We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Atherton Hotel

Booking.comUS$104*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$104*
US$104*
US$104*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
The Atherton Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

454 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 452: English reviews
Start your review of The Atherton Hotel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Stayed here during a conference. Room was very nice and clean. No fridge, though! Good thing vending machines were not over priced like other hotels. Had several meals catered by The Atherton Hotel during conference. All were very good. There was this stuffed chicken that was delicious. Staff was very friendly. Hotel is right downtown in walking distance to almost...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank B.J. N
TheAthertonHotel, General Manager at The Atherton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your time in sharing your review. We are really pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that your conference was a good one. We will pass your compliments along to the Chef. Maggie Biddle, General Manager

Vancouver, Canada
HOTEL’S FAVOURITE REVIEW
Reviewed 6 March 2017 via mobile

This hotel is centrally located and perfect for staying in the hub. Just out the front door is steps from all the shops and restaurants. They have a airport shuttle and this is nice when your not renting a car. The hotel a a nice lounging area for sitting, visiting or just reading the paper each morning. There is indoor...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Darryl F
About Hotel's Favourite Review
TheAthertonHotel, General Manager at The Atherton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your fabulous review. We really appreciate your time in sharing your comments and insight with other travelers. Mostly we are just really pleased to know that you had a great time. Your business is appreciated. As a small independent hotel we value each and every customer. If you're coming back to the area and would...

york, pa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

charged twice for same reservation. called hotel to inquire and double charge and front desk staff stated "I cant help you with any kind of credit even if you were double charged, you'll have to call back in the a.m." Did not even bother to take a look at the reservation, was very unhelpful and this is POOR customer service....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nurse3793
TheAthertonHotel, General Manager at The Atherton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sue--you were never charged twice. We have been trying to contact you in regard to understanding your charges and the false accusations you are making online. We cannot charge a guest's room to another guest's room without a signed authorization form. When you made the reservation and guaranteed it with your credit card possibly--guaranteeing the room does not mean...

Harrisburg
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I had a wonderful experience at The Atherton Hotel. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The room was comfortable, however, you need to request a refrigerator and/or microwave for your room. Parking is limited and the spaces are tight. It's close to great shopping and restaurants in downtown State College.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank William B
TheAthertonHotel, General Manager at The Atherton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your high rating and for your time in sharing your experience. Your business is appreciated.

Webster, New York
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is my favorite hotel in State College. It's upscale but not stuffy, and generally has good food in both the sports lounge and the dining room. However, the Eggs Benedict with overcooked (hard-boiled) eggs without any hollandaise sauce was a dry disappointment this time. :(

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mgeckle
TheAthertonHotel, General Manager at The Atherton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review. We are thrilled to be your favorite hotel in town. The Eggs Benedict is one of our very best sellers and my personal favorite on our menu as well. I'm sorry that you had a bad experience and the eggs were harder than you expected this time---that really is disappointing!. I hope you will...

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We picked the Atherton Hotel due to the fantastic location at the edge of the Penn State main campus when we were traveling for a college tour. We were just looking for a simple hotel with parking. We were in for a pleasant surprise! The lobby was beautiful (like wedding picture perfect), the room was clean, the beds were comfortable,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank funtravelswith2kids
TheAthertonHotel, General Manager at The Atherton Hotel, responded to this review

We are thrilled and flattered by your lovely comments. Thank you so much for sharing your review. As a small independent hotel our staff works hard to live up to our guests expectations. Your review will serve as encouragement to all of our staff at The Atherton. Please contact me directly if I can be of service to you during...

Wayne, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 8 April 2017

I only spent 1 night at the Atherton Hotel but found it to be the perfect place to stay in downtown State College. The value for money was excellent. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful. I loved the bar at this hotel. I enjoyed wonderful craft beers and very good bar food. The fact that you can walk into...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John1949 L
TheAthertonHotel, General Manager at The Atherton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your wonderful review and for choosing us for your recent stay in State College. We are really happy you enjoyed the value and our bar. Your high praise and kind words for our staff are truly appreciated. If I can be of service to you in the future please contact me directly before your next...

Reviewed 31 March 2017

We had our first visit to PSU and could not have been happier with the Atherton.. The location is one of 3 which are downtown. The staff is tremendous.. Our suite had a great sitting room with a TV.. The beds were comfortable as well..

 Report
Helpful?
Thank blockward
TheAthertonHotel, General Manager at The Atherton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your excellent review and for choosing The Atherton for your first visit to Penn State. We are really appreciative of your business and of your comments and feedback. If I can ever be of assistance to you during future visits to the area, please feel welcome to call upon me directly: mpb@athertonhotel.net. Maggie Biddle, General Manager

philadelphia
Reviewed 23 March 2017

This was my 2nd stay at this hotel. The first time was ok except it was marred by a very temperamental hvac unit. The hotel GM was gracious enough to send me a free room coupon which is what I used tonight for a standard room. I really wanted to like this hotel because of it's location and it's friendly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank deckm
TheAthertonHotel, General Manager at The Atherton Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your lengthy review. I'm sorry that the room felt too warm and that you did not enjoy the WiFi but I am glad to know that you enjoyed your free stay with us in so many aspects. Your depiction of the hotel is somewhat unfortunate and inaccurate since we have been in the process of extensive updates and...

Scranton, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 23 March 2017

Rooms are very neat and clean. Front desk was courteous and professional. The food in the Tarragon restaurant was delicious and Rumors Lounge is a great place to have cocktails! Lobby décor is very lavish.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jmill14007
TheAthertonHotel, General Manager at The Atherton Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and for your business. We truly appreciate your kind compliments and are always pleased to know that our guests had a nice stay. It's great that you enjoyed Rumors Lounge and Tarragon Restaurant as well. Your patronage is valued. Maggie Biddle, General Manager

92 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (36)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (56)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (16)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these State College hotels
0.8 km away
Nittany Lion Inn
Nittany Lion Inn
#3 of 26 in State College
741 reviews
0.5 km away
Days Inn Penn State
Days Inn Penn State
#5 of 26 in State College
1,181 reviews
3.4 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, State College (Penn State Area)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 km away
Hilton Garden Inn State College
Hilton Garden Inn State College
#2 of 26 in State College
510 reviews
0.2 km away
Hyatt Place State College
Hyatt Place State College
#16 of 26 in State College
62 reviews
1.9 km away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#12 of 26 in State College
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
No photo provided
Atherton Hotel
Cuisines: American
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
150 room full service hotel in the heart of downtown State College, PA. One block from Penn State University. Comfortable, relaxed atmosphere, restaurant, bar, room service, excellent location. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Atherton Hotel

Address: 125 S Atherton St, State College, PA 16801-3827
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > State College
Price Range: $121 - $353 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Atherton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Atherton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atherton Hotel State College
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in State College
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Atherton Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Atherton Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Top floor rooms have very little, if any, street noise.”
williambD7549HS, 5 May 2017 | Read review
“Rooms on the west side are quieter.”
jmill14007, 23 Mar 2017 | Read review
“do not get close to the elevator !! Or facing a street, I heard sirens two nights out of the 4 that I was there”
bsbrown1980, 23 Mar 2017 | Read review
“A room with a side-street view will be quieter.”
Lin0515, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Room 615 brand new”
619tammym, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$104* /night
View Deal
AscendHotelsUS$104
TripAdvisorUS$104
Expedia.comUS$104
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates