We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Hotel Lancaster

TravelocityUS$122*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$134*
US$122*
US$134*
US$122*
US$134*
US$122*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
The Hotel Lancaster
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

318 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 304: English reviews
Start your review of The Hotel Lancaster
 Click to rate
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a very pleasant hotel. The location in the center of Lancaster's historic downtown is convenient. The standard of cleanliness and good repair seemed high to me. The room was comfortable and quiet.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Michael A
Lori H, General Manager at The Hotel Lancaster, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your great experience and for choosing to stay with us! Our location in the heart of Downtown Lancaster allows our Guests the ease of being able to walk to meetings and business conferences. We are happy to know you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Dayton, Ohio
Reviewed 1 week ago

Awful stay. We have stayed before and never will again. This place just wants your money and will do anything to get it. Wi-Fi was horrible, the elevators are so slow if they even work at all, we were told they would be replacing them after our last visit and obviously that is not going to happen. The steps you...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank runner6718
Lori H, General Manager at The Hotel Lancaster, responded to this review

We apologize that we were not able to meet your expectations when you stayed with us. In order to help us learn how we can provide better service, I would appreciate learning when you stayed with us and discuss the details of your stay. I can be reached at gm@thehotellancaster.com. We are pleased to know that our Guest Services Team...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

After our stay, the hotel emailed me a survey on how I enjoyed my stay. I let them know this review I am leaving below, and I never heard from them. Such a wasted opportunity to reach out and extend good customer service. Why send out the quality surveys if you do not intend to follow up? Anyway... here is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kirsten S
Lori H, General Manager at The Hotel Lancaster, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience about your recent stay. We apologize that we did not have the correct room type available for your party. Our rooms are not designed to allow for more than one roll-away and due to safety issues, we do not permit more than one. I believe we did email you in November 2016 to advise...

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here recently for a wedding. The hotel was easy to find and the front desk staff were friendly and helpful, but there were a few snags that brought the rating down. The elevators were devastatingly slow, and one night they did not come to the ground floor, so I had to walk up a flight of stairs and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Andrea A
Lori H, General Manager at The Hotel Lancaster, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at our hotel. We apologize for the wait for our elevators. We had an issue with them which caused our Guests the inconvenience of waiting. While your room was clean, we apologize that the milk was left in your refrigerator. We have passed this information along to our Housekeeping Department. Thank you for...

New Jersey
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My daughter and I stayed at this hotel while she visited Franklin and Marshall College for admitted student day. We were able to get a special rate because we were visiting the college. The location of the hotel was wonderful as we were right in the city and close to many attractions as well as being close to the college....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Traveler6NewJersey
Lori H, General Manager at The Hotel Lancaster, responded to this review

We are delighted to know you enjoyed your stay with us! Our central location in the heart of Downtown Lancaster allows our Guests to walk and enjoy the downtown area along with not being far from Franklin and Marshall College. Thank you for sharing your great experience and for choosing to stay with us! We look forward to seeing you...

Meshoppen, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 13 April 2017

I enjoyed my stay of 2 nights at the Hotel Lancaster, and felt well rested each morning to walk 2 blocks to my classes at Quilt Week for the American Quilters Society. I liked that it was more quiet and restful here than right at the convention center. the staff was friendly and helpful, and the free breakfast was nice.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Susan K
Lori H, General Manager at The Hotel Lancaster, responded to this review

Thank you so much for reviewing our hotel. We appreciate your kinds words and are glad to know you enjoyed staying with us for the Quilt Convention. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again next year for the Quilt Convention!

upstate New York
Reviewed 13 April 2017 via mobile

We stayed here during music festival called Roots and Blues. . It was a perfect location. Easy walking to all the different music venues. The morning breakfast was simple but done with quality. Local fresh bread, quality, fresh fruit, and quality. Our room was kept immaculately clean. There was a mini fridge and microwave in our room. Lobby was very...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank annbee
Lori H, General Manager at The Hotel Lancaster, responded to this review

We are delighted to know you enjoyed your stay with us during the Roots and Blues Festival! Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience and for choosing to stay with us. We look forward to seeing you next year for the Roots and Blues Festival. A tip - due to the popularity of the Roots and Blues event, you may...

Chatham, Massachusetts
Reviewed 10 April 2017

The thing that stood out the most is how friendly and happy the staff were. They were quick to offer help with a smile. Seemed like they really liked working there. We stayed in this hotel several years ago and were pleasantly surprised to see all the changes. We would definitely stay here again and will recommend it to our...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Praising212
Lori H, General Manager at The Hotel Lancaster, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind compliments about our Team Members! We are fortunate to have such a great team who enjoy helping others to have a pleasant stay. We appreciate you telling your friends about us and we look forward to having them visit us when they come to Lancaster. Thank you for choosing to stay with us. Come see...

Reviewed 8 April 2017

Friendly, comfy, clean, place to stay. Staff is helpful. Cold breakfast offers a variety of juice, cereals , breads, and muffins/coffee cake. Coffee and tea available 24/7. Parking extremely reasonable and convenient.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Gail D
Lori H, General Manager at The Hotel Lancaster, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Guest satisfaction is our number one priority so we are so pleased to hear that our staff succeeded in making you comfortable and happy during your stay. Thank you for choosing to stay with us! We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Folsom, California
Reviewed 20 March 2017

The Hotel Lancaster is a beautifully remodeled hotel in the heart of downtown Lancaster. So many wonderful pubs and restaurants, plus galleries and shopping are all within easy walking distance of this hotel. The owners, along with all of the staff, are all 'hands on' and cannot be more friendly! The owners cleaned off tables at breakfast and shoveled snow...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank nanbloodworth

82 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (37)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (45)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (16)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lancaster hotels
3.2 km away
Eden Resort and Suites, BW Premier Collection
0.9 km away
Lancaster Arts Hotel
Lancaster Arts Hotel
#5 of 39 in Lancaster
903 reviews
0.4 km away
Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lancaster (Amish Country)
1.1 km away
Cork Factory Hotel
Cork Factory Hotel
#17 of 39 in Lancaster
533 reviews
5.6 km away
DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Lancaster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Discover Downtown Lancaster and stay with us, The Hotel Lancaster! We're the perfect location for your business, leisure and romantic trip to Lancaster. Enjoy free WIFI, a free "Lancaster" continental breakfast and our crisp newly designed and spacious rooms. Relax in our bright new lobby and enjoy the very best of our historic Lancaster neighborhood, featuring dozens of restaurants, museums and cultural sites! Plus, The Hotel Lancaster is the closest independent hotel to the Lancaster Convention Center, and footsteps to the Fulton Theater, Central Market and many nearby corporate Headquarters. Spooky Nook, Sight & Sound, Amish attractions and outlet shopping are minutes away from The Hotel Lancaster! Come be our guest. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Hotel Lancaster

Address: 26 E Chestnut St, North Queen & Chestnut Streets, Lancaster, PA 17602-2702
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Lancaster
Price Range: $171 - $276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Hotel Lancaster 2.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HRS and HotelsClick so you can book your The Hotel Lancaster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Hotel Lancaster staff and other travellers.
14 questions
Ask a question
Maroochydore, Australia
Staunton, Virginia
Staunton, Virginia
4 months ago
Summit, New Jersey
10 months ago

See all questions (14)

Questions? Get answers from The Hotel Lancaster staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I do not know if there are any good rooms.”
703kirstens, 5 May 2017 | Read review
“Parking in the garage next door; be sure to get it validated for $10/night”
A7633OGandreaa, 24 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for an odd numbered room”
Traveler6NewJersey, 23 Apr 2017 | Read review
“All the rooms are good!”
, 8 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Higher floors have good views of the city.”
nanbloodworth, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Travelocity
US$122* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$122
TripAdvisorUS$122
HotelQuicklyUS$134
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates