We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Holiday Inn South Kingstown

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Holiday Inn South Kingstown
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

181 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn South Kingstown
See the most recent reviews
Showing 179: English reviews
shrewsbury, nj
Reviewed 10 July 2016 via mobile

I was very disappointed in this new hotel. The pool was ice cold, my room had flips flops in the closet from the previous guest, and outside our sliding glass door was a cup filled with ashes and cigarette butts. We stayed in room 120 and 118 which is right next to a very loud ice machine. Also in room...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank colleenShrewsbury_Nj
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn South Kingstown, responded to this review

Dear colleenShrewsbury_Nj, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. We are pleased to know that you found our beds to be comfortable. However, we would like to apologize for falling below your expectations regarding our rooms and pool. We also regret the issues you had with our location. Reviews like yours are...

Peabody, MA
Reviewed 3 July 2016

I checked into this property for a quick overnight in order to catch an early morning ferry to Block Island. While this is an older Holiday Inn property it has been well maintained and renovated to contemporary standards. The room was immaculately clean and fresh. The staff was friendly and helpful. The seasonal pricing for the room was in line...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank projectorfixer
Doug B, General Manager at Holiday Inn South Kingstown, responded to this review

Hi projectorfixer: Thank you for taking the time to write your review and let us know how we are doing. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and location of the Holiday Inn. We certainly appreciate any and all feedback so we can know where to improve and where we are a success. I am glad to...

Dover, New Hampshire
Reviewed 29 June 2016

The positives: spacious room, modern décor, comfortable beds, URI room discount The negatives: bathroom small, no vent in bathroom, no refrigerator in room, no elevator in the lobby (had to walk all the way down the first floor wing, take the elevator up to the 3rd floor and then walk all the way back down the third floor wing to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Christie D
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn South Kingstown, responded to this review

Dear mommacg, Thank you for being our guest and for taking the time to share your comments. It is nice to know that you appreciated our spacious and comfortable rooms. However, it is disappointing to learn that the room amenities, bathroom condition, and facilities did not live up to your expectations. We appreciate your comments as it is only with...

Providence, Rhode Island
Reviewed 17 June 2016

I attended the Grand Re-Opening at this hotel yesterday. Had an opportunity to view the lobby, hotel rooms, banquet room, pool, etc. and to speak with some overnight guests. Very nice facility. Very nice staff. Very happy guests. Everything in the hotel is new, having just been renovated. The hotel is conveniently located near the University of Rhode Island (URI)...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ron S
Doug B, General Manager at Holiday Inn South Kingstown, responded to this review

Hello Ron S: Thank you for taking the time to write your review and impression of our hotel. We are excited by the completed renovations and our brand new look. I am glad that you enjoyed it too. Your review says it all and expresses our hotel perfectly. We hope to see you on your future travels to the South...

Hampton, New Hampshire
Reviewed 18 May 2016

Staff very pleasant, room was fine and breakfast was fab with prompt and courteous service. Location was great for any event at University Of Rhode Island. I did feel it was a little overpriced at 150.00

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alison_jean_johnston
Doug B, General Manager at Holiday Inn South Kingstown, responded to this review

Hi alison_jean_johnston: We are always pleased to read that we have met and exceeded our guest’s expectations. Thank you for letting us know how well we did. Our Holiday Inn is just minutes from the University of Rhode Island and just a short drive. I will certainly make sure that the entire staff is aware of your great experience with...

Watford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 May 2016

I usually stay at the Hampton Inn when I'm in this area (my daughter was at the University of Rhode Island) but this time I couldn't get booked so ended up at this hotel. If you're visiting someone at URI, it's very handy as it's only about 4 miles away, up a straight road. Check-in was ok; the receptionist was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PaulaSpencer
Doug B, General Manager at Holiday Inn South Kingstown, responded to this review

Hello PaulaSpencer: Thank you for taking the time to let us know of your wonderful stay with us at the Holiday Inn South Kingstown, RI. We have just finished a complete renovation of all the guestrooms, corridors, restaurant, lobby, every. We hope you like the new décor. Our outdoor pool was getting a new look at well and is now...

Reviewed 7 May 2016 via mobile

Dated, vending machine did not work, shower head broken. Room was clean staff was nice. TV signal weak on many channels. Dunkin' Donuts and Subway next door for quick meals. Adequate parking, existing to the north required winding through shopping center parking lot

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank galenboyce
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn South Kingstown, responded to this review

Dear galenboyce, We appreciate you taking the time to comment about your recent stay at our hotel. We are very glad that you have regarded our rooms to be clean and staff to be nice. However, I regret that you found our vending machine and shower head not to be working and hotel to be dated. Your feedback is instrumental...

