Cork Factory Hotel

Cork Factory Hotel

480 New Holland Ave 3000 Urban Place, Lancaster, PA 17602-2291
Hotel Lobby
Traveller (288)
Room & Suite (49)
free continental breakfast
Dining (37)

View prices for your travel dates

Breakfast included
C$196
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#12 of 43 hotels in Lancaster
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Value
If our 19th century brick walls and wood ceilings could talk, they would speak a familiar narrative. Enterprise & industry. American vision. An honest day’s work for an honest day’s pay. The buildings that make up Cork Factory Hotel once housed the historic Armstrong Cork and Kerr Glass companies. Today, we attempt to preserve and honor the history of the buildings in an honest, authentic, and welcoming manner.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Parking
Wifi
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Concierge
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Quirky Hotels
Historic Hotel
Languages Spoken
English

Location

480 New Holland Ave 3000 Urban Place, Lancaster, PA 17602-2291
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 56 out of 100
56
Harrisburg Intl Airport
42.8 km
See all flights
Lancaster Airport
Lancaster Station
18 min
761Reviews7Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 304
  • 280
  • 103
  • 45
  • 29
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Kelly M wrote a review Aug 2020
Annapolis, Maryland73 contributions14 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
First of all , be aware that not all rooms have the quaint brick wall. Our room was in bldg 9 and was very modern and our windows had a view of the parking lot. Surprised that the tv / cable box was NOT HD. The picture was horrible. Seems like they skimped on their cable service (XFinity)
We enjoyed the location (although wouldn’t walk to the downtown area). The staff was very pleasant. Everyone was wearing masks.
Overall we were happy.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Felicia Donton, Guest Services / Front Office at Cork Factory Hotel
Responded Sep 9, 2020
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review! We are working to update a few things with TV's being one of them. We're thrilled you ventured out to stay with us and even more that you left happy! See you again soon. Stay Joyful and Well
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
iamowlright wrote a review Mar 2020
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania134 contributions29 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We were here for a wedding weekend. The room was a little small, and the view from our room was a brick wall but the hotel in general is clean and cool having been a former factory.

The wedding venue was really nice if you want a smaller wedding all in one location. There is a covered terrace, lounge area for the cocktail hour with a bar, and the ceremony/reception space has a beautiful fireplace backdrop. The groomsmen especially like the groom room with billiards and tvs that can be rented as a place to get ready before the wedding. The food was very good, and they even had a smaller room for a rehearsal dinner.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Felicia Donton, Guest Services / Front Office at Cork Factory Hotel
Responded Sep 9, 2020
Thank you for your kinds words, we're thrilled you enjoyed our venue and your stay. We hope to see you again soon! Stay Joyful and Well
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kristin B wrote a review Jan 2020
Frederick, Maryland9 contributions4 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at the Cork Factory Hotel as a getaway overnight. We loved the concept and the lobby decor, etc. It's clean and I liked the toiletry items. But the hotel has some flaws that keep one from getting actual sleep.

1.The blinds in the room do very little to keep light from the parking lot out. It's like sleeping in broad daylight. They need room darkening blinds like most hotels have.

2. There is no fan setting in thenroom's thermostat that allows the fan to blow continuously as most hotels have. So there was no way to block the noise of the party that took place on the floor above us with very loud music, whopping, screaming, and cussing as well as lots of loud bumps and thumps. After listening from a out midnight to 1am, I asked for help. I could tell the people above didn't like it because they stomped even louder.

3.The remote didn't work. It would change channels but not volume or power.

4. The bed was too firm and we tossed and turned all night... at least the portion of the night from about 3am on when the party ended.

In the morning the receptionist asked if we had a good night and I was friendly but explained we didn't really because of the party. She just said "sorry" and then asked if we needed a receipt for the charge. I don't know what she could have done but it seemed like she didn't actually care about our experience. We'll stay elsewhere next time.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from feliciadonton480, Front Office Manager at Cork Factory Hotel
Responded Jan 28, 2020
We appreciate and thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with us. I want to apologize for the issue you experienced during your time with us which is not typical. We are always looking for ways to improve our customer experience and will certainly take your comments into consideration for the future. We hope to see you again soon, All the best
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Robert S wrote a review Jul 2021
Jersey City, New Jersey3 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Our Stay was a June 22 Tuesday check in to June 25 Friday check out, Did the smart thing and actual did a google maps look of the area and knew what to do when we arrived because Hotel is to the rear of buildings that were street-side. Check In was a few minute process (got there exactly at 3 pm check in time) Receptionist was excellent answer a few questions and we went to the room on 3rd floor and rooms was Clean and really different from those Corporate Hotels. You have to remember you are in a 150 plus year old building so there is no BRIGHT lights, hallways you can say were little dark but I like the atmosphere of the whole hotel.Due to covid you had to ask if you needed housekeeping which we did not need but if any toiletries were needed or towels all you had to do was call front desk and was taking care of. The restaurant was closed Tuesday night but knew where the Restaurants that are open were close by on Rt 30 which was 15 minute ride away. Area and the hotel is very residential so very few places to walk and grab a bite or a drink, there was a Pub across the street which had a good crown the 2 night it was open during our stay. I could tell that the Hotel make it money on Weddings so I can bet that WEEKENDS at the hotel can be noisy and crowded, which could present a parking issue but during our stay there was plenty of parking close to back entrance. Did eat at the restaurant Thursday night and had an excellent meal and our server Emmit was great. The AC units can be loud to some people but I am used to loud things , sleep was not an issue. Would recommend this hotel over any of the Big name Hotel that were on Rt 30,
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Third Floor had Ice machine , vending and fitness center
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Z Harriet Y wrote a review Oct 2022
6 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Everything about the wedding at the Cork Factory was lovely and well presented. The food at the rehersal dinner was excellent. Wedding meal and appetizers were also excellent.

Parking was fun, but manageable. It is in downtown Lancaster, so typical of an historic town, streets are narrow and space is limited, so that pretty much explains the parking situation. I didn't hear of anyone at the wedding who did not find a parking place on site. There were two weddings that night.

THE ROOM: we had a suite, which had a separate living room. I never found it on their website, but our sofa was a sleeper sofa. We ordered sheets, etc. enabling us to have a mini-sleepover for two grandchildren who are cousins. The suite was nice for little get togethers.

The windows in the bedroom have blinds AND drop down shades to block the outdoor lights. It took us a bit to figure it out. The shades are like the ones you see in hospital rooms. Actually, very clever solution for the situation.

Our room was quiet. I heard some hallway noise when people were yelling, but our door was probably open. You know how you move the lock thing over to keep the door open so visitors can come on in.

The staff was friendly and accommodating. The wedding planner was amazing. For example, four bouquets instead of six were delivered, she took care of it. Less than an hour later the missing two arrived.

The venue is a beautiful wedding setting. All the events were a short walk away from our room. It is quiet and inviting.

What was there not to like?
My only complaint was that with the brick walls next to the bed, I whacked my toes twice getting out of bed. Learned quickly not to extend my foot when getting up.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Get the suite if you have a family event there and you want visitors. Reserve your room asap if...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Michael G wrote a review Jul 2023
1 contribution2 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
To start off, we request early check in, only 1 hour early, front desk states they will text when room is ready ,no text ever came.
Upon check in we inquired about complimentary breakfast, clerk says that is no longer available due to covid, and suggests we go to a Mcdonalds around the corner. Room was fine, beds/pillows comfortable. Next day we head out at 10 am, pass the housekeeping in hallway. Upon returning to room at 4:30 we see room has not been cleaned or made up. Trip to front desk, Luiz says, did you request your room to be cleaned, I said since when does it have to be requested, isn't that the idea of being on vacation and staying in a hotel ?
So I said can you have someone at least freshen it up now, he says I have no one available and hands me a stack of towels and plastic bags to empty waste pails !! Not happy with this but we have no choice, Luiz not very helpful at all. Upon checking out I ask for a discount on the room since it wasn't cleaned, Luiz says the housekeeper said you had do not disturb on door,I said we left at 10 am, Luiz then says she finishes at 10 am. What housekeeping in a hotel finishes at 10 am ?? Then I think if she finishes at 10, why couldn't we get our early check in before the room was obviously cleaned and ready by 10 !! It's a shame because we have no complaints about the place itself very cool and historic, however the people running it need a lesson in courtesy and professionalism. Horribly run. Would not recommend until the desk staff is retrained on how to treat customers.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Make sure to request your room be refreshed/cleaned at check in.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ben N wrote a review Jul 2020
1 contribution5 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I am visiting my family during the Covid pandemic. The rooms here are great, clean, comfortable bed, and I've seen members of the housekeeping staff cleaning public spaces in addition to the rooms. There is a lot of space for outdoor dining. The windows open, so getting some fresh ventilation has been a big plus when HVAC systems are in the news as potential virus spreaders.

The big problem is mask compliance: some of the nicest and most professional hospitality staff I have ever met, at both the hotel and the connected Bakers Table coffee shop/bakery wore their masks "nose out," which means they were pretty much unaware or did not care that viruses spread via the nose. Also I know it is hard to ask guests to comply, but I saw only a 50% mask compliance among guests at the hotel and coffee shop.

