We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Courtyard Charleston Waterfront

Save
Share
35 Lockwood Dr, Charleston, SC 29401-1122
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Unlock Member Rates!
US$383
US$319
View deal
SAVE US$64
Free cancellation until 21-10-15
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
Booking.com
US$367
View deal
Hotels.comUS$319
PricelineUS$367
StayForLongUS$383
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (300)
Room & Suite (95)
Pool & Beach (37)
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Updated 20-07-20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Courtyard Charleston Waterfront
Updated 20-07-20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#49 of 73 hotels in Charleston
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
GreenLeaders Silver level
Discover Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, located just minutes from the heart of downtown Charleston, SC. Unique among hotels in Charleston, guests can experience stunning views of the Ashley River while enjoying our hot breakfast options, unwinding on our beautiful terrace, swimming in the outdoor waterfront pool, relaxing by our fire pit or whirlpool, or resting in their spacious guest room. Our stunning hotel is a short drive from the city's top destinations including; the shopping on King Street, the downtown market, historic plantations, and military parks. This unique hotel offers a 24 hour fitness center and a business center. Join us each morning in The Ashley River Cafe for a delicious breakfast buffet. If you're looking for something quick, our waterfront Charleston hotel offers a 24-hour market with snacks, beverages, soups, sandwiches and salads. Our Charleston, SC meeting space is ideal for intimate rehearsal dinners, meetings, and social events. Experience true luxury accommodations at the top waterfront hotel in Charleston, Courtyard Charleston Waterfront. An unforgettable retreat.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Paid public parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Free shuttle or taxi services
Business Centre with Internet Access
Car park
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Fence around pool
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Shuttle bus service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Convenience store
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Microwave
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Marina View
Great View
Languages Spoken
English
Hotel links
Special Offer:Unlock Member Rates!
940Reviews24Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 318
  • 329
  • 166
  • 75
  • 52
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
WharfRatt wrote a review Apr. 19
West Chester, Pennsylvania161 contributions37 helpful votes
The hotel appears nice. There's a nice pool and it's on the water. However, it is far from the historic center of the city. All you hear at the pool is the noise from the highway that runs in front of the hotel. We booked a water view room with a king bed and pull out sofa. The room is tiny. It's so small that they cannot fit a king bed it and there is a queen bed in the room instead. Our "water view" is blocked by the hotel next door and instead we have a highway view. There's a nice balcony outside our room but there are no chairs to sit on and enjoy it. I don't think we'd sit on the balcony anyway since the highway noise is so loud. I don't think we'd stay here again. It's way too far from the historic center and there are much better options that are closer to where you want to be.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
adamhlong1 wrote a review Apr. 5
Atlanta, Georgia20 contributions7 helpful votes
+1
If you don’t want to read the full review, here’s the summary... if this place were a kennel, the state would’ve shut it down by now. The photos on this page are incredibly deceiving. This place is right next to the freeway in between two overpasses. The photos are of a king suite. The regular king sized room is tiny and very outdated. I could handle all of that if the place weren’t so absolutely filthy. The first photos here of the main entrance where it looks like someone puked and it stated that way, EVEN AFTER I informed someone who identified herself as a manager, for over AN HOUR. Second, any information about a “limited bistro menu” is absolute hooey. Of course there is no bar. The “bistro” isn’t open for anything other than breakfast. If you are stupid enough to prepay for breakfast like I was here is the amazing menu that two... TWO beleaguered staff members try their best to fill. These folks worked their fingers to the bone while “management” sat around and did nothing. I’ve posted a photo of their amazing breakfast menu which is, of course, no where on the website. There is also a photo of my wife’s brown avocado toast and the eggshell that was in the scrambled eggs. Here’s the main problem with having no restaurant or bar. There’s nothing and I mean nothing in walking distance. Plus, because it’s literally right off the dang highway, unless you feel like trying to battle interstate traffic at night in a strange city you can’t even get to a McDonald’s. Third, this place is in total disrepair. Here are photos of broken restrooms, hair everywhere, and the filthy, worn out tub in our room. When we arrived we found that someone tampered with the smoke detector. Photo attached. Did this horrible hotel staff do anything about it? Of course not. That should tell you all you need to know about this place. It’s the kind of place where someone puts a bag over the smoke detector so they can smoke and no one notices. That’s how gross it is. When I had finally had enough on the second night and went down to the front desk to ask for a tiny bit of help, the personal the desk who claimed she was the manager of the whole hotel unloaded on me. She complained about how she couldn’t find anyone who wanted to work there (again another indicia of the quality of this place). And then I got a lecture about how hard the pandemic has been on everyone as of this was not the first vacation I have had in a year and a half. She then stormed off after she was done berating me. Lovely.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Guest, thank you for choosing us and for sharing your comments. It is very understandable how these events detracted from a relaxing and seamless visit. We were disappointed to read you were unhappy with our staff and accommodations. We strive to create an exceptional, memorable stay for each guest, so please accept our apologies that this was not your experience. We are grateful that you have brought these concerns to our attention as we are continually growing and improving from our guest feedback. We hope to have another occasion to host you in the future and regain your trust.
