We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Residence Inn State College

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Residence Inn State College
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

111 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 110: English reviews
Yorktown, Virginia
Reviewed 1 week ago

Three night stay, and our first trip to State College. The room was fine and no fatal flaws in our stay. Objectively, not quite the levels of service or amenities we've experienced at other RI in more metropolitan locations. We are very regular Marriott customers, so we may notice some things others don't. Again, no fatal flaws, and given the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FJVLS
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Residence Inn State College, responded to this review

Dear FJVLS, We appreciate you sharing your sincere review. It’s great to hear that you enjoyed our amenities and accommodations. Your feedback, which highlights strengths and areas of improvement, serve as encouragement to our associates who strive to provide a pleasant stay. We hope to see you again on a return visit. Sincerely, Alicia Benner General Manager

Brooklyn Park, Maryland
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

If you are looking for the perfect place to stay, where the staff in every area is top notch and you feel welcome every minute of your stay, look no further! The suites are beautiful, they have everything you could need or want and from the moment you open the door you are able to relax. They are pet friendly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank redhead2229
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Residence Inn State College, responded to this review

Dear redhead2229, I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay. It is wonderful to know that you found our rooms comfortable and our associates friendly. Your review and recommendation are welcomed and appreciated. Thank you for staying with us. Best, Alicia Benner General Manager

Miami Beach
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

They need to have a reasonable pet policy and enforce it. Some guest would turn their dogs loose in the hallways. I saw large dogs jumping on other guests. Once there was even a dog fight next to the reception area. The room was ok. Nothing spectacular but ok. Breakfast buffet was often out of basic items. Excellent service from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank murgattore
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Residence Inn State College, responded to this review

Dear murgattore, Thank you for taking the time to share your concerns. I'm very sorry that you saw pets off their leashes; this is in violation of our policy and your feedback heightens our awareness. Though we are a pet friendly hotel, we implement deep cleaning procedures upon departure to ensure the comfort of our guests with allergies. We do...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Hotel room comfortable and quiet; the staff is very friendly and helpful. Some evenings events (free burgers or desserts) are organized to socialize with other guests if wanted. For my next stay at State College I will come back here.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Theo D
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Residence Inn State College, responded to this review

Dear Theo D, Our associates make sincere hospitality their priority. We appreciate hearing from you and are glad to know you enjoyed our hotel and the level of service we provide. Thank you especially for recognizing the staff, I will be sure to share your kind comments. We look forward to seeing you upon your return to the area! Best,...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 23 October 2016 via mobile

We recently stayed at Marriott for family weekend. Since there are very few hotels in State college.This hotel charged us 1300 for two nights. The room we had is usually about 300 a night. When asked about charge I was told it was because of family weekend. I have been a member of Marriott for years. I think it's a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank AMERICANS
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Residence Inn State College, responded to this review

Dear AMERICANS, I'm very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay and that you did not find us to be a good value. We do our very best to keep our rates competitive and market appropriate during special event weekends. We will take your comments under consideration. Additionally, I'm sorry that inconsiderate guests interrupted the comfort of your stay....

Mississauga, Canada
Reviewed 17 October 2016

I stayed here in October 2016 for a stay in a two bedroom suite. From the staff, Breakfast and room accommodations it was excellent. The room was so comfortable with two washrooms and two bedrooms it makes for a comfortable stay. It would be great for long term stay. The breakfast was wonderful. The staff so accommodation and warm. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank barryhoneyman
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Residence Inn State College, responded to this review

Dear barryhoneyman, We are delighted to hear of the comfort you experienced at our hotel. I’m glad you were able to take advantage of our spacious suites and abundant amenities. Our associates are the key to providing our guests with a satisfying stay. We appreciate your kind remarks and hope to see you again. Best, Alicia Benner General Manager

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 13 October 2016

This hotel is absolutely No. 1 choice to us, excellent location, decent services and friendly staff. Justin (at front desk) is very kind to each guest, he makes us feel at home. We arrived a bit earlier than the standard check-in time, the room booked was not quite ready yet...Justin tried his best finding another room so that we could...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cheerupanxy
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Residence Inn State College, responded to this review

Dear cheerupanxy, I’m thrilled to learn we were well suited to your travel needs; thanks for taking the time to share your experience. It’s wonderful to know you enjoyed our location and accommodating service. We appreciate your recommendation, but of course the highest form of praise would be your return! Best, Alicia Benner General Manager

Reviewed 12 October 2016 via mobile

I stay here on business whenever I'm in State College. The staff even remembers me when I walk in. The rooms are always clean, staff is always friendly, dinner and breakfast always good. It is located very close to some mini malls for convenience if you need anything you left at home.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tony M
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Residence Inn State College, responded to this review

Dear Tony M, We appreciate you sharing your kind recommendation. It’s great to hear that you enjoy our friendly service, clean accommodations and ample breakfast. Your words serve as encouragement to our associates who strive to provide a pleasant stay. Thank you for your continued patronage. Best, Alicia Benner General Manager

Reviewed 13 September 2016

We enjoyed our stay at the hotel before college started. The rooms we had were clean and staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was also nice here and so was the afternoon snacks. Location was nice because it was close to Penn State, PNC Bank, and a number of restaurants.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hamid A
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Residence Inn State College, responded to this review

Dear Hamid A, We are happy to hear from you and glad to know your stay was pleasant. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. Your recommendation serves as encouragement to our associates who genuinely care about providing each guest with an enjoyable stay. We look forward to a return visit. Best, Alicia Benner General Manager

Reviewed 5 August 2016

We are Marriott Reward members (gold level) and have stayed at every brand of hotel in the Marriott chain, multiple times. When traveling with our kids, we often select a Residence Inn as they typically offer the best room options for families. This hotel was the absolute worst Marriott we've ever booked!!! Upon check in, we requested the room upgrade...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Tracey H
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Residence Inn State College, responded to this review

Dear Tracey H, Thank you for sharing a review about your recent stay. We sincerely apologize that we were unable to provide you with the exceptional stay you've come to expect from Marriott. I'm sorry that we did not have a complimentary upgrade available and for any lapses in cleanliness in the bathroom. I regret that our room decor was...

42 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these State College hotels
2.8 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area)
1.9 km away
Days Inn Penn State
Days Inn Penn State
#7 of 27 in State College
1,048 reviews
4.0 km away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#9 of 27 in State College
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Hilton Garden Inn State College
Hilton Garden Inn State College
#3 of 27 in State College
455 reviews
2.4 km away
The Atherton Hotel
The Atherton Hotel
#14 of 27 in State College
424 reviews
0.2 km away
Courtyard State College
Courtyard State College
#19 of 27 in State College
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Newly renovated! Residence Inn State College all-suite hotel combines all the comforts of home with the conveniences of a hotel. Our State College hotel near Penn State University (PSU) and Downtown State College (1.5 Miles) will keep you close to all of the action, your own students and to the exciting Penn State University sports teams. Residence Inn State College hotel is in the heart of Happy Valley and close to many area businesses making your commute to work an easy one. As the only extended stay all-suite hotel in State College, what we have to offer is second to none! All of our spacious suites offer fully equipped kitchens, separate living area and FREE High Speed Internet. Start your day every morning with our complimentary deluxe breakfast buffet. Socialize with us Tues - Thurs at our free dinner buffet. Unwind in our Billiards Lounge, Indoor Pool, Whirlpool, Sport Court or Fitness Center. Among State College hotels, Residence Inn surpasses the rest, whether you're staying one night or thirty! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Residence Inn State College

Address: 1555 University Dr, State College, PA 16801-6450
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > State College
Price Range: $140 - $497 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn State College 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Residence Inn State College reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
State College Residence Inn
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in State College
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Residence Inn State College staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Residence Inn State College staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Having only had excellent experiences in any area of this hotel anytime I've stayed, I would say any suite you have will be wonderful!”
 of 5 bubbles redhead2229, 18 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Avoid the rooms/suites close to the reception area. They tend to be noisy.”
 of 5 bubbles murgattore, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“two bedroom suite”
 of 5 bubbles barryhoneyman, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Good location, family friendly”
 of 5 bubbles 91hamida, 13 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Ask for the Hot Tub/Fireplace rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles N8037FRjeremys, 28 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay