole feel was oldish. called Reception to get password for the WIFI and to make a dinner reservation. was put through to a dinner line left a message. but when it can to going to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank citygirltravelingfar
Work E, Manager at Mantra Aqua, responded to this review

Hopefully you enjoyed your weekend away! Given your room description and mention of a restaurant, I am thinking that it wasn't with us at Mantra Aqua Resort in Nelson Bay. We offer unserviced, fully self contained 2 and 3 bedroom apartments for our guests. We don't have a restaurant onsite, but are a short walk away from many lovely options...

156 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (137)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
View from Room (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Other (49)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson Bay hotels
1.6 km away
Beaches Serviced Apartments
Beaches Serviced Apartments
#6 of 16 in Nelson Bay
80 reviews
0.4 km away
Cote D'Azur
Cote D'Azur
#7 of 16 in Nelson Bay
137 reviews
0.2 km away
The Landmark Nelson Bay
The Landmark Nelson Bay
#9 of 16 in Nelson Bay
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Peninsula Nelson Bay
Peninsula Nelson Bay
#8 of 16 in Nelson Bay
242 reviews
0.4 km away
Port Stephens Marina Resort
Port Stephens Marina Resort
#14 of 16 in Nelson Bay
187 reviews
0.4 km away
The Nelson Resort
The Nelson Resort
#2 of 16 in Nelson Bay
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Just two and a half hours drive North of Sydney is the relaxed seaside village of Nelson Bay and one of the finest resorts on the Central Coast, Mantra Aqua. Mantra Aqua's stylish accommodation includes a selection of spacious, open-plan designed two and three bedroom apartments and penthouses, all featuring large living areas flowing out onto large external balconies. Each apartment and penthouse features beautiful stone bench tops in the kitchen with stainless steel appliances, plasma or LCD TV, DVD player, Foxtel and sound system in the lounge area. The resort features leisure facilities including a 25 metre lagoon pool with cascading waterfall and heated spa, children's play wading area and BBQ areas. Clean, contemporary lines and an open plan layout provide the perfect balance between the surrounding natural environment and the luxuries of resort-style living. The resort is a short five minute stroll to the centre of town or the marina where you will find a vast array of shops, restaurants and cafes. The bowling club and a 27 hole championship golf course are only a few minutes walk from the main gate. Mantra Aqua is the perfect location for a weekend away or relaxing holiday escape. Upon arrival at Mantra Aqua, we will require a valid credit card to be placed on file to cover incidental items including (but not limited to) telephone calls, breakages/damages, excessive cleaning charges and theft. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mantra Aqua

Address: 1A Tomaree St, Nelson Bay, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2315, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Port Stephens > Nelson Bay
Price Range: $152 - $493 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra Aqua 4.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Mantra Aqua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Aqua Hotel Nelson Bay
Mantra Aqua Nelson Bay, Port Stephens
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Nelson Bay
#4 Family Hotel in Nelson Bay
#5 Romantic Hotel in Nelson Bay
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mantra Aqua staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Mantra Aqua staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The only way is to front up and ask to look at the apartment before you pay?”
 of 5 bubbles Katypii, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Pick a room overlooking the pool so you can have at least some view.”
 of 5 bubbles whizzbang2, 17 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ground floor quieter.Just make sure if you need a shower bay as we did, please ask as shower over bath was awkward.”
 of 5 bubbles 813dim, 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
“It is quieter if you book a room away from the pool area”
 of 5 bubbles chrisg276rec, 25 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We stayed in apartment 91, 3 bedrooms with ample room.”
 of 5 bubbles suehV8855VX, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5