Read more
Kim N wrote a review Mar. 2021
Deerfield, Illinois171 contributions65 helpful votes
This was a lovely spot to stay in Charleston. We enjoyed several beautiful walks along the marinas toward town. You could have walked all the way to town; it's about a 2 mile walk and we just chose to drive when we were going to downtown Charleston. We enjoyed sunsets by the pool and morning breakfasts on our balcony. With Covid, there are not any restaurants within a short walking distance. There are light breakfasts served at the hotel. There is a grocery store (Publix) where we bought light breakfasts/snacks to enjoy on our balcony.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: Some balcony rooms have partial marina views with a view of a marsh/bridge.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Kim N, Thank you for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your recent stay at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront. We appreciate your comments about our convenient location minutes from downtown and our beautiful views of the river and marina. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed our accommodations and awesome pool. We look forward to being your host the next time that you visit Charleston. Robert Heilman General Manager
Read more
Missy102699 wrote a review Mar. 2021
Orlando, Florida8 contributions1 helpful vote
We stayed at the Courtyard Mon to Saturday with 2 adults and 4 teens. We booked two rooms and they were adjoining which worked out perfect. The hotel is a perfect location and anything downtown is only about a five minute drive. The water view from the hotel is beautiful and the outside sitting area and pool area is nice to relax. The weather was wonderful and many people were sitting outside enjoying a drink in the evening. The hotel served Starbucks coffee which me and my teens appreciated. The staff is very accommodating and friendly. I was perfect for our family for the week. Thank you for a great stay.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Many rooms with balconies with great views
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Missy102699, Thank you for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your recent stay at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront. We are delighted to read your comments about our convenient location minutes from downtown and our beautiful views of the river and marina. We are also thrilled to read that you and your family enjoyed your accommodations and that our team took such good care of you. It was a pleasure having you as our guest, and we cannot wait to serve you again on your next visit to Charleston! Robert Heilman General Manager
Read more
taryndipity wrote a review Mar. 2021
Palm Coast, Florida6 contributions2 helpful votes
If I could give it zero stars, I would. We booked here after doing TONS of research online about the best places to stay for a reasonable price. We arrived 2 hours before check in time & our room was ready. The room number was the same as our anniversary date and we considered that kismet considering that’s what we were in town to celebrate. The check in process was easy & the staff was pleasant. As soon as we stepped off the elevator, we were hit with the strongest, musty, mold smell I’ve ever encountered. Our room was even worse. The best way I can describe it is a previous fish market turned brothel. The toilet valve was pulled out of the wall. The collar around the shower head was ON the shower head. My husband sat down in the desk chair and it was so unstable and clearly broken that it almost dumped him in the floor. The baseboards haven’t been cleaned and there was mold around most of the outlets. The countertop on the “kitchenette” area was covered in dust. The balcony view we paid extra for overlooked the interstate & multiple construction cranes. The patio furniture was covered in mold spots. The room itself didn’t look like it had been cleaned since the hotel opened. We were in the room for 10 minutes and there was absolutely no way we could have breathed all that in for our four day stay. We immediately checked out and went in search of a cleaner property. We have never been so disappointed in a Marriott property and will think twice before doing so again.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront
Responded 5 weeks ago
Dear taryndipity, We apologize for the concerns you experienced. We work hard to provide a clean and comfortable environment; therefore, we regret that the outlined issues compromised your experience. We will follow up on your concerns to ensure we are well poised to serve you better. We appreciate your feedback and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel. Robert Heilman General Manager
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$136 - US$335 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
courtyard by marriott charleston waterfront hotel charleston, courtyard charleston waterfront, charleston courtyard, charleston marriott
LOCATION
United StatesSouth CarolinaCoastal South CarolinaCharleston
NUMBER OF ROOMS
178
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Courtyard Charleston Waterfront
Which popular attractions are close to Courtyard Charleston Waterfront?
Nearby attractions include Joseph P. Riley, Jr. Park (0.9 km), Pure Theatre (0.8 km), and Historic Rice Mill (0.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a fireplace.
What food & drink options are available at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront?
Yes, a parking garage and paid public parking on-site are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Courtyard Charleston Waterfront?
Conveniently located restaurants include R Kitchen, Gnome Cafe, and Xiao Bao Biscuit.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Courtyard Charleston Waterfront offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Courtyard Charleston Waterfront?
Many travellers enjoy visiting St. Michael's Church (2.5 km), Kahal Kadosh Beth Elohim (2.2 km), and McLeod Plantation Historic Site (2.8 km).
Does Courtyard Charleston Waterfront have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbour view available here.