We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Sands Resort

Show Prices
#6 of 11 Hotels in Yamba
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Sands Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

127 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 127: English reviews
Start your review of The Sands Resort
 Click to rate
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We arrived at the resort in mid February, staying for 4 days. Our group consisted of 4 adults and 2 children, in a modern top story 3 bedroom apartment with a view out to sea. We enjoyed a large lounge, a main bedroom with ensuite and 2 other bedrooms with close access to a toilet and bathroom. Our bed in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mikelO4407AS
Perth, Australia
Reviewed 8 February 2017

We had a 2 night stay in a 3 bedroom apartment that was very clean and tidy with Foxtel, air conditioning and, as this was a ground floor apartment, there was also a little courtyard with table and chairs which is great for relaxing of a summer evening as we were facing the beach and got the sea breeze. Accommodation...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nataliavb2017
Reviewed 31 January 2017 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here with friends for four nights over the Australia Day "long weekend" in a 3 bedroom apartment. The unit was spotless and of ample size that five adults did not feel like they were tripping over each other. Added bonus was, as we were on the ground floor, a nice big courtyard with dining table...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lisa D
Reviewed 30 January 2017 via mobile

Great location. Our apartment was fantastic, spacious, clean with an awesome outdoor courtyard. The pool an amenities were beautifully maintained. The pool and spa area were awesome! The spa bath in our villa was also amazing. The staff were always friendly and helpful. Thanks for a great holiday.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jodzey
Reviewed 26 January 2017

This is now our 6th holiday at The Sands, in a 3 bedroom ocean front apartment. Always clean, not just the apartment but the whole complex. You have a choice of two pools, tennis court and a beautiful spa. Plus an unspoiled beach is practically your front yard. Best of all, this resort is completely accessible for our son who...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marianne B
Reviewed 22 January 2017

We spent a week in a spacious villa. It was clean but a little tired. Pool was great but the biggest concern was the way management communicated. At 9pm we were enjoying a quiet end to a lovely BBQ with one other couple. Management approached us and simply said you need to leave now. Without warning they then turned off...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank GJQR
Rae M, Manager at The Sands Resort, responded to this review

I am sorry you miss understood when you were politley told that the lights would go off at 9.15pm as they are on a timer and not controlled by management. We are very committed to the safety and enjoyment of all guests and sinage at the BBQ area does explain that the lights will go out at 9.15pm. Security is...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 22 January 2017

Great location and Unit 54 was the perfect size for a family of four. However it is in dire need of an upgrade the carpet is old and dirty and the bathroom blind very grubby. i also found the on duty manager at the Sands to be rude and unhelpful. I won't be returning.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank dryan2034
Rae M, Manager at The Sands Resort, responded to this review

We are sorry that you thought your unit to be not up to standard, i wish you had of mentioned this while you were here. As i metioned to the gentleman that you were with, in the following review it was for your own safety that you were asked to move from the BBQ area as lighting is on a...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 19 January 2017 via mobile

Loved this place Top Resort my family enjoyed this place so much we will be coming back. Managers very friendly and great help. Rooms were immaculate and spacious. Cleanliness 100% and will definitely come back there. The views are amazing and the pool was very clean. Great resort and would reccomend to everyone.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank johnnyraskas
Newcastle, Australia
Reviewed 16 January 2017 via mobile

We had a great holiday staying in a 2 bedroom townhouse. It was very spacious and clean, well maintained. Managers very friendly. The location, being directly opposite the beach, was terrific. Great parking, easily accessible to larger vehicles. Pools are lovely and grounds well kept and clean.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MJDaw
Tamworth, Australia
Reviewed 16 January 2017 via mobile

The Sands is the perfect place to bring a family. The two pools and tennis courts as to its appeal. It is its close proximity to Pippi beach that wins it for us. The perfect place for an evening or sunrise walk.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mburrows1980

28 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yamba hotels
0.8 km away
The Cove Beachfront Apartments
0.8 km away
Surf Motel
Surf Motel
#10 of 11 in Yamba
75 reviews
1.3 km away
Angourie Rainforest Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
Moby Dick Waterfront Resort Motel
0.6 km away
Clubyamba Luxury Holiday Villas
1.0 km away
Yamba Aston Motel
Yamba Aston Motel
#2 of 11 in Yamba
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Tennis Court
  • Spa
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The only ABSOLUTE BEACH FRONT Resort Accommodation in Yamba!•Lap pool (SUITABLE FOR TRAINING) with splash area catering for smaller children•Outdoor entertaining areas and barbeques •Large Leisure Centre pool•Outdoor heated spa •Two Tennis courts •Security parking, mostly undercover• Easy walking to shopping, golf club, bowls club and general sights of Yamba. Free WIFI in the Leisure Centre and set within tropical gardens - paradise on the beach! A welcome pack is available on arrival to get you started! ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Sands Resort

Address: 20-21 Pacific Pde, Yamba, New South Wales 2464, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Yamba
Price Range: $162 - $341 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Sands Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Sands Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Yamba
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Sands Resort staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Hallam, Australia
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Sands Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Not all apartments have air-conditioning, check when booking.”
 of 5 bubbles nataliavb2017, 8 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ocean front apartments are lovely, but the whole resort is only seconds from Pippi beach”
 of 5 bubbles 664marianneb, 26 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The view was worth to be on the 3rd floor even though the stairs were a bit of a climb.”
 of 5 bubbles WLO59, 4 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ocean facing rooms have magnificent view of ocean - and at the right time of year, you may see whales meander past :)”
 of 5 bubbles AnnetteHarrison, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
“we had East facing room opposite the ocean”
 of 5 bubbles janb2711, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5