We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Candlewood Suites Reading

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Candlewood Suites Reading
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

107 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Candlewood Suites Reading
See the most recent reviews
Showing 106: English reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2016 via mobile

I have been in this hotel since Thursday afternoon and tomorrow (Sunday) is my 3rd and last night here, my room has not been cleaned ONCE, I have not gotten new towels or any refills on coffee or even toilet paper. The room isn't bad at all I must say, but housekeeping is a MUST for me. Just called front...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Victoria T
Candlewood Suit... R, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Reading, responded to this review

Hi Victoria T, I'm sorry to hear that you are not having a great experience at the Candlewood Suites! As an extended stay property, we only offer housekeeping service once a week (every 7 days), due to the nature of our hotel. We do this in order to offer privacy to our guests so that someone is not coming into...

Barnegat, New Jersey
Reviewed 2 August 2016

The hotel is close to a lot of great restaurants and bars. The room cleaning was horrible. We had hairs in our new sheets ("That's just the way it is") and the rest of the cleaning was so poor that we had to buy our own cleaning products to clean the bathroom and kitchenette. We tried getting them to clean...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Fredrik T
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Reading, responded to this review

Dear Fredrik T, Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. We are pleased you liked the convenient location of our hotel in the area. We would like to apologize you were not well satisfied with the room you received, especially with its cleanliness. We want to assure you that our hotel is very proud of...

Houston, Texas
Reviewed 24 July 2016

Stayed 9 days due to a death in the family. The hotel was clean and comfortable. The staff friendly. Great location to walk to restaurants & bars on Penn Ave. "Full size" refrigerator, with ice maker, in the room (didn't use the microwave or stove). Good for a longer term stay, great location even if you're only there a couple...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank craigschofer
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Reading, responded to this review

Dear craigschofer, Thank you for being our guest and for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are happy to hear that you that you appreciated our location and our comfortable rooms. We value your comments. This is a continuous process as we strive further in making our product and services from good to great. Again, thank...

Dingmans Ferry, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 16 July 2016 via mobile

I use Candlewood suites a lot and I am generally happy. This visit to reading,pa had some kinks,but most were taken care of. First ,all visitors must know there I'd major traffic construction in front and of and all around hotel area. The city has created the most confusing traffic pattern. The police department needs to immediately take notice,instead of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gary C
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Reading, responded to this review

Dear Gary C, Thank you so much for taking some time off of your busy day to leave us a feedback. As an IHG Rewards Club Elite member, we greatly appreciate your loyalty to our brand and Hotel. I am elated by the fact that you were able to commend our hotels. However, it is to my absolute regret to...

Harrisonburg, Virginia
Reviewed 7 June 2016 via mobile

The best thing I can say about this location was the beds were very comfortable and the room was very clean. There were a couple issues that prevent me from really recommending this location. Getting to the hotel, you have to take run the block, as there are no left turns allowed. When I arrived, I was greeted to an...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Charlton1862
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Reading, responded to this review

Dear Charlton1862, Thank you for posting a candid feedback from your recent stay with us. It is great to know that you were able to appreciate the comfort of our beds, the cleanliness of our rooms, and the friendliness of our maintenance staff. However, I was concerned to see that you were not impressed with the customer service your received....

Bellefonte, Pennsylvania, United States
Reviewed 6 May 2016

I travel for business about 45 weeks a year. Maybe my expectations have become too highbrow, but this establishment does not meet my needs. The evening staff is terrific and very accommodating. They have solved every minor issue I requested. The morning staff, if I can find anyone, isn't involved in any kind of customer satisfaction. I received my checkout...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stephen Z
Detroit, Michigan
Reviewed 11 April 2016

We stayed here during a recent jazz festival in the area. The suites were large and we had a separate kitchen and living area. Staff was welcoming and friendly. We used the on site store for a small purchase. The only thing missing was an indoor swimming pool. Very nice location.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 7808BillyD
Reviewed 27 February 2016

I loved my 2 nights stay at the Candlewood Suites. It was like being in an apartment. There was a kitchen witha full size fridge, 2 eyed stove and dishwasher, cabinets with pots,pans, cutlery and dishes but the wasnt an oven. I enjoyed a big dining/work area with seating for 3, a large living room with recliner, pull-out sofa flat...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dulcé S
Southern California
Reviewed 27 February 2016 via mobile

I had never stayed in one of these establishments until now. I love that everything is so convenient. They have a mini grocery store in the lobby and the items were very reasonably priced compared to other hotels who offer the same thing. Most importantly, the room was very clean and comfortable. When I first arrived I was put in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RBass10
Leesburg,Fl
Reviewed 23 February 2016

Very happy with the accommodations. Claen,bright, lots of amenities, even had a bag of popcorn in the microwave for us. Full kitchen with 2 burner stove. Coffee,sugar even paper coffee cups if you want to take it out. Full size fridge and a dishwasher.Well equipped cupboard store with reasonable prices. Even a small exercise room and a FREE laundry.We had...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank bsaylor1

36 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (14)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Reading
1.6 km away
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Reading
1.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Wyomissing
4.9 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Reading
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Courtyard Reading Wyomissing
2.4 km away
Days Inn Reading Wyomissing
4.3 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Reading Wyomissing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We know what you need. Extended-stay travelers play by different rules and need a hotel that understands your unique needs. The Candlewood Suites, Reading, PA is designed with your travel needs in mind. Just minutes from downtown Reading and many local businesses such as Reading Hospital & Medical Center, Alvernia and Albright Colleges, we offer the amenities that make you feel at home. Our hotel features fully equipped suites with kitchens, room to spread out, space to work and space to relax. Plus, there's great shopping, dining and exciting entertainment at VF Outlet Village, Sovereign Center, and Goggleworks Center for the Arts just a short drive away. Stroll down Penn Avenue and experience the many unique shops and restaurants in West Reading. When it's time to get connected we know what you need free high speed Internet, cable, sports, and movie channels. And when you need to burn some energy the fully equipped fitness center will help melt the stress away. When you come to Reading, PA we know what you need. The Candlewood Suites is your best stay for a week, a month, or even a year. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Reading

Address: 55 S 3rd Ave, West Reading, PA 19611-1246
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > West Reading
Price Range: $111 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Reading 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Candlewood Suites Reading reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Reading Hotel West Reading
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Candlewood Suites Reading staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Candlewood Suites Reading staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Trains go by every night. Take your pick.”
 of 5 bubbles 407stephenz, 6 May 2016 | Read review
“top floor you won't have feet marching on your ceiling.”
 of 5 bubbles bsaylor1, 23 Feb 2016 | Read review
“odd numers look out at the city”
 of 5 bubbles FM6, 25 Nov 2015 | Read review
“had second floor room with view of downtown Reading”
 of 5 bubbles LARRYOTTER, 18 Feb 2015 | Read review
“I wouldn't stay here again, but if forced to, I would choose the top floor so it didn't sound as if someone was doing gymnastics on top of us all night.”
 of 5 bubbles NominivanFamof5, 4 Nov 2014 | Read review
5 of 5