We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Surfside Motel

Certificate of Excellence
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Charlestown
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Show Prices
Management photos
The Surfside Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

177 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 175: English reviews
Start your review of The Surfside Motel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I always enjoy staying at the Surfside Motel. The rooms are well maintained and nicely decorated. It is conveniently located on the road to Charlestown Beach, and to The Bakery (which is an awesome place to get coffee and a breakfast scone, bagel or sandwich). Debbie is very pleasant and helpful. Would stay there again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeffery H
East Hampton, Connecticut
Reviewed 15 February 2017

CLEAN CLEAN CLEAN! This motel was so clean and close to great neighborhood restaurant. Being pet friendly was an added bonus. The owners were great and were very understanding when we requested the ground floor because of our older dog.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lzeaker
Waterbury, Connecticut
Reviewed 18 January 2017

We wanted to see our favorite Rhode Island beaches in the quiet of winter and booked a night at the Surfside. What an enjoyable time! Our efficiency was spotlessly clean and had just about everything we needed. The folks at the motel were welcoming and friendly. The price couldn't be beat! We're hoping to do it again before too long!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank edwardaureli
Surfside1955, Manager at The Surfside Motel, responded to this review

Thank you your review. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your time at the Surfside and found everything to your expectations. I look forward to having you return as our guests. Debbie

Reviewed 24 December 2016

Needed a place to sleep before a fishing trip. Very nice check in. Clean fresh neat room. No issues at all. There are only about 15 rooms so might fill up in season. Its just a nice clean safe place to stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank johnthefixerman
Reviewed 30 September 2016

Friendly greeting when we got there to the Motel, Very clean had a lovely room with a mini kitchen which was awesome . Very quiet, close to all we wanted to go to especially the Nordic Lodge Restaurant, Going back next summer God willing :) South RI is a great place to visit, We went in the off season so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen T
Reviewed 14 September 2016

We had a large group of friends (about 15) come here the weekend after labor day, just last weekend, we basically took over about half the motel. We all enjoyed the clean rooms and great central location. Debbie was great along with the gentlemen that also helped out, I never caught his name. They have nice large gas grills available...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wayne D
Karen C, General Manager at The Surfside Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. Glad you enjoyed your visit & hope to see you again.

Poughkeepsie, New York
Reviewed 13 September 2016 via mobile

Great little motel. We had a room with a kitchenette that was fully stocked full size fridge, microwave very clean room two beds. Quiet location in Charlestown. It has been here since I believe since 1938.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank traveler1892
New Haven, Connecticut
Reviewed 11 September 2016

We stay at The Surfside Motel several times a year when we visit Charlestown, RI for the beaches and the Rhythm & Roots music festival on Labor Day weekend. The rooms are clean and smell fresh. They are very helpful when making reservations and accommodating in person. We recommend The Surfside Motel to friends. The available outdoor shower is nice...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sam P
Karen C, Owner at The Surfside Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate your business.

Woonsocket, Rhode Island
Reviewed 7 September 2016

Charlestown has become our second home and truly enjoyed our stay. Central to activities and restaurants in the Charlestown area; great room with the sea theme; made us feel like we were at home. Quiet area even though near highway. Will book again next year!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank whaacctg3
Surfside1955, Manager at The Surfside Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and being in Charlestown. I look forward to see you again soon. Debbie

East Moriches, New York
Reviewed 4 September 2016

Hate to write a poor review about a small business; but they charged our credit card for an online reservation that I did not complete, I wanted to get my wife's approval before completing my purchase. Somehow my reservation was processed without my knowledge and I never received a confirmation. If I had received a confirmation I would have cancelled...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ogentry
Surfside1955, Manager at The Surfside Motel, responded to this review

I am sorry that you felt you had to write us a bad review do to the fact that your credit card company sided with us because I had proof that you did make your reservation online. As I explained to you on the phone I had all copies as proof along with your confirmation number and reference number that...

36 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlestown
11.9 km away
The Break
The Break
#1 of 8 in Narragansett
202 reviews
15.0 km away
Hampton Inn South Kingstown - Newport Area
14.9 km away
Aqua Blue Hotel
Aqua Blue Hotel
#3 of 8 in Narragansett
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.6 km away
Pleasant View Inn
Pleasant View Inn
#2 of 6 in Misquamicut
300 reviews
0.2 km away
Phil and Anns Sunset Motel
Phil and Anns Sunset Motel
#3 of 4 in Charlestown
31 reviews
12.5 km away
Scarborough Beach Motel
Scarborough Beach Motel
#6 of 8 in Narragansett
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Beachfront
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Conklin Family welcomes you to the Surfside Motel. A cozy 15 room motel located near beautiful Charlestown Beach. We have efficiency units for extended stays, or standard rooms with small fridges and microwaves, A/C, cable, wireless internet, flat screen tv's with built-in DVD players, gas grills, and picnic tables outside. Clean, quiet, and comfy. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Surfside Motel

Address: 334 Narrow Ln, Charlestown, RI 02813-4164
Region: United States > Rhode Island > South County > Charlestown
Price Range: $80 - $242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
The Surfside Hotel Charlestown
Surfside Hotel Charlestown
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Surfside Motel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Cobleskill
10 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Surfside Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Safe, clean and comfortable”
johnthefixerman, 24 Dec 2016 | Read review
“We like the upstairs room with a king size bed. All of the rooms are off the main road and very quiet.”
sampM2853LY, 11 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Upstairs rooms have cozy tables for two on the deck, which offer a nice play to enjoy morning coffee from the nearby Dunkin Donuts.”
vistadomar, 17 Apr 2016 | Read review
“For a quiet nights sleep, ask for a room on the second floor.”
elinors710, 17 Jul 2015 | Read review
“We like a king efficiency. Good size fridge and micro”
vikingmom15, 5 Nov 2014 | Read review
5 of 5