Long Island, New York
Reviewed 19 April 2016

The hotel is horrible. Old and outdated. They say they are almost done with renovations, but they are no where close to it. The rooms very tiny and old. The bathroom was so small. would never stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank trecca4
Doug B, General Manager at Holiday Inn South Kingstown, responded to this review

Hello trecca4: I am pleased to let you know that we have completed all the renovations to the Holiday Inn South Kingstown, RI. All of the guestrooms, lobby, restaurant, everything is brand new. Our guests told us they wanted the updates and we listened. Just as we listen to each and every review. We apologize for any inconveniences you had...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 11 April 2016

The Hotel is ok and the staff is friendly but I was very disappointed when I arrived. The Hotel is undergoing major renovations and I'm sure it's going to look great but we didn't know about it so I was not happy at all about it.. I chose this Hotel because of the restaurant and after driving all day the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MariaVale12
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn South Kingstown, responded to this review

Dear MariaVale12, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. We are pleased to know that you found our rooms to be nice and clean. However, we would like to apologize for the inconvenience caused by the renovations and for the less than satisfactory breakfast experience you had. We also regret your disappointments...

Lake Placid, Florida
Reviewed 13 January 2016

Traveling to a week's holiday, we stayed at the Holiday Inn, South Kingstown, RI. We were greeted by a most congenial staff. We were offered refreshments before retiring to our room. The "newly remodeled" room was much better than expected. Too often we have found "newly remodeled" means a minimal refresh to the bathroom. In this case, the bath received...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank dianel103
Doug B, General Manager at Holiday Inn South Kingstown, responded to this review

Hi DianeL103: Our guests have spoken and we have listened. I am very pleased that you enjoyed our new renovations. And our staff was able to make your stay positive and memorable. You are correct; everything is new from top to bottom. I hope that you can visit us again and look forward to you visiting us in South County...

196 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (32)
Viewed
Amenities (3)
Viewed
Pool (23)
Viewed
The Hotel (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (151)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (40)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (30)
Viewed
Dining (26)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (32)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Kingstown
4.9 km away
Hampton Inn South Kingstown - Newport Area
7.2 km away
Aqua Blue Hotel
Aqua Blue Hotel
#3 of 8 in Narragansett
50 reviews
13.7 km away
The Break
The Break
#1 of 8 in Narragansett
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 km away
TownePlace Suites Providence North Kingstown
7.7 km away
Ocean Rose Inn
Ocean Rose Inn
#7 of 8 in Narragansett
144 reviews
7.8 km away
Wyndham Bay Voyage Inn
Wyndham Bay Voyage Inn
#1 of 2 in Jamestown
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to the Holiday Inn, South Kingstown, a AAA 3 Diamond full service hotel located just 5 miles from Narragansett Beach and 9 miles from downtown Newport. We offer 107 spacious guest rooms, an Italian restaurant and lounge (children 12 and under eat free in our restaurant) a beautiful outdoor pool and patio area, room service options, wireless Internet throughout the property, complimentary newspapers, an exercise and laundry room, and superior guest service.The University of Rhode Island, the Ryan Center, many restaurants, shops, the Block Island Ferry, great fishing, kayaking and bicycling trails are all within minutes of the hotel. Relax, It s Holiday Inn, where Kids Stay and Eat Free. The Holiday Inn, South Kingstown welcomes you! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn South Kingstown

Address: 3009 Tower Hill Rd, Route 1 and Route 138, South Kingstown, RI 02874-1504
Region: United States > Rhode Island > South County > South Kingstown
Price Range: $142 - $444 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn South Kingstown 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn South Kingstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn South Kingstown Hotel South Kingstown
South Kingstown Holiday Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn South Kingstown staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn South Kingstown staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“No special tips. We had a room on flour 4 and they were great.”
 of 5 bubbles MRoeterdink, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Rooms near the back door are noisy”
 of 5 bubbles W1059DOmarias, 25 Aug 2016 | Read review
“I enjoy the ground floor rooms with patio doors that open to the pool area or volleyball court.”
 of 5 bubbles vickaroo2, 20 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a remodeled room.”
 of 5 bubbles dianel103, 13 Jan 2016 | Read review
“all rooms are good”
 of 5 bubbles GambianDreams, 4 Jan 2016 | Read review
5 of 5