We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Shippen Place Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Shippen Place Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

152 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 151: English reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

When I stayed here on Sunday, January 29, 2017, the restaurant was closed, so breakfast was delivered to our room which was nice. Kind of wanted an evening snack/drink, but oh well, we made due. That said, the hotel was neat and clean and the beds comfortable. You can hear road noise in the room (and we were on the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maria v
Mallory W, Front Office Manager at Shippen Place Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing the Shippen Place Hotel for your stay! I'm glad to hear the housekeeping was neat and clean for your stay. I do apologize about the restaurant being closed for your stay. The University Grille has separate owner ship from the hotel and they get to choose their hours. I will let their manager know they were...

Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Still pinching myself that our stay was so fantastic at such an amazing price. Very nice lobby with excellent restaurant and perfect coffee shop. All the staff members we interacted with were friendly and helpful. And our room was great. Bed was comfortable, room was clean, bathroom was nice, TV had good channels. Room was quiet with view of King...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank slm60898
Mallory W, Front Office Manager at Shippen Place Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing the Shippen Place hotel! We are glad to hear we hit a home run on your rating scale. We would love to have you back when the weather is warmer. The restaurants patio is a guest favorite in the summer and we hope to have you back to try it out. I will be informing the...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very nice hotel and inexpensive, to boot! We enjoyed our brief stay very much! Nice sized rooms and the decor was pleasant. We didn't get a chance to eat in the University Grille, but we're looking forward to that next time!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Todd L
Mallory W, Front Office Manager at Shippen Place Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing the Shippen Place hotel in your travels! I am very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. If you choose to eat at the University Grille next time don't forget to mention the hotel guest discount. We are very excited to have you again!

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Our king suite was very clean and well-appointed including a fridge, microwave, coffee maker, tub, and a very comfortable bed. We stayed several days and were able to experience very helpful service first-hand from several staff including the ladies at the front desk and with room-service delivery. While the hotel did not have a fitness room they did give us...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris S
Mallory W, Front Office Manager at Shippen Place Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing the Shippen Place hotel! I am ecstatic to hear how well your stay went from your clean rooms to your dinner. I will be passing along this information to our restaurant and housekeeping staff. Thank you for your review we can't wait to have you again!

Womelsdorf
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The people were friendly, polite. and helpful. It is down town with a lot of parking in a lot behind it. We went there for a party and the food that was served was very good. We also ordered sandwiches from room service and they were also very good and cooked to your lioking.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bruce B
Mallory W, Front Office Manager at Shippen Place Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us! We are very happy to hear your food was very good. We hope to have you back!

Reviewed 21 November 2016 via mobile

This is one of the nicest places around here, and the prices are reasonable. My new favorite place to stay when I come to visit family! Rooms are clean, and the staff is very friendly and courteous. There is a restaurant on the first floor, and a few more within walking distance from the hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrea R
Mallory W, Guest Relations Manager at Shippen Place Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Andrea, Thank you so much for sharing your review and giving us an honest look at the guest experience in our hotel. I am glad that you enjoyed the value and the convenient location of our hotel! We are delighted by your compliments, rating and review of our high housekeeping and hospitality standards. Your thorough review is greatly appreciated!...

Ferney-Voltaire, France
Reviewed 19 November 2016

Glad to have chosen something other than one of the hotel/motel chains - you are downtown, good restaurant/bar (take advantage of 10% off food as hotel guest), parking lot, and very friendly staff (Ms. Brennan was extremely helpful when we checked in). While the building may not be as historic as the dining room suggests - with a traditional old-school...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marshall B
Mallory W, Guest Relations Manager at Shippen Place Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Marshall, Thank you for taking the time to complete our guest satisfaction survey and for rating our hotel so highly! I am so glad that you found our hotel to be clean and convenient and that you enjoyed the accommodations and hospitality that we strive to show to each guest, during every stay. We always aim to give you...

Washington DC
Reviewed 13 November 2016 via mobile

Everything was right at your fingertips, hotel restaurant coffee shop bar parking nice little college town Rooms were fabulous and everything new clean even the stairwells. Breakfast was great coffee especially good no great

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fttvienna
Mallory W, Guest Relations Manager at Shippen Place Hotel, responded to this review

Dear fttvienna, Thank you for taking the time to let us know how you enjoyed your stay with us! It is so rewarding to hear that we were able to provide a clean, great breakfast and convenient experience. Your five star review is greatly appreciated! We would love to have you back and we do hope to see you again...

woodstock
Reviewed 4 November 2016 via mobile

We have stayed here before and will stop again. We chose a parking lot side room this time to avoid the noise of street traffic. Little did we know that room 417 has a constant noise related to some type of vent fan that is in the bathroom. Closing the door seemed to help. We love the University grille. However,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank woodstockflea
Mallory W, Guest Relations Manager at Shippen Place Hotel, responded to this review

Dear woodstockflea, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience! We strive to give you a great experience, and I am pleased to learn that we were able to meet your expectations in many ways; though I regret to hear that you weren't thoroughly impressed with the vent fan in the bathroom. We appreciate your rating and are...

Arlington, Virginia
Reviewed 31 October 2016

I've stayed at this hotel numerous times. It's central location and amenities make it the perfect place to stay while in Shippensburg. It's just a minute from everything! The rooms are well kept the staff is awesome and everything you need is just steps away. The rooms are spacious and the beds are comfortable. The University Grille is wonderful. There...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tim P
Mallory W, Guest Relations Manager at Shippen Place Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Tim P, Thank you so much for your feedback and kind words regarding the five star service and accommodations that you received during your most recent stay with us! It is so rewarding to hear that we were able to provide a comfortable and convenient experience. On behalf of our entire staff, we thank you for your business and...

33 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shippensburg
2.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Shippensburg
2.7 km away
BEST WESTERN Shippensburg Hotel
2.0 km away
Courtyard Shippensburg
Courtyard Shippensburg
#3 of 6 in Shippensburg
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 km away
Sleep Inn & Suites Chambersburg
Sleep Inn & Suites Chambersburg
#5 of 16 in Chambersburg
288 reviews
15.8 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Chambersburg
16.2 km away
Candlewood Suites Chambersburg
Candlewood Suites Chambersburg
#7 of 16 in Chambersburg
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access

Additional Information about Shippen Place Hotel

Address: 32 E. King Street, Shippensburg, PA 17257
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Shippensburg
Price Range: $76 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Shippen Place Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Shippen Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Shippen Place Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
North Port, Florida
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Shippen Place Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Get room on fourth floor and/or one not on the street side of the hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles J6541NSmariav, 7 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We stayed in an upper level room away from the elevator and facing King Street. It was quiet with a great view.”
 of 5 bubbles slm60898, 23 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The fourth floor was great! Nice of of downtown!”
 of 5 bubbles 718toddl, 23 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We were on the top floor and did not hear a thing,”
 of 5 bubbles bruceb492, 20 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The corner king rooms are very quaint. The hotel is on the main street so you will hear cars if you are in the front. The rear is quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles 937timp, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5