We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,013 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,995: English reviews
Start your review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District
 Click to rate
Pennsylvania
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The location of this hotel is wonderful. Its just a block over to the city market and streets that contain awesome restaurants. A short jaunt will get you to the water and shopping, too. We were greeted by some less than stellar front desk folks. Not rude, not mean, just not very friendly. We got a room back in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank scranton38
HOTEL’S FAVOURITE REVIEW
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The service was impeccable, the staff friendly, from start to finish. Our suite was quiet and comfortable. I've read complaints about the parking fee, but the valet service is very good. You're on vacation, why endure the hassle of parking in downtown Charleston? Rosie in housekeeping did an exceptional job of making sure our room had everything we needed for...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank BellesLettres
About Hotel's Favourite Review
DTreebyHilton, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review

Dear BellestLettres, Thanks so much for your recent 5 star posting! You came for the cookies, stayed for the location.... what a fantastic summation of your stay and why you stayed with us. We always excited to read when guest are surprised about our hotel. We hope you will consider staying with us again in the future. Best Wishes, Reggie...

Mount Pleasant, South Carolina
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

My family and I stayed at the DoubleTree downtown for St. Patrick’s Day. We arrived and were greeted by friendly Valet service. Checking in took less than 5 minutes, and we were even given cookies for our stay. While walking to the elevator, we ran into the night manager, Curtis, who was warm and hospitable. He gave us several recommendations...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank markjbastian
DTreebyHilton, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review

Dear Markjbastian, Thank you so much for staying at our hotel. We loved reading all the wonderful things you said about our staff and hotel. We appreciate your mentioning of the Valet team as well as Curtis, we are very proud to have them all apart of our team and your comments referencing them is exactly why. We would love...

North Wales, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We spent 2 nights at this hotel last week. First things first - the location is great! However, before you book this hotel, make sure you know what you are getting into - the rooms are so poorly designed that it makes for a very difficult stay. We were in a "bi-level" room which is basically the bedroom in a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Denise N
Management response:

Dear Denise N, Thank you for staying with us during your visit to Charleston. I apologize that you did not enjoy the room layout and the space configurations. Our goal is that every guest has a fantastic visit and I am disappointed that we fell short with your stay. We do have several types of accommodations with different configurations at...

Fargo, North Dakota
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Rosy is a real gem, we felt 'mothered.' Our room was immaculate Five of the hotels stars for Rosy. The location of the hotel is perfect. The young men at the front door were always polite and helpful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve s
DTreebyHilton, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review

Dear Steve S, Thank you so much for staying at our hotel. We are so proud of our "GEM" Rosie as you so eloquently stated. She continues to be one of our bright and shinning stars. We hope to have you staying with us again soon . Best Wishes, Reggie Edwards

Florida
Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a nice visit at this hotel. It's well located. We had a suite facing the courtyard on the second floor. Lobby is attractive. Our bedroom was tight for two, and the bathroom was also small for two people. Breakfast was good although the service could step up the pace a bit. The valet dept. needs oversight as it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dottylobby
DTreebyHilton, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review

Dear Dottylobby, Thank you staying at our hotel. We appreciate your honest input of the services that were provided during your stay. We are very sorry and disappointed with the service you were provided during your stay by our team. We realize that Charleston has lots of options when it comes to hotels, so this is something we take very...

Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewed 1 week ago

Couldn't ask for a better location. Right in the middle of it all. Parking was expensive ($30) but that's Charleston. The staff were AMAZING. They knew us all by name inside two days. Be sure to know what sort of room you order. Some are two-stories and not so great for the less mobile. Great place though!

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mike W
DTreebyHilton, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review

Dear Mike W, Thank you so much for the glowing 5 star review. We are so glad to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us. Our amazing staff would love to have you stay with us again in the future. Hope to see you again soon! Best Wishes, Reggie Edwards

Houston, Texas
Reviewed 1 week ago

Had a wonderful time at the DoubleTree in Charleston. Staff was terrific and the location was perfect. Did not have any food at the hotel so cannot comment but everything else was perfect. Cookies were not as good as I remembered from previous stays.

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank MC9856
DTreebyHilton, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review

Dear MC9856, Thank you for the wonderful 5 star review. .We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Your summation says it all.. 'Great Stay-Love the location" We hope to see you again soon. Best Wishes, Reggie Edwards

Neptune, United States
Reviewed 1 week ago

There for a meeting. Room not cleaned, no towels, bed not made for two days of stay. Food served at meeting of poor quality and stale. Have stayed here before and was disapointed this time. Will probably not go back. Too many other superior hotels in area.

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank James F
DTreebyHilton, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review

Dear James F, Thanks for reaching out to us regarding your recent stay with us. I am so sorry your experience was nothing short of exceptional. I will certainly bring this to the department leaders. We realize that our guest have many other options and that is why we take service failures like these so very seriously. We hope to...

Dayton, Ohio, Usa
Reviewed 1 week ago

This site has an incredible staff of individual to service your every need. They make it their business to go out of their way to know you and your extended party staying at the hotel. Very conveniently located to all of the areas best tourist locations.

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank keb57
DTreebyHilton, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District, responded to this review

Dear Keb57, A Big thank you for the glowing 5 star posting referencing our incredible staff and how much they go out of their way to service your every need. We hope that you will call on us again should your travels return you to the Charleston Historic District. We hope to see you again soon! Best Wishes, Reggie Edwards

418 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (133)
Viewed
Room/Suite (40)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (29)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Other (47)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (152)
Viewed
Amenities (16)
Viewed
King Guest Room (25)
Viewed
King Two-Room Suite (35)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
The Hotel (17)
Viewed
Two Double Beds Bi-Level Junior Suite (31)
Viewed
Two Double Beds Two-Room Suite (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (133)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (49)
Viewed
Dining (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (32)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (6)
Viewed
Other (17)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
King Charles Inn
#18 of 60 in Charleston
2,656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Francis Marion Hotel
#24 of 60 in Charleston
2,707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located overlooking the Charleston City Market in the heart of Charleston's Historic District, DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites offers the perfect combination of incredible location, guest room size, Southern hospitality, and amenities. DoubleTree Charleston Historic District is surrounded by award-winning restaurants, including Hank's Seafood and Brasserie Gigi. ... more   less 

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District

Address: 181 Church Street, Charleston, SC 29401-3122
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > Downtown
Price Range: $343 - $601 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District 3.5*
Number of rooms: 212
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Hotel Charleston
Doubletree Historic District
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Charleston
#24 Family Hotel in Charleston
#26 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District staff and other travellers.
20 questions
Ask a question
quincy mass
quincy mass
7 months ago
Atlanta, United States
9 months ago
Big Stone Gap, Virginia
over a year ago

See all questions (20)

Questions? Get answers from DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston - Historic District staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for not a brick wall.”
 of 5 bubbles scranton38, 25 Mar 2017 | Read review
“I definitely do not recommend the bi-level rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles 716denisen, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Great courtyard!”
 of 5 bubbles carolek806, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Want a duplex, ask! Both my sister and I snore, - able to sleep on separate floors.. I didn't mind the sofabed at all...Well worth it.....”
 of 5 bubbles bxcolleen, 28 Feb 2017 | Read review
“All rooms are good”
 of 5 bubbles 449martys, 23 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5