We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Newport Beach Hotel and Suites

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Newport Beach Hotel and Suites
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

902 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Newport Beach Hotel and Suites
See the most recent reviews
Showing 875: English reviews
East Sussex
Reviewed 22 October 2015

The hotel is located across the road from the beach, but in the roadside rooms there is quite a lot of noise from the road. As said earlier, rather surprisingly as the hotel was fairly full with tour groups, the restaurant was closed for both dinner and breakfast, although they had arranged discounts at nearby restaurants. Huge bed, with bath...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank iceman123EastSussex
Reviewed 18 October 2015

We were at a wedding so the venue was chosen for us. The staff was very attentive to every request. We had no problems with the facility or finding our way around. All the restaurants we visited were excellent. We enjoyed visiting some of the sights in and around Newport and could have spent more time there. Too short!

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Larry G
sussex
Reviewed 12 October 2015

On arrival we were told the restaurant and bar had closed for the season which came as a total surprise - we would not have booked if we'd known. Wifi didn't work at all in our room (the receptionist kept saying the router was right next to our room so no problem!) The staff were generally very helpful and pleasant...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank sussexbella24
srnhg, Owner at Newport Beach Hotel and Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the Newport Beach Hotel & Suites. We appreciate guest feedback. Customer satisfaction is our number one priority and we apologize if you did not experience our best efforts. We apologize for any inconvenience caused by the wireless connectivity. Although we do not have a restaurant on site, there are several local restaurants including Flo's...

Stanford-Le-Hope, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 September 2015

On check in we were upgraded to a suite which was incredibly spacious and comfortable with all the facilities you could want, there was a lovely pool area (pool was a little small for any real swimming) and a wonderful rooftop hottub and fire pit. The resturant was closed but some decent restaurants only a few steps away, many of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Paul H
srnhg, Owner at Newport Beach Hotel and Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for being our guests at the Newport Beach Hotel and Suites and writing such a great review. We are glad to hear you were able to enjoy our indoor pool and hot tub and our roof deck hot tub and fire pit. Located directly across from Newport Beach, most of our guests prefer our proximity to the Cliff...

San Clemente
Reviewed 29 September 2015 via mobile

The hotel is advertised as being on the ocean which it is. However between the ocean and hotel is a very busy highway (not in the photo of course). The windows are not double paned and have old fashioned Venetian blinds that did not block the lights from the street. A terrible nights sleep! Avoid room 324

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PMWSanClemente
Reviewed 25 September 2015 via mobile

Disappointed that we were not given a beach view room which is what we had booked, but instead we had a view of Flo's clam shack! The restaurant was closed, the pool and hot tub did not look that clean and were both in the opposite building to our room which made it awkward to get to. We had room...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank David R
srnhg, Owner at Newport Beach Hotel and Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the Newport Beach Hotel & Suites. We appreciate guest feedback. We apologize you were not entirely satisfied with your room type reserved. Many of our guests comment that by booking directly on the hotel’s website they have access to the widest selection of available room types, packages, and promotions. In addition, our professional reservationists...

Marathon, Florida
Reviewed 24 September 2015

The rooms were nice enough. the location was great, beach across the road, walking distance to places to eat , the cliff walk and other things. The lobby smelled a bit musty when coming in, but the rooms were clean and no smell. The new room were very nice as the wedding party stayed there and they were impressive but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bendaughtry
Mountainside, New Jersey
Reviewed 23 September 2015

Beautiful views, steps from the beach, famous cliff walk and minutes to downtown Newport. Rooms were very clean and updated, lots of amenities, we used hot tub and pool. Staff was friendly and accomodating. Highly recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sally Y
srnhg, Owner at Newport Beach Hotel and Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for being our guests at the Newport Beach Hotel and Suites and writing such a great review. We are glad to hear you were able to take advantage of our rooftop hot tub and fire pit. Located directly across from Newport Beach, most of our guests prefer our proximity to the Cliff Walk, the Newport Mansions, Newport (First)...

Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Reviewed 22 September 2015

Pretty unfriendly and non chalent reception. Inspite of the vacancy sign outside the hotel we were told that we could not get any quiet rooms on request as the hotel was booked out. We had prebooked the hotel through our tour operator in Germany and had arrived around 5 p.m. so not too late. We both got 2 separate and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pepperchen61
Boston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 September 2015

Did not like this hotel. The first room we had was do small I would have to have climbed over my husband to get out of the bed in the night. About 6inches one side being careful not to hit the sit conditioning unit no room at the end of the bed either! Upgraded to a room on the third...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kathryn M
srnhg, Owner at Newport Beach Hotel and Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the Newport Beach Hotel & Suites. We appreciate guest feedback. We do have a variety of room types at the hotel. The room type you reserved in our historic hotel was one of our smaller and most economical room types, however it is newly renovated and features new furniture, bedding with imported linens and...

512 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (212)
Viewed
Room/Suite (63)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (23)
Viewed
View from Room (20)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (33)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (42)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (242)
Viewed
Amenities (86)
Viewed
Beach (8)
Viewed
Indoor Pool (49)
Viewed
King Bed Room (61)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
The Hotel (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (58)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (20)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middletown
2.0 km away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#4 of 21 in Newport
1,922 reviews
2.6 km away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
2.7 km away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 km away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
1.2 km away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
0.1 km away
Atlantic Beach Hotel
Atlantic Beach Hotel
#15 of 18 in Middletown
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located along the sandy beach of one of the most famous resort destinations, the Newport Beach Hotel and Suites stands as the freshest face of Newport. With its meticulously restored gambrel-style historic hotel and contemporary shingle addition, this seaside resort combines historic charm with contemporary sophistication. The original hotel completed a multi-million dollar restoration and the new suites addition, adjacent to the original hotel, features the largest and most luxurious guest rooms in Newport County. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Newport Beach Hotel and Suites

Address: 1 Wave Ave, Middletown, RI 02842-7008
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Middletown
Price Range: $161 - $305 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Newport Beach Hotel and Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Newport Beach Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newport Beach Hotel
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Middletown
#6 Business Hotel in Middletown
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Newport Beach Hotel and Suites staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
9 months ago
10 months ago
Medford MA
over a year ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Newport Beach Hotel and Suites staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Away from the pool”
Yolel, 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
“ask for a king room as the standard queen rooms are very small”
KandSZNH, 9 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Plenty of beach views from hotel or suites-ask. The suites have plenty of room and are loaded.”
397ellenb, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The beach is across the street. No need to worry about parking...just leave your car at the hotel.”
JKinMilw, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We had a room at the front of the main hotel building with a wonderful view of the sea”
colinm930, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5