It's a bummer because it's a nice hotel but not if you are trying to avoid Covid spreading. Would have been 5 stars for its hotel class but for the glaring lack of mask safety.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
notpracticing wrote a review Sep 2021
Lille, France178 contributions107 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I have always had great experiences at Historic Hotels of America properties, but not this time.
The room was good-sized, clean and comfortable (except for a very uncomfortable wooden desk chair). There was no coffeemaker of any kind in the room. For some of us that is a huge problem. Coffee was available at the front desk, but this is a very large sprawling hotel and I did not appreciate having to walk a long distance across the building and down two stories to get something that should be available immediately on waking up. It was also not possible to heat water in the room. I was prepared to make some instant coffee but the room had no drinking cup that could be microwaved — and then I realized there was no microwave anyway. Even Motel 6 has a coffeemaker, and usually a microwave. This much more expensive hotel should too.
Finding the hotel desk entailed a long convoluted walk through the former factory complex, which is now a glorified strip mall parking lot.
Finally, the toilet paper was hanging on what appeared to be a screw in the wall — I couldn’t touch the roll without it falling on the floor.
For this price, and for a part of Historic Hotels of America, I expected better.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
DC traveler wrote a review Jul 2022
1 contribution
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Rooms are quaint, but noisy (loud ice machine in hall has no doors so you will hear it in your room, you will hear every step of your early morning riser neighbors in the creaky floors). Front desk a bit understaffed as they also take incoming phone reservations so you may have to wait a bit to check in). Morning coffee in lobby was delicious, but they may check you out by mistake and lock you out of your room like they did me. Nice Bigelow toiletries, but plastic cups made it feel like a low-budget hotel. Note of bed said they didn't change sheets except for over 2 day stays unless requested...for MY SAFETY. Very odd.. That made me question where a solo traveler, or family with children had safety issues in the past. I felt safe. No black out curtains, so lights from parking lot will fill your room at night through the wooden shutters.

Mixed bag hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Ask for room on top floor (avoid creaky floor noises) and away from loud ice machine
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Conor D wrote a review Mar 2020
1 contribution5 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
This place decided to choose profit over people and Public Safety. I was flying executives in from all over the country for a strategic planning meeting and asked to have the meeting canceled in lieu of putting my executives and others at risk. The best they could do after several arguments was offer me the ability to reschedule at some point in the next 12 to 15 months. After seeing their true colors, why would I want to go to their facility? They are now keeping $850 of our money hostage. Avoid this place, which is selfish and ignorant to the problems that we have right now is a country, at all cost
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Meghan A asked a question Oct 2020
Marlton, New Jersey
How is the walk from the hotel to downtown Lancaster?
Answer from John
Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania64 contributions5 helpful votes
It’s about a 3 mile walk down a busy roadway with many stores. Would not recommend walking.
lighthouselover1968 asked a question Sep 2019
Johnstown, Pennsylvania166 contributions35 helpful votes
Is breakfast included in room rate? What type of food is offered for breakfast?
Answer from Jenny M
Our hotel includes a breakfast buffet for all overnight guests that is available in our on-site restaurant from 6:00am - 10:00am daily. Breakfast items include scrambled eggs, breakfast potatoes, bacon crumbles, bagels, danish, and other breakfast pastries, cereals, yogurt, as well as juices and coffee beverages.
Answer from David M
15 contributions2 helpful votes
They definitely serve breakfast in the morning.
Natalieruggs asked a question Jul 2018
1 contribution
Is there a pool?
Answer from Jenny M
We do not have a pool at our property.
DerekJulie3732 asked a question Oct 2016
Indiana, Pennsylvania22 contributions6 helpful votes
Are there rooms on the ground floor?
Answer from ckoz1
Manasquan, New Jersey13 contributions2 helpful votes
yes
DEGhia wrote a tip Mar 2024
Delaware180 contributions119 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"If you want coffee first thing in the morning, bring your own coffee maker."
Read full review
Inspire199392 wrote a tip Feb 2024
Allentown, Pennsylvania12 contributions13 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Pick a different hotel"
Read full review
Wayne K wrote a tip Jan 2024
2 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Rooms are not soundproof!"
Read full review
Michael G wrote a tip Jul 2023
1 contribution2 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Make sure to request your room be refreshed/cleaned at check in."
Read full review
DoJoHi wrote a tip May 2023
Los Angeles, CA15 contributions8 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"No breakfast (but excellent coffee, and tea selection). Refrigerator in each room. Bring yogurt. "
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Lancaster area.
PRICE RANGE
C$166 - C$218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesPennsylvaniaLancaster CountyLancaster
NUMBER OF ROOMS
93
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Cork Factory Hotel - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Cork Factory Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Cork Factory Hotel?
Nearby attractions include The Lancaster Science Factory (0.1 km) and Marshall Street Bookstore (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Cork Factory Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Cork Factory Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Cork Factory Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Cork Factory Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Cork Factory Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Lancaster Brewing Company, Cork & Cap Restaurant, and Quips Pub.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Cork Factory Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Does Cork Factory Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Cork Factory Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting President James Buchanan's Wheatland (3.0 km), 1719 Museum (formerly 1719 Hans Herr House & Museum) (7.9 km), and Hunsecker Mill Covered Bridge (6.1 km).
Is Cork Factory Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Lancaster HotelsLancaster Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in LancasterHotels near Cork Factory Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars