We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The George Washington Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Management photos
The George Washington Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

53 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 49: English reviews
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We arrived for a surprise get together - thirty two years since our last visit - and found it to be clean and the staff friendly. Drinks were a tad expensive but the food was excellent and the ambiance pleasant. Loads of parking Overall a three star Plus

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dunkybabe
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 17 October 2016 via mobile

After looking at countless other options for a wedding venue, we settled on the George Washington and were NOT disappointed. Claire was spot on with her communication, was always knowledgeable, and helped in so many ways that we can't possibly thank her enough. The wedding went smoothly (as did our rehersal), and everyone had a wonderful time. I couldn't have...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ItsBrittanyAnn
Sylacauga, Alabama
Reviewed 11 August 2016

When you step into the door you go back in time to see how things were back in the early to mid 1900's. Yes it looks good. Parking is awful when they are having weddings and events, so there's a minus. The room I was in(808) was wonderfully set up and clean. Way to go Traci!!! The tubs in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peggy B
Spring Hill, Florida, Usa
Reviewed 20 July 2016

We were there for a wedding, and maybe booked 18 rooms. They were not prepared for us . . . not enough towels, washcloths, Kleenex and cleaning for a 3 night stay was minimal (some people didn't have hot water and they didn't know how to turn it on) . . . I couldn't reach the pull cords on the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carol B
Management response:

Dear Carol B, Thank you for bringing to light the issues you and your party endured while staying with us. I would first and foremost like to apologize for any and all problems. Due to your concerns given to us on the weekend of the event we have made the necessary changes to improve our hotel. On behalf of the...

Reviewed 18 July 2016 via mobile

This review pains me to write. I had a beautiful NYE wedding at the George Washington Hotel. It was gorgeous. Picture perfect. The chef is as astounding. A diamond in the rough. Those elements were top notch. We had some other not so great features, like the bartender the evening before just not knowing how to handle a crowded bar...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Justin L
Reviewed 17 July 2016 via mobile

Came to PA for a concert at the First Niagara Pavilion and thought we'd avoid the Pittsburgh traffic by staying somewhere quaint and historic. We'll fight the traffic next time. It was nostalgic, perhaps, but not impressive for the price. We were told by staff there was no parking available, and we had to find a spot on the street....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jim M
Jacksonville, Florida
Reviewed 8 July 2016

I read one "terrible" review and it had nothing to do with the hotel, it was the experience at the front desk which could have happened anywhere. The good reviews were more accurate. Yes the hotel is not up to our 2016 standards, but in 1975 this was how it was, and it was acceptable - to me its a...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank joe c
Gassaway, West Virginia
Reviewed 30 June 2016

The Hotel seems to be an aborted restoration project - aborted by the great recession. Two floors have been renovated for travelers, and the rooms are nice, pretty much as pictured. One floor has been converted to offices, several floors are for long term residents, and a few floors are for extended-stay corporate guests. It seems like a lot of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John T
Columbus, Ohio
Reviewed 9 June 2016

I attended a wedding here. The hotel was very nice and well suited for the wedding. The wedding and reception were in the hotel and I was able to book a room in the hotel as well, which was great after having libations at the reception. My room was more expensive than that of some of the surrounding hotels, but...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank zachpearson166
Stow, Ohio, United States
Reviewed 22 February 2016

We did not spend the night, but were at the hotel for a formal fundraising event. This classic hotel has such character and charm. The space was perfect for the event and the ballroom was beautiful. The appetizers and desserts served were delicious. The staff was courteous and helpful. I would love to spend the night some time.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Abbey B

19 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington hotels
2.2 km away
SpringHill Suites Washington
SpringHill Suites Washington
#12 of 21 in Washington
149 reviews
1.5 km away
Hampton Inn Washington
Hampton Inn Washington
#3 of 21 in Washington
465 reviews
6.3 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Washington/Meadow Lands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 km away
Cambria hotel & suites
Cambria hotel & suites
#4 of 21 in Washington
299 reviews
6.5 km away
Hyatt Place Pittsburgh South/Meadows Racetrack & Casino
2.3 km away
Ramada Washington
Ramada Washington
#14 of 21 in Washington
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Banquet Room
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Built in 1923 with the blessing of the city fathers, The George Washington Hotel was originally acclaimed as the most modern hotel in America with 210 rooms and 210 baths. Currently undergoing restoration, The George Washington is a multi-use building including banquet facilities, restaurants & bars, modern & luxurious hotel rooms, a fitness center and offices. Currently experiencing a Lodging and Culinary Revolution! ... more   less 

Additional Information about The George Washington Hotel

Address: 60 S Main St, Washington, PA 15301-6821
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Washington
Price Range: $114 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The George Washington Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your The George Washington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The George Washington Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If your going to stay for awhile...come see them. Stayed here for the past 3 years off and on”
 of 5 bubbles 753peggyb, 11 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Ask for the third floor.”
 of 5 bubbles johntA606WD, 30 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Having been "upgraded" to a suite, I wouldn't pay for it.”
 of 5 bubbles dexbones, 19 Nov 2014 | Read review
“The nicest rooms are the suites. The two best suites are the Marilyn Monroe Suite and the Kennedy Suite. Pay $189 for a plain old cookie cutter room at the Holiday Inn Express, or pay the same for a grand suite with lots of historic character at The GW Hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles accountantonthemove, 13 Nov 2014 | Read review
“Ask for a room with self controlled AC.”
 of 5 bubbles PixieSaurus-Rex, 29 Jun 2013 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay