We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Courtyard Charleston Waterfront

View Deal
GreenLeadersSilver level
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Courtyard Charleston Waterfront
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

750 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
There are newer reviews for Courtyard Charleston Waterfront
See the most recent reviews
Showing 744: English reviews
Reviewed 27 February 2017

If they have information on the front page of their website that says this hotel is under major renovation, I didn't see it (but I don't think it is there.) Not only is pretty much the entire lobby/first floor torn up but so was the hallway where they issued me a room. Besides walking through plastic sheeting and clouds of...

2Thank PhillyLover
00gc, General Manager at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review

Dear Phillylover, Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Courtyard Charleston Waterfront with us. We are very sorry our current appearance was not what you had anticipated. We strive to maintain the highest standards, not only in service, but also with regards to maintaining the overall look and feel of the hotel. Unfortunately, this...

Reviewed 26 February 2017 via mobile

Stayed here over the weekend. The rooms are very spacious and have great balcony views. Location makes it easy to get to all the attractions. They are currently doing construction and it starts around 07:00. I would wait until they are complete before booking. It's very loud. Other than that the hotel was very clean and staff was helpful. I...

1Thank Brandy W
00gc, Manager at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review

Dear Brandy W, Thank you for your stay at the Courtyard Charleston Waterfront and for sharing your feedback online. We are glad that you liked our welcoming associates, convenient location and your spacious room as well. However, we are sorry your visit was while our renovations were underway and that you had to endure the dust and noise that construction...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 16 February 2017

Booking on line has the great disadvantage of not knowing that the hotel of choice is under construction . This hotel is in a great location, overlooking a lovely marina and the river. However, that did not compensate for trying to park in what seemed like a minefield of construction, with no signage to indicate how to get to reception....

2Thank suwu2015
00gc, General Manager at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review

Dear suwu2015, Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay at our hotel. Please accept my apologies for the inconveniences caused to you during your stay. We have discussed your concerns with our team so that we can take the proper steps so this does not occur again. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We hope that...

Sterling, Virginia
Reviewed 13 February 2017

There was quite a bit of construction on the first floor near our room, and it consistently woke us up each morning - if not the actual construction, then it was the workers in the hallway. Our room was average, clean, and comfortable. We had a city view, which was actually a view of the parking lot and noisy road...

Thank CindiSmith
00gc, General Manager at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review

Dear CindiSmith, Thank you for your recent stay. We appreciate you mentioning our wonderful outdoor space. We think it is one of our best features and we are so glad to see you enjoyed it so much. We do, however, apologize for the construction that we have going on. We hope you will visit us again when it is complete....

Kaneohe, Hawaii
Reviewed 4 February 2017 via mobile

We flew into Charleston for a wedding. The location of the Courtyard is great. Our room looked out over the river and marina. It was a short ride to the historic district, the hotel provided a shuttle. The room was large and comfortable. The staff were all amazingly helpful, whatever we needed they were there to make sure our needs...

1Thank Michael S
00gC, Manager at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at the Courtyard Charleston Waterfront during the wedding party. We are delighted you loved your spacious room along with the beautiful view, our convenient location, and our delicious breakfast buffet. Thanks for highlighting our staff for a job well-done. It was our pleasure serving you, and we hope to see you soon. Mark Thomas General Manager

Yorktown, Virginia, United States
Reviewed 30 January 2017

Stayed one night and never again until construction is complete. Construction started at 0720 on a Saturday morning. Parking lot underneath is a mess with old furniture. Staff was outstanding! They were super friendly and helpful. Location is good near downtown but not with the hassle of parking or one way streets. Overall will stay again AFTER complete.

2Thank Jon C
00gC, General Manager at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review

Dear Jon, thank you for taking the time to share a review of your stay with us. We are pleased to hear how wonderful our staff treated you, but apologize for any inconveniences that our current renovations caused. We truly appreciate your feedback and will share it with our management team to make sure we are always providing the best...

Hilton Head, South Carolina
Reviewed 10 January 2017 via mobile

Husband in hospital across from Courtyard. Hospital called for a medical discount. When I called to give credit information was told no existing reservation on file. After holding on the girl came back and said they had one. Paid more than quoted. Had to return next night again. This time went through Marriott app on phone. This time got correct...

Thank Mary Ann W
ManagerX1, General Manager at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review

Dear Mary Ann, thank you for your recent stay at our hotel and for sharing your experience. I apologize for the poor service that you received from our front desk team during what must be a difficult time. I have shared your comments with my Front Office Manager to remind our staff a friendly smile and kind hospitality go a...

Seattle, Washington
Reviewed 31 December 2016

Looking at a map, one could get the impression that this was within walking distance of King Street and historic Charleston. Well, that's not really true - it's not that far, but both due to highway configurations and the kinds of neighborhoods in between, this is a drive to downtown. The room was perfectly adequate, with a suitable number of...

Thank T9-Orca
ManagerX1, General Manager at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your recent stay. We are pleased you enjoyed your overall stay with us. However, I am sorry that that the location of the hotel was not appealing to you. Additionally, we are sorry you felt the price you paid for the room did not support your accommodations. We regularly...

Washington Dc, District Of Columbia
Reviewed 29 December 2016 via mobile

Overpriced, old, far from Historic district, building works. Spent one night in a family room. Building work is very disruptive (starts at 8) and limited parking due to building trucks. Walls are paper thin and despite being Elite Silver, our "quiet" room was near the lifts and with noisy neighbours and big foot upstairs walking until 3am. One minor compensation...

Thank Kate G
ManagerX1, Manager at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking your time to review our property. We pride ourselves on delivering a memorable hotel experience to our guests; however, we obviously fell short of our goal during your recent stay. Please accept our sincere apology for the noise issues you experienced from the neighboring room and hallway. We emphasize the importance of quiet time...

Reviewed 30 November 2016

We were here for a family Wedding in August. First, we arrived on a very early flight and they were able to let us check in early, Then we had to change rooms for the following few nights, not their fault just they way we booked our reservation. The hotel staff moved all our luggage and cooler. We were surprised...

Thank carollM1870AC
ManagerX1, Manager at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review

We appreciate you choosing the Courtyard Charleston Waterfront for your stay. We welcome many wedding groups that visit because of Charleston's distinction as a wedding destination. Our goal is to provide our guests with southern hospitality and it sounds like our team was successful in doing this during your stay. Thank you for your kind words. I will share them...

407 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (204)
Hotel & Grounds (50)
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Room/Suite (37)
Family/Play Areas (1)
Pool/Beach Area (26)
Bathroom (16)
View from Room (22)
Other (48)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

All TripAdvisor Photos (163)
Amenities (11)
Pool (8)
Dining (21)
Standard Room (57)
The Hotel (66)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (40)
Room/Suite (17)
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Dining (1)
Bathroom (1)
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Other (4)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.1 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Waterfront/Downtown
0.9 km away
SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview
0.6 km away
Charleston Marriott
Charleston Marriott
#37 of 60 in Charleston
1,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview
0.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River
0.3 km away
Comfort Inn Downtown Charleston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Air Conditioning
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Discover Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, located just minutes from the heart of downtown Charleston, SC. Unique among hotels in Charleston, guests can experience stunning views of the Ashley River while enjoying our hot breakfast options, unwinding on our beautiful terrace, swimming in the outdoor waterfront pool, relaxing by our fire pit or whirlpool, or resting in their spacious guest room. Our stunning hotel is a short drive from the city's top destinations including; the shopping on King Street, the downtown market, historic plantations, and military parks. This unique hotel offers a 24 hour fitness center and a business center. Join us each morning in The Ashley River Cafe for a delicious breakfast buffet. If you're looking for something quick, our waterfront Charleston hotel offers a 24-hour market with snacks, beverages, soups, sandwiches and salads. Our Charleston, SC meeting space is ideal for intimate rehearsal dinners, meetings, and social events. Experience true luxury accommodations at the top waterfront hotel in Charleston, Courtyard Charleston Waterfront. An unforgettable retreat. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Courtyard Charleston Waterfront

Address: 35 Lockwood Dr, Charleston, SC 29401
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Price Range: $283 - $567 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Charleston Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 178
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Marriott, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Charleston Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Charleston Waterfront Hotel Charleston
Charleston Courtyard
Charleston Marriott
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Charleston
#33 Business Hotel in Charleston
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Courtyard Charleston Waterfront staff and other travellers.
17 questions
Ask a question
NW Louisiana
over a year ago
South Lyon, MI
Bangor, Maine, United States
9 months ago

See all questions (17)

Questions? Get answers from Courtyard Charleston Waterfront staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“3rd floor was high enough to see a great view, and not pick up the noise from the pool.”
Irishwhiskers, 23 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Avoid room 412”
, 23 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Go on the 4th floor facing the Bay”
749David, 24 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Best room is at a competitor hotel. Try across the street”
  • My room! No painting/artwork; just spackle and wall-screws.
DaveP54, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Room 429 Faces the water and is on the end of the building.”
Tootallal, 10 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
US$197* /night
View Deal
View all 11 deals
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates