We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Rodeway Inn

Expedia.comUS$75*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$94*
US$75*
US$94*
US$75*
US$94*
US$75*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Rodeway Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

77 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 76: English reviews
Start your review of Rodeway Inn
 Click to rate
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed in State College to spend parent's weekend with my daughter. I booked late but found Rodeway Inn. The owners are very professional and sweet. The rooms are basic but clean. Bring your own toiletries. Continental breakfast served in the morning. Convenient location to Penn St, downtown and shopping further down Atherton. Lots of great TV channels that we enjoyed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MicheleandBob67
Long Island, New York
Reviewed 12 March 2017 via mobile

We just stayed at Rodeway Inn we had two rooms upstairs. They were large with a refrigerator and microwave. Table and two chairs. There was an iron in the room. No coffee maker. There was a breakfast every morning from 7a-10a. There were bagels w/butter, jelly, muffins, pastries, Cheerios, Raisin bran, milk, oj, coffee & tea. The staff were extremely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jgoldie
Reviewed 15 February 2017

I was very happy staying here. If all the hotels I stayed in were like this I would be a content traveler. It is a basic hotel with a great price. Nice people, good location, microwave and fridge in the room and coffee and rolls in the morning. If you’re travelling to State College and want a great room for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Neal C
Bob P, Front Office Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property. I'm very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. Once again, thank you for your review and we appreciate your business and feedback. I hope we see you again on your next trip to State College.

Reviewed 25 November 2016

The room was clean but not super clean. My wife pointed out some dirty spots. The air climate system in the room was noisy and a little cumbersome. The continental breakfast amounted to bagels, muffins, toast, cereal, coffee or tea, orange juice. The price wasn't bad for the area though, and it was close to the University.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rudy H
Bob P, Front Office Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future....

Denver, Colorado
Reviewed 23 July 2016

I usually don't stay in Rodeway Inns, because their standards don't meet mine. However, a six day stay at this Rodeway proved me wrong, at least about this property. The rooms were spacious and very clean. The beds were comfortable, with fluffy fresh towels every day. The place was quiet at night, in spite of this was alumni weekend for...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank msirani
Bob P, General Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property. I'm very happy to hear you found your room spacious, very clean, and we exceeded your expectations. Once again, thank you for your review and we appreciate your business and feedback. I hope we see you again on your next trip to State College.

Reading, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 21 July 2016

Big stain on bedspread. Yuck. I took it off the bed and put it in drawer. Room stank like cat urine. Yuck. Manager was very nice but I was glad to leave. This was a last minute reservation for Friday night of Arts Fest so not many places available. Next time we will just go for the day if this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris E
Bob P, General Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future....

Spartanburg, South Carolina
Reviewed 3 July 2016

As others have mentioned this is an older property that could be updated. But it is very well kept and very clean. Room was a decent size and included large flat screen TV, refrigerator and microwave. Bathroom was on the small side but sufficient and well-maintained. Employees that I dealt with were courteous and helpful. I did not try the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mds_usc
Bob P, Front Office Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property. I'm very happy to hear you found your room very clean. Our friendly staff does a great job maintaining the property. We do have a great location, only 1 mile to downtown State College, and .5 miles to Penn State University. Once again, thank you for your review...

Confluence, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 25 June 2016

This hotel is quite old but it is one of the cleanest hotels you will ever find. VERY, VERY CLEAN!! Amazingly clean. Adequate, though small rooms, flat screen TVs with lots of channels, well located with food, shopping and college within walking distance. Friendly staff. Skip breakfast, tiny area, few offerings.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank RRGUY9
Bob P, Front Office Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property. I'm very happy to hear you found your room amazingly clean. Our friendly staff does a great job maintaining the rooms. Unfortunately, being an older motel we do not have the facilities for a dedicated breakfast room and are only able to provide a continental breakfast consisting of...

Michigan
Reviewed 20 June 2016

The rooms at this Rodeway Inn look rather tired; the place obviously hasn't been updated for many years. The bathroom was cramped (with a tiny shower of the size you often find in Europe) and the flat screen TV was quite small, but the bed was comfortable and the place was reasonably clean. The staff were friendly and welcoming; however,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MichiganBanjoMan
Bob P, Front Office Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property. I'm very happy to hear you found your room clean and beds comfortable. Our friendly staff does a great job. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and I hope we see you again soon.

Ontario
Reviewed 8 June 2016

Good location and clean place. Breakfast sucks. The cheapest and minimum stuff. just muffins and coffee and juice. Its better to go to fast food chain and have something else. Even sitting area is so small.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank airjorge
Bob P, Front Office Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property. I'm very happy to hear you found your room clean. Our friendly staff does a great job maintaining the rooms. Unfortunately, being an older motel we do not have the facilities for a dedicated breakfast room and are only able to provide a continental breakfast consisting of assorted...

28 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (3)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (2)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these State College hotels
0.3 km away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#18 of 26 in State College
166 reviews
0.3 km away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#13 of 26 in State College
230 reviews
4.1 km away
Super 8 State College
Super 8 State College
#22 of 26 in State College
726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 km away
Hampton Inn State College
Hampton Inn State College
#11 of 26 in State College
528 reviews
3.9 km away
Ramada State College Hotel & Conference Center
1.8 km away
Hyatt Place State College
Hyatt Place State College
#21 of 26 in State College
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn

Address: 1040 North Atherton Street, State College, PA 16803
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > State College
Price Range: $94 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rodeway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn State College
State College Rodeway Inn
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in State College
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Rodeway Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I stayed in 114. Two double beds. Great basic room with a microwave and fridge. First floor.”
145nealc, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Being a light sleeper, I always ask for a room on an upper floor.”
msirani, 23 Jul 2016 | Read review
“We were in the back of the building and close to the street, but didn't notice road noise (more noise during the school year?).”
travelerneedsclean, 1 Aug 2015 | Read review
“We had large room on top floor.”
AlanColumbia_PA, 27 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Ask for a second floor room.”
Kman411, 18 May 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$75* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$75
TripAdvisorUS$75
HotelQuicklyUS$94
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates