We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Candlewood Suites Reading

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Candlewood Suites Reading
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

108 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 107: English reviews
Start your review of Candlewood Suites Reading
 Click to rate
Geelong, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It was going to be a busy week at Berks Fest and accommodation was tight and I was fortunate to find a room here. Although its an apartment hotel I found this to be better suited in that you dont have a hundred people at breakfast everyday. Nice and quiet. My thanks to Edelyn, Merrilia and Rachel for making me...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank denis d
Candlewood Suit... R, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Reading, responded to this review

Denis, what a joy it was to get to know you during your stay! We are ALL so glad that you had a great time while you stayed with us. We love that our guests can utilize the full kitchens in our suites and that we are a great center point from Reading to West Reading. I am so sorry...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed here a few weeks ago and overall it was a great stay. I have stayed here before and enjoyed it as well. The lady at the front desk was very nice and attentive... I arrived before check in time but my room was ready so she checked me in and was very helpful suggesting activities in the area...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Barbara K
Candlewood Suit... R, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Reading, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Barbara and for bringing your concerns to light for us. There are some delivery companies that we work with that unfortunately do not allow their staff members to travel up to personal rooms any longer, and that is a policy per delivery service. I'm sorry that this changed for you however we do not have...

Bloomsburg, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I was very impressed with my room it was nicely designed and very comfortable. The front desk was welcoming and helpful. The bed was so amazing I didn't want to get up. My only true complaint was the shower had no pressure and the shower head was crappy otherwise my stay was fantastic.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank nikkyblue
Candlewood Suit... R, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Reading, responded to this review

Thank you for letting us know about your recent stay NikkyBlue! I'm so happy to hear that you were comfortable while you stayed. Did you let our Front Desk Manager know about the shower head? We always have a maintenance manager on site and we can fix that for you immediately! Thank you for bringing it to our attention here...

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

I've stayed at this property many times throughout the years I love the atmosphere when I'm there but the past 2 months I've been visiting for buisness the atmosphere has been rather dull everyone that was once cheery are now very serious I enjoyed coming here and listening to all the laughter and positivity throughout the hallways and now it's...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jason0926
Candlewood Suit... R, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Reading, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to send this review to us. I'm sorry to hear that our staff wasn't their normal bubbly selves on the day you were leaving. I guess everyone has an off day and this was obviously one of ours! We certainly want to make all of our guests feel welcome, and happy to be here...

Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 14 December 2016 via mobile

Candlewood was a nice hotel. I had never stayed in a Candlewood before, so was unaware of not having complementary breakfast. The room was nice, but my neighbors upstairs must have thought 1am was the time to jump around. The staff was nice and courteous. Prime location for restaurants and such. Good place to stay if your looking for rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Shaunte C
Candlewood Suit... R, Front Office Manager at Candlewood Suites Reading, responded to this review

Hello Shaunte C, I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Candlewood Suites. Our staff does a phenomenal job of creating a great guest experience and clean rooms for our guests. Unfortunately we do not offer a complimentary breakfast as we are an extended stay property. All of our rooms are fully equipped with a full size...

Erial
Reviewed 4 December 2016

We stayed 1 night for a mini getaway. Everyone we met was very friendly and accommodating. The hotel was clean and bed was very comfortable. We were just surprised at the size of the room. For a "suites" hotel, this was anything but. Although it did have a full sized kitchen - we expected a larger room with at least...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank EMG51
Candlewood Suit... R, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Reading, responded to this review

Hi EMG51, I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Candlewood Suites. I'm also glad to hear that the staff made a great impression on you and that you found the hotel clean and comfortable. We have different room types based on the needs of the guests. We are considered suites because we do offer a kitchen...

Miami, Florida
Reviewed 25 November 2016

We stayed here a couple years ago and again this year-- and unfortunately, the property seems to be on a downhill slide. The staff is excellent-- they seem to genuinely care about guests' comfort and I appreciated that. But the stove didn't work, the wall-mounted hairdryer was broken (which they replaced quickly), the shower was so weak I had to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SusanMochnacs
Candlewood Suit... R, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Reading, responded to this review

Hi Susan, I'm glad to hear you had a great experience with our staff. It is good to hear that the bed was comfortable and you didn't have any noise issues. Thank you for the input on your guest room. We will take care of those issues you experienced so that the next time you visit we can provide an...

Gulfport, Mississippi
Reviewed 31 October 2016 via mobile

Switched here from the Hampton Inn - and this is not on the same level as the Hampton although pricing is about the same. Longer stay type of place with weekly housekeeping service. Smell of bug spray in the hallways, etc....... lower quality but very spacious and I would come here again if I had to stay for a week...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tom B
Candlewood Suit... R, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Reading, responded to this review

Hi Tom, I'm glad that you enjoyed your experience during your recent stay. We do cater to extended stay guests but do our best to accommodate those on short term stays as well. We look forward to your next visit. Timothy Seidel General Manager

Hackensack, New Jersey
Reviewed 8 October 2016

Would have given this Candalwood Suites a 0 if I could. Booked through Hotwire 6 days ago. Drove over three hours only to receive a Hotwire message at 1:00 pm today that the hotel was overbooked and the hotel cancelled my reservation! Didn't the hotel know at the time of the booking that they were overbooked?Terrible customer service.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Flyan
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Reading, responded to this review

Dear FlyAndLearn, Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay at Candlewood Suites West Reading, PA. We apologize for any inconvenience encountered with your cancelled reservation. I would like to address this with you further. I have sent you a private message to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing from you and being of...

Reviewed 9 September 2016 via mobile

Room was nice and clean. Staff is phenomenal. Especially Fred. He checked us in. I requested a room with two beds instead of one at the last minute and he accommodated me with no hassle. I will stay here again if I ever come back to reading.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DeAnna S
Candlewood Suit... R, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Reading, responded to this review

Hi DeAnna S, I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Candlewood Suites. Our staff does a phenomenal job of creating a great guest experience and clean rooms for our guests. Fred is a great asset to our company. His service is one of the reasons we are successful. We look forward to your next visit. Timothy...

36 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (14)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Reading
1.7 km away
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Reading
1.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Wyomissing
1.3 km away
Courtyard Reading Wyomissing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Reading
2.1 km away
Inn at Reading
Inn at Reading
#5 of 7 in Wyomissing
386 reviews
2.4 km away
Days Inn Reading Wyomissing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We know what you need. Extended-stay travelers play by different rules and need a hotel that understands your unique needs. The Candlewood Suites, Reading, PA is designed with your travel needs in mind. Just minutes from downtown Reading and many local businesses such as Reading Hospital & Medical Center, Alvernia and Albright Colleges, we offer the amenities that make you feel at home. Our hotel features fully equipped suites with kitchens, room to spread out, space to work and space to relax. Plus, there's great shopping, dining and exciting entertainment at VF Outlet Village, Sovereign Center, and Goggleworks Center for the Arts just a short drive away. Stroll down Penn Avenue and experience the many unique shops and restaurants in West Reading. When it's time to get connected we know what you need free high speed Internet, cable, sports, and movie channels. And when you need to burn some energy the fully equipped fitness center will help melt the stress away. When you come to Reading, PA we know what you need. The Candlewood Suites is your best stay for a week, a month, or even a year. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Reading

Address: 55 S 3rd Ave, West Reading, PA 19611-1246
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > West Reading
Price Range: $138 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Reading 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Candlewood Suites Reading reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Reading Hotel West Reading
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Candlewood Suites Reading staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Candlewood Suites Reading staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for non smoking”
658denisd, 9 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Trains go by every night. Take your pick.”
407stephenz, 6 May 2016 | Read review
“top floor you won't have feet marching on your ceiling.”
bsaylor1, 23 Feb 2016 | Read review
“odd numers look out at the city”
FM6, 25 Nov 2015 | Read review
“had second floor room with view of downtown Reading”
LARRYOTTER, 18 Feb 2015 | Read review
5 of 5